We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights after a hectic time in DC. Hoped for a relaxing break, but there is so much to see in this lovely place that we were very busy! We used Amtrack and the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the station.
The hotel is in the heart of the historic district, with the Info Centre just across from the hotel entrance.
Our room was large, with very comfortable beds and a good bathroom.
The front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel has a casual friendly ambience.
Lots of business people appear to stay here and the dining area is based on quick in, eat, and out again. The bar was pleasant, with a local musician playing soft music on our first night.
My only gripe was that our room, on floor 4, had a constant loud background noise, perhaps from an aircon unit on the roof? If we had planned a longer stay I would have requested a room change.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We had a loud background hum on the 4th floor, which could be aggravating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boltartas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    90
    16
    14
    4
See reviews for
82
93
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to UMW. The bonus was the great downtown location! This is the only one in the historic district and while its a little pricier than the chains off I95 it's totally worth it. Clean comfortable rooms. The only dislike: breakfast in the bistro. Seems to be all heat&eat food. If we stay again we will plan to eat off-site

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEtraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is perfectly situated in the historic district opposite the vistors centre and within walking distance of quaint shops and interesting restaurants.The restaurant has booths lining two wall and each is equipt with it's own TV. Service in the restaurant was good but there is a limited choice and in view of the many nearby restaurants you might be better eating out. The bedrooms were well fitted out and the beds among the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We had no trouble with the valet parking which was efficient and quick. However, the best thing about the hotel was the staff. We got marooned there due to hurricane Sandy and what could have been an experience to forget was transformed by the friendly helpful service and advice from the front desk and all the staff we encountered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COUNCILLORJACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I spent four days there. As there was roadworks outside the hotel access was tricky so i would recommend valet parking and the park is a block away. on arrival at reception there had neen some mix up with the booking system amd i was held up for some time which resulted in my being given an upgraded room on the 4th floor. The room was large, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The bar was well attended and seemed popular with locals. the staff worked hard to make sure everyone was looked after. The pool is "bijou" and the fitness centre smallish but looks bigger because of the mirrors. It has two running machines, a cross trainer and a cycle machine plus some weights. I used the laundry room on the 4th floor - have plenty of 25c pieces ready before you load up the washer or dryer! There's nothing much to find wrong with the Courtyard apart from nothing to shine your shoes with. Overall a very pleasant place to be and a very convenient base for all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Very well situated in the heart of the historic district, perfect location for all the quaint restaurants and shops. This is the only hotel located in the historic district which is the reason we selected it as we like to try the local wines with dinner so don't want to drive.
A few of the reviews mention parking as an issue. Either pay for valet or as we did, park right outside on the street where you are allowed 2hr free parking...after 6pm restriction lifted.
The small fitness room was adequate for my wife and our 5yr old loved the small pool.
Our only regret is that we arrived the day of Hurricane Sandy so only a couple of shops and restaurants were open. It's a pretty, interesting town and we would have loved more time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fordwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is located in the midst of and in walking distance of Fredericksburg Va historic district. Right across the street from the visitors center and the tour trolley. Has restaurant and valet parking

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEL1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
170 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I just stayed for three nights for a business conference. I was by myself. Cleanest place, new interior, most comfortable beds of any hotel I've ever visited. Fantastic amenities. The fitness center is small, and closes at 11 pm, but it was just me every time I was in there. I loved it.

The staff were all really friendly. There is one lady who was working the bar who, despite being super nice, was slower than anything and took too much time having small talk with other customers and left me hanging when I wanted to place an order. Another hotel staff member had to come and help me.

Bathroom was huge! Loved that.

Parking is in a paid garage over a block away, and that is not very convenient. But valet parking is available. My check in was a bit slow, but that was because some pain in the bum customer was complaining about not being able to get a room at the last minute.

The food is good, and the place is surrounded by great restaurants and within walking distance of some terrific sites and restaurants. Try that Bangkok Wok! If you like Thai food, you will like the place. About three blocks away. And a pleasant walk.

Took plenty of time to sit in the hotel bar in a booth with my own tv that was really comfortable. That was great.

I loved my stay at this hotel. Price is about average. Not too low, possibly a bit high. Average. But the hotel is fun and WAY above average. A well managed hotel! Congrats!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 329 and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PABryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
0.4 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#21 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#6 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Property: Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Address: 620 Caroline St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-5902
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#7 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#7 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing