We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Loved this Courtyard”
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This courtyard is one of the nicest I"ve been to. Actually the nicest courtyard I've been to. the rooms are clean, modern, decorated beautifully. The staff was so welcoming, asking if we had floor preferences. When my husband mentioned he smokes and needs to go outside, she put us right near the courtyard door, so he wouldn't have to walk to far. The bathroom was large, clean, and the tub was wonderful with a granite seat at the edge . I can't complain about price, as I get a state government discount, and literally paid nothing for this beautiful room. I would stay here again in a heartberat, even if I was paying full price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mittmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    102
    19
    16
    6
See reviews for
93
106
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

I really like this hotel. Great location in downtown Fredericksburg; I probably wouldn't stay here if just passing through and needed quick interstate access, but good choice for a relaxing visit to the quaint downtown area. Hotel was built around 2006, so very clean and modern. Somewhat small hotel (I think 4 floors), but nice little lobby area. Rooms are comfortable, though not particularly spacious. Fine for one or a couple; would be cramped if traveling with kids. Comfortable beds; free WiFi in room; flat HD television. One minor oddity is no "pay per view" system. However, several HBO channels are in the channel lineup. Parking is $10 per day at a city parking deck nearby, or free on the street (during the weekend). Rates are slightly pricey for a hotel in Fredericksburg, but overall a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I liked this hotel and was surprised to see some negative reviews. I didn't drive here I was visiting a friend who lives in the area. I thought the room was very nice and very quiet. I used the fitness center a couple of times and it was good. It has a pool which I did not have time to use. I ate breakfast in the hotel one day and it was good. I thought the location was nice - right in downtown Fredericksburg. You could walk right out the door and walk all over town. All in all I thought it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Entrance not clearly marked. No bellhops to help with luggage combined with no valet, and NO hotel parking was a major inconvenince! We had to drop somene off at the door to wait with luggage while going around a very busy block a number of times waiting for a parking place to become available. Everytime we left the hotel for sightseeing we would once again ( upon returning) have to circle block repeatedly to find parking. Front desk recommended a local restaurant which was terrible. Can't remember the nameof the restaurant but it was on the river near the train tracks and just a few blocks from the hotel. The breakfast at the hotel, however, was very good and the rooms are quiet, clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncdeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

new, clean , roomy with competent staff. Upholds the Marriott tradition.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CommercialBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The Courtyard Marriott in historical Fredericksburg is very nice and in a good location, not too far from the Fredericksburg battlefield visitors center and close to shops and restaurants.

The room is a standard hotel room, but the bathroom looks very new and I loved the polish tiled floors. The only negative is that there is no secure parking on site. So, we had to park on the street. There is a secure parking garage nearby, but that costs extra.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYP2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Rooms were nice and hotel was new and clean. Too bad the staff and management were completely incompetent. The valet left the door open on my care killing the battery which I had to jump start myself. Our doors card reader stopped working and we were 3 hours late checking out. The Manager Tony refused to talk to us and his staff gave us his wrong email. And, like other reviews here, we had trouble booking into our wedding block and the rooms were not near each other at all. Again, be warned is you are staying here with a wedding or looking to book it for your special day. This hotel is nothing but a headache.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#6 of 41 in Fredericksburg
685 reviews
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 41 in Fredericksburg
641 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
#9 of 41 in Fredericksburg
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Property: Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Address: 620 Caroline St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-5902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#7 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#7 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing