We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worst Stay Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Stafford
1 review
“Worst Stay Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

An early Valentine's evening out was punctuated by what is probably the worst stay I’ve ever had at a hotel. Immediately upon entering the room we were met with a musty, moldy smell which persevered throughout our stay. Preparing for our evening out, it took almost forever for hot water to reach the shower. It was so bad, later that evening, my wife who is religiously takes a bath prior to retiring for the night, gave up on getting hot water (she was not happy). Then as we're trying to doze off, the constant whine of an electric motor on the roof (I assume), became very apparent, as well as very distracting, precluding a restful night’s sleep. So yes, this was likely the worst stay ever and I will definitely find another hotel for future couples evening out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateFredericksbrg, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Our maintenance staff has looked into the hot water and noise issure you experienced recently. We would like to have you back at Wingate Fredericksburg to show you how a wonderful experience is absolutely a possiblity here at our hotel. We do thank you again for your feedback and hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    319
    216
    92
    64
See reviews for
449
270
76
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
EFLAND
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I truely enjoyed my stay at the Wingate hotel. Some incentives for staying was the convenient location, the mini buffet breakfast served daily, the jacuzzi and indoor pool which fit my need for a quite relaxing couples weekend. The hotel is directly off the highway and located near a variety of restuarants, entertainment, and shops. The staff was nice and helpful and overall the the value and cleanliness of the hotel was met its value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Tabitha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
178 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here last week. Nothing is left wanting. Comfy, comfy bed and the softest pillows, water and towels ever. Loved the duck made out of the towel on the bathroom counter!
Marvelous everything - microwave, free wi-fi, coffee maker, frig, sitting area.
The price is the best part - oh, forgot free breakfast!
Right off the main roads and convenient to everything.
When I'm back in Fredericksburg, this will be THE place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duvel11Frederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateFredericksbrg, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We look forward to seeing you back!

Thank you for staying at Wingate Fredericksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANASSAS
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nice hotel. Check in was quick and painless despite a crowd in the lobby, Room was spacious and bed was comfortable. Didn't eat breakfast as room was too croweded and there was some mold around the shower but we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lehigh acres, fl
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here before. It was pleasent as always. Very clean and inviting. Just a side note to the management, the breakfast bar was not anywhere near what it used to be. Very sloppy and untidy. Sundy 1/13/13. Otherwise it was a good stay. Would still reccomend it.

Room Tip: Stay on the front side, nothing to look at out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Fredericksburg North
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#6 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#13 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg
Address: 20 Sanford Dr, Fredericksburg, VA 22406-1038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Fredericksburg Hotel Fredericksburg
Wingate Hotel Fredericksburg
Wingate Motel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing