We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a stopover”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My family stayed here on August 17, 2012 and August 25, 2012, both going and returning from the Outer Banks. I chose this hotel because of the reasonable price, free breakfast, pool and exercise room.

Both visits went good but there were a few things that could have made our stay even better. Our first night they were having a problem with the hot water and we had to bath our 16 month old in luke-warm water. The problem was fixed the next morning. The other disappointment was when we arrived we could not get a room on the same floor as my sister. The hotel was not sold out but it seemed they didn't want to have to do extra paperwork. I found this annoying but for one night it wasn't a big deal. I requested that the following week we be on the same floor and the staff member did arrange that, although we were at opposite ends of the hallway. I did forget toothpaste (buried in the car) the second night and they were kind enough to bring some samples up for us.

The room we were given the first night must have been handicapped accessible, because it was considerably larger than my sister's. We had a regular room on our second stay, and while it was still big it wasn't as spacious as our first room. We had a king room both nights and our beds were very comfortable, as was the bedding. There was also a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot which was convenient.

Our first room seemed to have been remodeled when compared to our second room. Both were very clean.

The breakfast was decent, just enough to get us on our way. There was a waffle maker, bacon, eggs, assorted breads you could toast yourself, warm oatmeal (pretty good with optional toppings), cereals, milk, juices, water and coffee. The dining room is fairly small but both times we managed to get a table as another group was leaving. They did have at least two toddler booster seats that I saw.

We didn't get to use the pool but other family members did and they liked it. I used the fitness center both times and thought it was well equipped for a small hotel. There were two treadmills, a bike and an elliptical. There was also a weight machine.

Overall we were pleased with this hotel and would recommend it to others. It is in a convenient location off the highway, with lots of restaurants and other stores around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlover325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    145
    53
    13
    12
See reviews for
242
132
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
youngstown, ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent the night on our way to the OBX. Very easy to find. The hotel was clean. Beds were comfortable and shower pressure was ok. All of the empoyees were very friendy. Breakfast was ok. Would definately stay here again. Right on 17.. RT 95 very close to the hotel. We wanted to stay somewhere 1/2 way from Ohio. This place turned out to be a gem..Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our first stay at this Country Inn & Suites and I don't think it will be our last. This town is our usual stopover point when returning from Florida trips and we've tried a number of the hotels nearby, but this is the best so far.
The rooms and common areas were clean, there is an indoor pool and exercise facility that seemed very nice (we went in the rooms, but didn't have an opportunity to actually use them).
Everything was quiet at night despite the fact that we seen a large group heading off to a special event with coolers, etc. so we were'nt sure what to expect later.
The staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was great. Cookies at the front desk were a nice touch.
We will definitely make this our stopover spot on future return trips from Florida.

Room Tip: Beware, there aren't many good eating spots close by that are open late so be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stopped here for the night since it was halfway for us down to Florida. Our room was plenty big enough for our family of 5. Kids enjoyed the pool and the breakfast was your typical breakfast fare.

Easy access to I-95, the only downfall is having to travel thru DC traffic but other than that the kids were ecstatic to arrive.

Front desk and staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyerfan_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Room: The king bed room was very nice, both in size and quality. The room included an LCD tv, microwave, and refrigerator, along with a comfortable bed, desk with chair, and sitting chair with ottoman. The bathroom was pretty typical for a hotel, though the showerhead did have a good amount of pressure, which is always nice. It seemed to me that the hotel had been updated pretty recently, and the condition of everything in the room was excellent.

Location: It appeared a large percentage of the guests were just stopping on a trip up or down I-95. It seems like this hotel is a great option for such an overnight trip, and this hotel seemed nicer than the other hotels nearby. Though it is near a main road, I did not notice any noise nor did I have any difficulty sleeping.

Service: The staff were excellent, in my few encounters with them. The hotel provides free WiFi and breakfast, including some cereal, a waffle maker, bagels / bread, and a few other items. There was an indoor pool, which I did not use, and a variety of comfortable places to sit in the lobby and outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arkleseizure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geleen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Dulles Airport, on our last vacation night. The room smelled very nice and it was spacious. Beds were comfortable. Check in was very friendly - they have some great tasting lemonade, which we enjoyed very much.
There is a Target real close by, which we thought was convenient to buy some last minute stuff before we went home.
The pool was OK, I did go in for a while and my son swam in it a little longer. But when some sneezing and coughing toddlers arrived, he decided to go out :)
The location is not that special, but to be honest, we did not have much time to explore everything nearby. It was an easy drive to Dulles from there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanthahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We checked in and room was gorgeous, beds were comfy and checkin was easy. We wanted a decent restaurant and was told there are two pizza places or Pancho Villa. Guide to hotel did not offer much insight either. This is just an average town off 95 and the chain calls it Fredericksburg. The pool had too much chlorine. My eyes burned after swimming. Breakfast was awesome, lots of choices except coffee seems to run out everywhere I stay. I like this chain but will pick one down 95 next time.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jfuriosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#13 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Fredericksburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
3.6 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#5 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
Address: 656 Warrenton Rd, Fredericksburg, VA 22406-1028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fredericksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Fredericksburg
Country Inn & Suites Fredericksburg Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing