We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay”
Review of Old Town

Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.00*
and up
Historical Horse and Carriage Tour of Fredricksburg Virginia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at a B&B for three nights to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed on Caroline in the heart of Old Town, the perfect place to stay. There were so many shops and restaurants that we didn't get to see them all. We walked around at night and it seemed to be very safe and everyone we met said hello to us. Only complaint was that a lot of things were closed at6 night but being off season that was understandable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skistw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    73
    23
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, New Jersey, USA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Ante-belem Town”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Beautifully restored and maintained town. Many quaint shops and good restaurants. The antique shops have some very nice quality items but the prices are on the upper end.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stillmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An interesting old town ...”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The visitor's center was helpful, and we enjoyed wandering around the shops in Old Town Fredericksburg. We came here to experience First Night Fredericksburg, VA. We would have loved to see Gari Melchers home and studio, but it was closed. However, we wandered around the entire property, which we had to ourselves, and really enjoyed the landscape and the river. All in all, Fredericksburg is an experience more people should share. We'll be back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RJSSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go alot!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I live about 30 minutes away, and find that Fredericksburg is chock full of walking, shopping, antiquing, and eating! We LOVE Eileen's Restaurant, which is in a converted old Church. It's an active, fun town, and the train sure doesn't hurt! You'll find yourself walking much longer and further than you're used to, as there is so much to see!
Old Town Fredericksburg is just a ton of fun to walk around!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunsup605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“new years day in old town”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We heard that new year's eve was a block party in old town but when we visited on new year's day most business's were closed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dingram4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town also viewed

 

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing