We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bavarian Chef

Bavarian Chef
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Historic Railroad Station -- The first Restaurnt "Bavarian Chef" is located in Madison, VA.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Best bread basket in the Burg by far. Very generous portions and a friendly and attentive staff. They have a wonderful beer selection and several nice wines as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    124
    38
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food huge portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal here. Try a pretzel for an appetiser terrific. Main course portions are huge and as you might expect very German influenced. Tasty and served in a nice atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UreDundeeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I visited the Bavarian Chef for our 17th wedding anniversary. We had the added bonus of visiting during Octoberfest. Despite being the busiest day of the year, we were quickly taken to our table (we had reservations). A mixed bread basket was brought to our table along with our drink order. My husband enjoyed a couple of steins of HofBrau Dunkel. I ordered the Jager Schnitzel (veal with mushrooms & bacon in a cream sauce) and my husband ordered the Mandel Schnitzel (pork medallions encrusted with almonds and served in a strawberry sauce). The meals were incredible and plentiful enough to take half of it home with us. Sides are served family style; we ordered whipped potatoes (the best I've ever had), string beans (served with tomatoes & bacon), red cabbage and another potato dish. We finished the evening off with the best tasting black forest cake we've ever shared. The cake had fresh cherries in it but was served with strawberries, blackberries and blueberries. It was so good! We really enjoyed our evening and can't wait to have the opportunity to return and try something new.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T-Scout_and_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still eating the leftovers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very nice German restaurant in a great location. Traditional food and beer in which the recipes are well done. The beer selections were great with Hofbrau and Paulaner on tap with many others. The food was fabulous with enormous portions. Prices were right where they should be for this caliber of restaurant. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our eating experience on our 33rd anniversary. The portions are generous so ordered only an appetizer and one entrée ...plus a piece of German chocolate cake (which I highly recommend). Everyone from the hostess who took our reservation to the waiter to the server were MOST hospitable. Highly recommend the Bavarian Chef!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank billakadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Chef also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, VA
Fredericksburg, VA
 

Been to Bavarian Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing