We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty sandwiches at Jake and Mike's!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jake & Mike's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jake & Mike's
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Description: 540) 370-4590
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tasty sandwiches at Jake and Mike's!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I enjoyed the food and the menu, not the cheapest place in town but worth checking out!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PlatinumDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“misrepresentaion and no remorse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Ordered a dish specifically for how it was prepared; discussed it with the waitress. The dish came not only without the sauce I had particularly wanted, but also without the meat. The waitress's response? "Oh, we are out of the sauce and the meat". Funny, someone who ordered after I did had no problems getting that meat in their order, and, if they were in fact "out" of certain ingredients why didn't the waitress come and tell me so and let me make a different choice? Got no apologies and was charged full price.

Helpful?
1 Thank bigredVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had lunch on a Saturday afternoon at this modest-looking place. There was a good variety of interesting sandwiches on the menu and a few salads. The service was friendly and accommodating. This is not the place to go if you're in a hurry, but a great place for a relaxing meal. We'll definitely go back - hopefully for dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay spot but disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Food was good, but the service was slow despite few patrons in the restaurant. Our server suggested a menu substitution for an item we didn'n want but neglected to say there would be an additional charge to do so

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosesharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We moved here recently from San Diego where we were a bit spoiled with restaurant choices. Don't be fooled-the coffee kiosk is not the best place in Fredericksburg. We had an amazing dinner at Jake and Mikes-parmesean polenta, grilled mahi mahi, and crab cakes-with an amazing citrus wine reduction. Dessert was incredible as well grilled pound cake with dulce de leche ice cream.
We had a reservation which I would encourage you to make prior to the day of your dinner.
The staff was wonderful, attentive, and not intrusive. We only had dinner but are going to try lunch sometime in the next few weeks.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank larbfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake & Mike's also viewed

Fredericksburg, VA
Fredericksburg, VA
 
Fredericksburg, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing