We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable, convenient overnight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient overnight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We primarily chose this property because of its convenient location downtown. 5 min walk to the train station. Steps to restaurants.
Staff were friendly,welcoming, and accommodating. We had a king room which afforded plenty of space. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Room had a mini-fridge (though it wasn't plugged in - luckily we figured that out otherwise our leftovers would've gone bad). Room was quiet - didn't hear anyone else.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCguy20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    82
    14
    14
    3
See reviews for
70
85
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I wasn't too sure how this hotel would be since it's located in the Fredericksburg's Historic District but I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted by a friendly staff. A clean lobby and bar area. The room was good size with amble space for two adults with suitcases.

Avoid the food at the Pub down the street. The Bavarian restaurant by the train station serves HUGE portion and has good service.

Our group had a great time at the hotel bar. The bar staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leddy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here in a room with a queen bed. The central location was very convenient, making it easy for us to have dinner downtown and then lunch downtown the next day. Check-in was easy. Our room was large and well-decorated. The shower and bathtub were awesome, and the bed was very comfortable. However, the bedspread was too thin, and they didn't provide any extra blankets in the room, as far as we could see. By the time we realized this, we were too exhausted to call or go down to ask about it.
I remember another reviewer commented that the curtains were too thin, but I think he may not have realized how to close both of the curtains. Once we figured out how to close both curtains in the room, it was very dark, and my husband was able to sleep in much longer than he usually does, which was nice.
We just parked our car on the street in front of the hotel, and even though it was Saturday, when the 2-hour parking rule was supposed to be enforced, we didn't get a ticket for parking there for an hour or two past our limit.
Tip: We discovered we were in Fredericksburg during their restaurant week, which we took full advantage of- they offer dinner for $20 and lunch for $10, which is half of what they charge in DC during restaurant week!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCtripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This year we decided to do something a little different and attend the First Night Celebration in Fredricksburg, VA We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott and could not have been more delighted with the package that included celebratory hats, cups, and noise makers along with a bottle of sparkling cider, a button to enjoy all the activities, and brunch the next morning. The festivities were all within walking distance, allowing us to enjoy various pavilions of entertainment, a carriage ride, food, and fireworks to ring in the new year. New Year's Day got quite a kick off with an amazing spread for brunch. We had such a good time that we will be back to do it again to ring in 2014!

Room Tip: The king size suite included a sofa, refrig, and view of Colonial Fredricksburg
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0riV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for just one night as part of a driving holiday around Virginia. The hotel is really well located, right across the road from the Visitor Centre (which was very helpful) and in the middle of the historic area, so you can walk to most attractions. The King room was very comfortable and typical of the Courtyard brand. There was a wedding party staying in the hotel that night, yet we never heard any noise. On checking in, we were told that we could park in the street for free and that it was very safe. We were able to park right outside the hotel on the main street.

We had an excellent meal at Bistro Bethem that night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AusTravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here in December for the 150th anniversary of the battle of Fredricksburg. The location was perfect! Watched the street battle in the morning, went back to the hotel for lunch, and later walked to the battle of Marye's Heights. The city still maintains it's old fashioned atmosphere and it really is a beautiful place to visit. The hotel is quiet, clean and we had a restful night's sleep. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, so you can get your coffee in the morning before heading out to go sightseeing. The only bad thing was the breakfast buffet, very bad, do not go. I have never seen fish served as part of a breakfast buffet! No butter available, no pastries, no fruit, but lots of roast beef & chicken, very strange indeed, especially since it was very early in the morning. Other than the buffet, I would recommend this hotel. One last thing, parking is not easy in the city, it is well worth the extra $ for valet parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duchess28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We chose this hotel based on other reviews on this site. We were very happy with this choice. The location was perfect, we were able to walk to all of the museums, restaurants and historic sites. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was very attentive, and we enjoyed watching them interacting with other guests. The gentleman at the desk one evening was having a great time with some of the kids in the lobby, he was a big kid himself and the kids were enjoying themselves immensely. I love the seating pods with individuals tv monitors, very relaxing while having a coffee.
Our room was actually ready for us and we arrived in the area at 8:00 in the morning! Will definitely stay here again. Also the visitors center was across the street as well as the trolley.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor, no issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.4 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#21 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#3 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
#4 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Property: Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Address: 620 Caroline St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-5902
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#7 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#7 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing