We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to see” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Washington's Ferry Farm

George Washington's Ferry Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ferry Farm was the boyhood home of George Washington, just across the Rappahannock River from the bustling young town of Fredericksburg. George Washington’s Ferry Farm is currently closed and reopens for tours on March 1, 2017.
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing to see”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is an archaeological site. As such, there's not much to see. There's a small museum, which is good, but very small. Don't expect to see anything else.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaniC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    15
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Precious Property in need”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

As a native of Williamsburg, VA and an avid fan of American history I had been wanting for a long time to visit Ferry Farm, the boyhood home of the "Father of Our Country." We found a modest property with a visitor center in a nineteenth century home badly in need of attention. The lady working the desk at the information center was very enthusiastic and informative. The simple exhibits lightly cover the early years of George Washington's life there. The family tree was helpful in learning more about his family. The displays focus as much on the Civil War (or , if you prefer,The War Between the States) as on the Revolutionary War era because the farm was an emcampment for Union Troops for the Battle of Fredericksburg. The day we visited the only activity outside the visitor center was the construction of a pontoon boat like the ones the Union soldiers used to cross the Rappahanock River to get to the battlefield. We did not get to see what would have been the most fascinating for me, the archeological excavation of the Washington house and outbuildings. They are only in operation during the summer and are covered for their protection at other times.

We have been to and enjoyed Mount Vernon. But it breaks our hearts to see the neglect of the farm where President Washington spent his formative years. If only this farm could find a benefactor. It deserves to be researched and recreated. Yes, we paid an entrance fee to view the exhibits and walk the spartan grounds, but hoped that our money would be put to good use in keeping up this precious property.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TTFIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“School Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went as a chaperone for daughter's field trip. Maybe it was the option the school had chosen but there wasn't much there to see. We stayed outside the whole time - taking small groups of 10 kids to each 'station'. The staff really worked well with the kids. But there isn't much there to see.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a ripoff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We went here last Summer July 2011 and paid for the 4 of us to walk in a field basically. There us nothing here. There is an outline on the ground where the house once stood. I can't believe they charge for this Do Not Wast youre money

Helpful?
1 Thank whiterhino42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Washington's Ferry Farm also viewed

 

Been to George Washington's Ferry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing