We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Its definetly improving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Fredericksburg North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Fredericksburg North
Ranked #35 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
790 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Its definetly improving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have been staying at this Motel 6 property for many years and has been slowly deteriorating. On this trip it seems that the rooms are receiving a 'make-over'. Room 150 was clean and bright, though it amuses me that who ever signs off the work - fails to sit on the toilet and just look around for a moment. Everything cleaned and painted - except the rear of the bathroom door (?).
Unfortunately, Motel 6 are having so called water 'economises' fitted to the showers and vanity sink taps. The shower was so ridiculously gentle, economy is the last thing it would give, as you need to leave the shower on for quite sometime as you do to get hot water through the vanity taps. Huge loss of water !
Like many Motel 6 properties, there are many long term residents that seem to delight in starting their vehicles, leaving them running for 10 to 15 minutes, whilst shouting to friends, all in the early hours of the morning - not what you want to hear when on holiday (vacation). But its getting better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    20
    11
    24
See reviews for
24
21
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After two long days of driving, we really needed a good night's sleep. Fortunately, we found sleep and not much else. This Motel 6 no frills approach to hospitality was a little underwhelming, but the discounted rate was greatly appreciated.

The night agent who checked us in was warm and welcoming; she gave us our key and sent us on our way. That's where the hospitality ended.

When we opened the door to our room, the disinfecting odor was palpable. The room was very warm and there was no air conditioner. We were on the first floor, so opening the door meant potentially admitting everyone on our side of the building. And of course, the windows would not open. The heat was turned off and eventually my husband had to open the door wide in order to let some cooler air in.

The bathroom was new and very clean. But the shower stall contained a worn plastic curtain which did not hang correctly, so puddles of standing water were left under the toilet. Unfortunately, this had already left a rust stain.

Television cable reception was poor. We were unable to access the wifi with the code for which we paid. When I explained the next morning to the desk clerk that the computer code did not work, her response was, "Huh. I'd have to talk to the company to find out what was wrong." No apology nor refund offer.

For sleep, this room was adequate at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homebychoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A good deal for road warriors and couples for a quick overnight or two. Friendly and helpful staff, especially at check in. Generally clean (bathroom spotless), carpets clean although a bit thread worn at the door, comfortable, microwave and refrigerator looked new. Obviously gone through renovations, Night time security gate at front entrance to rooms. One of the better budget motels with no frills, emphasize BUDGET motel.

Room Tip: If in doubt, ask to see room first, especially at low end budget motels. This one was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had paid the same for a much nicer room the night before in a different state, and it's always a gamble travelling with a dog for a budget...but this Motel 6 was on the flip side of the risk coin. Though it was clean enough to pass my pre-check-in "inspection," it was shabby, very small, old/run down, and most of all: icky. We could tell immediately that there were weekly/monthly (and, according to the front desk clerk, annual) residents, which is always a sketchy crowd no matter where you go. Plenty of clusters of people outside rooms smoking (who knows what), weird stains on carpet, old hole-y blankets, and a general feeling of yuckiness both in and outside the room. HOWEVER, the shower was weirdly AWESOME (besides for not wanting to let the shower curtain touch my skin) and that was the only reason I'm giving 2 stars instead of 1. Would not return, especially knowing what IS possible to get for such a low price.

Room Tip: We requested a room along the back so we could keep an eye on our car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Let me start by saying I’m not a hotel snob. I’ve stayed at a number of Motel 6’s. I’ve generally found that Motel 6 delivers exactly what it promises: “a clean, comfortable room.’’
I’m not sure I can say that anymore.
This specific unit is one we’ve stayed at a number of times before. Honestly, it has always been on the lower end of Motel 6 standards. We’ve had times where there was a drip on the rug that lasted throughout the night, or the clientele seemed less than savory. But we’ve found it passable, if barely.
After this trip, I think we’re simply done with this unit. First off was the nasty smell in the room. We travel with a smoker. So I’ve been in plenty of smoking rooms. But the smell in this room was almost overwhelming, worse than pretty much any one I’ve been in before.
The bathroom mirror had a big crack in it. There were dead bugs on the floor. At the end of a long day of driving, my wife and I just sucked it up and stayed, knowing it was just for a night and we’d be clearing out in the morning.
But we definitely did not feel clean or comfortable. We agreed that on next year’s trip, we’d be looking for a new place to stay. I honestly think a close corporate inspection is in order to consider whether this place still meets Motel 6 standards.
There are plenty of better options at this same exit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
790 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Over very many years I have stayed at this motel several times a year. It is a corporate run motel and it certainly shows. No one seems to care - it is very full of what some call 'long term renters'. So all the easily accessible rooms are never available. People hanging about all day and what seems like half the night - you have to wonder when they sleep.
All the rooms I have used, desperately need refurbishing. The towels are threadbare, parking anyhere near your room is difficult and they have the termerity to charge foe the wi-fi. As a money saving thing the pool was closed "For the Season" - it was in the 90's and late June ?? crazy.
So why do we go there ? It is a very handy place for all the places us tourists want to visit, its reasonably cheap and there are excellent facilities such as shops, restaurants etc - within about two miles. As I always say, every dollar we save goes towards the next holiday

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

(SAT: 6/1/13) Took the less expensive senior rate, but then the microwave & the fridge was extra, as was the $2.99 internet service. Comfortable room, clean enough, but the ceiling square above the shower head was water stained & looked as though it could fall in. This did not effect comfort or sleep; however, our 1st floor room was in the middle of renters, who generated a lot of parking lot noise. Parking spaces near the rooms were at a premium. There were loud banging exterior doors, voices, & parking lot TRAFFIC: loudly departing & then returning vehicles noticeable from 10:30PM-through 2:45AM. Sleep was constantly interrupted. The next morning I commented to the very pleasant lady clerk, who said "long term renters" will need to be reminded that overnight guests should be able to get some sleep. (Idea: "long-term" parking spaces could be assigned away from 1st floor exterior doors for a quieter stay & more accessibility to the 1st floor rooms.) It was an endurable experience, but we needed to be refreshed & on the road by 5AM the next morning. YAWN-departure did not happen until 7AM.

Room Tip: If traveling with a pet, make sure your room is not surrounded by barking dogs & loud neighbors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovvaBargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Fredericksburg North
Americas Best Value Inn - Freder...
#29 of 42 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 42 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Fredericksburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#28 of 42 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 42 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Fredericksburg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Fredericksburg North

Property: Motel 6 Fredericksburg North
Address: 401 Warrenton Rd, I-95 at Warrenton Road, Exit #133-A/133, Fredericksburg, VA 22405-1335
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Fredericksburg North 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Motel 6 is located off I-95, 5 miles from Central Park Funland and 4.5 Miles from Fredericksburg Ice Park. The friendly staff keeps guests looking forward to staying with us again! All rooms have a modern look. W-Fi available for a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Fredericksburg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Fredericksburg
Motel Six Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Motel Six
Fredericksburg Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing