We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a ride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Historic District

Ranked #2 of 10 Tours in Fredericksburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Forty-block-long district features more than 350 original 18th- and 19th-century buildings including an 18th-century apothecary shop.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We took a trolley through the historic district while were there. Our guide was not only knowledgeable, but also very funny. His comments were peppered with amusing stories about the people and places that we visited. He made the old town's history come alive in a wonderfully entertaining way.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank reene47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The area is well preserved and beautiful. But because of all of the rain in April, we weren't able do get out and do things.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“trolley tour is very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

learned all about the history of frederiskburg and the people at the info center were very helpful. Had a beer and fish & chip at the local pub.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou9805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west chester, pa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“historic small town charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

an impressive array of historic and individual owner shops with a great variety of shopping tastes. the bookstores were chock full of eclectic and interesting titles. one of them had a great comic book section. there were tea shops, candy and sweets, ice cream, bakeries, clothing and antique stores galore. one of my favorites was an interesting food shop with a variety of specialty foods from different regions of the mid-atlantic. we are from pennsylvania, and there was an impressive array of pa dutch foods that we have only seen before in our home area.

an excellent way to spend a day in fredericksburg. if you like antiques, you could easily spend two days there browsing all the shops.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Take the horse drawn carriage ride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We took the carriage ride through Old Town Fredericksburg and learned so much about the Colonial times! I think Fredericksburg is known for the Civil War - without thinking of everything else there is...like all sorts of George Washington and family homes and sites to visit. And Abraham Lincoln made a speech - so you can visit the place he stayed and see the steps he stood on for that. There's an old slave block as well. If you take the tour from the visitor's center - you'll learn all about the things you can do to when exploring the town!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Historic District also viewed

 

Been to National Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing