We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Due to a snow event in PA our trip from NY to NC was drawn out by several hours causing the need to stop overnight in VA. We were fortunate to have chosen this motel. The service was perfect, the room was great and the rates were reasonable. The motel is easily accessible.
The room was spacious, clean and my wife commented on how nice the entire building smelled.
The shower head was unusually nice and the water was nicely hot.
Good WiFi signal in the room.

One of the best dynamics of our stay was the breakfast room in the morning. Spacious, well lighted, top notch staff service ( I think the young man running the breakfast area has his eye on being the motel manager - He certainly has the best customer service attitude I've encounter in a long time. ) The food was great. Scrambled eggs ( fluffy! ), cereal, fruit, coffee, juice, waffles and more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    77
    22
    13
    3
See reviews for
98
59
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Québec
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our 3rd year staying there on a 2 ways driving trip to Florida. We are a family of 4 and rented as always, a suite. Again, everything was perfect. The only thing is that there was no cinammon buns this year when we where there. They were back order !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjhoudart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very slippery and dangerous bathroom floor and tub. My husband slipped on floor so I took rubber mat out of tub and placed under towel/ mat to prevent falling ... I slipped and fell out of tub. Holiday Inn Corporate Headquarters says they must abide by the determinations made by management. Management refused to warn future guests there might be a problem and offered no compensation for my fall instead chided me saying it was my own fault. Plenty of other excellent hotels in area. Try them and if you must go BE AWARE OF DANGEROUS CONDITIONS.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank playwrightoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear playwrightoma,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the bathroom in your room accommodations and for the service you received during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Fredericksburg you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was my base for four nights during personal Civil War study in the area. Although it's no bargain at regular prices, it is an exceptional hotel. Appearance and cleanliness are superior, not just in my room but in all public areas, including the elevators. Quality woodwork, tying it all together, deserves a mention. The attractive, comfortable community breakfast area surpasses any I've seen in other roadside property, equaling many a fine restaurant. (Unfortunately, it's not a full-service restaurant, which was a bit of a challenge.)

My four-night stay was a chance to dig deeper than first impressions and appearance, and I found no reason for complaint. Everything, including the friendly staff and the breakfast was "best foot forward." The hotel speaks well for the brand and the management.

Be aware that it is a roadside property. (Actually, it is tucked behind a service station.) Despite its address, it is not IN Fredericksburg or within easy walking distance of any attractions or places to eat, not easy because of heavy traffic. (I did walk to Waffle House.) Study your maps before you go. Expecting to see Fredericksburg on my drive south from DC, I had passed the exit well before stopping at the Virginia Welcome Center.

I have found a new, excellent place to stop when I take family from Dallas to visit relatives in southern Virginia. DFW > Reagan > away from that congestion > this property. Enough for one day and the assurance of a restful night.

Room Tip: I would get above the first floor and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalo_de_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked this hotel for our family vacation of 5 adults. We had 2 rooms which were adjoining, making it nice and easy to converse when deciding what to do and where to go. Both rooms were clean and fresh feeling. Hotel staff was friendly. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good, though the normal free fare, and selections were rotated daily. The only down side to our five-night stay was the noisy child/ren above us who sounded like they were body-slamming themselves into the floor above us until fairly late at night. It took several calls to the front desk over a couple days for someone to get them to stop (or maybe they finally checked out??). The location was convenient - close to our destination of historical Fredericksburg and not too far away for our day trip to Mount Vernon. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

By using Priceline I booked a double queen room in this hotel during the Thanksgiving day weekend for 3 nights @ $50 per night. At $50 per night this hotel is a beautiful experience. The overall condition of the hotel was very clean. You always see a staff member doing something for cleaniness. There is a free breakfast buffet everyday and always hot coffee at the front desk. The hotel is right at the exit off of I-95 and tons and tons of shopping and restaurants nearby. Indoor pool was nice and excercise room was small with only steppers and treadmills but functional. Some of the cons...parking is terrible if you come in late you might have to park at the hotel next door. Door on back side of building was broken so no entry or exit through that door which made parking on that side of the building very inconvenient and a long walk to the front entrance. The mattresses and bed linen are not of the nice hotel quality I usually enjoy when travelling so a thumbs down on mattress comfort. All in all this was a good stay. Use Priceline to name your own price to maximize your value.

Room Tip: Walls and floors are thin. Can actually hear guest in room above above urinating and when toilet fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We used to live/work in Northern Virginia and returned to visit some friends and take our son into DC to see the sights. We arrived at the front desk and the check-in was handled by a very professional clerk. I actually felt sorry for her because she was held hostage on the phone by a woman who would not stop asking questions. The clerk never lost her cool and was professional the entire time. I wanted to climb thru the phone and strangle this lady. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. It is close to the Northern Virginia sites and only about a 45 minute drive into DC. If you go to Fredericksburg eat at the Log Cabin Restaurant don't let the outside worry you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Fredericksburg North
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#5 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
#9 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Address: 560 Warrenton Road, Fredericksburg, VA 22406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#12 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing