We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View of Fredericksburg” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatham Manor

Chatham Manor
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Fredericksburg After Hour Private Horse and Carriage Ride
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Valencia, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great View of Fredericksburg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for military park and visitor center in Fredericksburg. Surprise, our GPS took us to Chatham House instead! Chatham House has a beautiful location across the river and above Fredericksburg. There is a short film and a nice garden to walk through. There is also a re-creation of a segment of floating bridge, similar to those used by armies to cross rivers. You can see the Chatham House and gardens in a hour. There is also a nice picnic area available under shade trees.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Liv2plan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    90
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“If Walls Could Talk............!"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our visit to Chatham was truly delightful. The staff was friendly and fun to chat with and the house was evocative of all of the years and changes that it has seen come and go. I was especially intrigued with the blueprints of the changes that have been made to the house and at its architectural style, which is so different from the region in which I live. It is sad that, I assume due to the economic climate of today, the gardens have not been tended as well as they might have been, but one can see the vision of the designer and the overall splendour of the design against the grace and elegance of the house. If I lived closer, I think I might volunteer to come and work in the gardens. The roses must be spectacular in June!
Aside from its beauty, the historical significance of the house and its strategic importance during the Battle of Fredericksburg make it a spot not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank shyviolet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best museums in Fredericksburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Every time I have company travel here to visit this is a must for them to see. From the gorgeous views to the magnificient house and sprawling gardens. This house has survived, listen to it's history and enjoy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We loved visiting this home and learning the history behind it. The views from there were beautiful and the gardens we an added bonus.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank imabusy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I loved this place! In fact, visiting here made the entire battle of Fredericksburg come together for me. In ways, I enjoyed it more than the battlefield park. It is on the opposite side of the Rappahannock river- and you can look from here toward the battlefield (which is mostly gone) and see a whole different perspective. Not to mention that Washington and Lincoln and so many other famous people stayed here. The history of Chatham is so interesting, diverse and intertwined throughout the Civil War that you have to see it. The video they offer is short and worth the time. Be sure to go out back (the old front) to see the old pontoon boat replica. It is also free of charge.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank IMNTTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatham Manor also viewed

 

Been to Chatham Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing