We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Name changed, food still good”
Review of Park Lane Tavern

Park Lane Tavern
Ranked #11 of 440 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Irving, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Name changed, food still good”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I hadn't been at this restaurant in months and didn't realize that they had changed their name from Fredericksburg Pub to the Park Lane Tavern. I was a little skeptical to go try the restaurant, thinking that not only the name had changed, but also the food and atmosphere. To my surprise, the food had remained the same, great atmosphere and my family and I had a great time! Worth While visiting!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agatag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    81
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
897 reviews
592 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Incredible Decoration”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Upon walking in, the first thing you notice is the ornate decorations and furnishings throughout. Great high back chairs, the servers wearing short tartan skirts with knee socks and the huge bar.

The menu is nice! Firecracker shrimp is nice because it comes lightly breaded and fried and with a side of fried Jalapeños and their "firecracker" sauce, which was far from spicy, but flavorful! Wednesday is half priced wine day, so you can get a bottle or glass for half off... We got a bottle of Pinot Grigio for only $10!

The Whiskey peppercorn steak was good and cooked to the PERFECT temperature! The flavor of the sauce was quite nice! But the choice of meat was sirloin and not a very "marinate'able" meat, so it didn't have all the flavor it could if it were a rib eye, but it was done quite nice.

Mashed potatoes and green beans were amazing! Dessert, they have a seasonal apple dish which was FANTASTIC!

Service was decent too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Establishment!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had wanted to visit this place for several years but never had the chance. Later we learned that it used to be known by another name, but had changed to become its own entity. Anyway, we were very impressed with the decor of the establishment and the friendliness of the staff. The bartender we interacted with was particularly friendly and willing to take time to chat with us and make us feel welcome, which is something that lacks at many other places. The beer selection is fantastic, with Belhaven Scottish Ale and Twisted Thistle on tap! The food...where to begin? Simply excellent! Their calamari is phenomenal; bangers and mash and shepherd's pie are superb. We definitely intend to visit again when we are down that way.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BictheMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Frequent visitors - mug owners”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We come here frequently, we own mugs both here and Green Turtle. This place is our favorite. The food is better, and many times the beer selection is too. We are rarely disappointed. Service is super friendly and prompt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoOneSpecial12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great selection...food ok”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Great selection of beer and pub fair...food ok kinda of pricey for what u get. Appetizers better the entrees.
House beers are great. Steal the glass Thursday makes the price of beer a little better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffworn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Lane Tavern also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, VA
 

Been to Park Lane Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing