We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back in June”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was a very nice Courtyard. Our room was very clean and spacious. Even though the hotel was totally booked, we did not notice it. We thoroughly enjoyed walking around the area - wished we had more time there. Breakfast was standard Courtyard fare, but we have yet to eat anything at a Courtyard that doesn't taste good and fresh. Enjoyed the hot tub both nights - first night was slightly busy at the pool - second night it was just us. Enjoyed this place so much, have already made reservations to come back in June. Every worker we encountered from the hotel was friendly and helpful. We used the valet service and encountered no problems. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 353 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Fairly new property, restaurant with fairly expensive price point, room was nice but kingsize bed with old sheets that popped up on corner cost me a night of sleep. Overall great location in the historic section of old Fredericksburg

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadrunner04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Courtyard hotel in the historic district of Fredericksburg. The location is ideal -- right in the middle of the historic downtown center. In addition, the food in the hotel's own restaurant was outstanding (although limited to fairly light fare). Our room was clean and pretty spacious, the bed was quite comfortable, and the staff could not have been more friendly. Our only complaint -- a significant one, in our view -- is that we asked for a quiet room, away from noise-producing elevators, vending machines, etc. The front desk personnel confirmed that we were getting a quiet room when we checked in. On the second night of our stay, hotel, there was significant noise coming from an adjoining room -- we were in room 423 -- that sounded as if someone was constantly throwing luggage against the wall. This began at about 1:15 am, lasted for over an hour, and woke us up and kept us up. We eventually called the front desk, by which time the noise had finally begun to subside. It turns out that room 423 is next to a guest laundry room, and some brilliant person was doing their laundry in the middle of the night; the loud noise was probably shoes or other heavy objects in the washer or dryer. We notified the front desk staff about the source of the noise and our almost sleepless night when we checked out, but we were offered no compensation. In short, the "quiet" room that we had requested and that was supposedly provided to us was anything but.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belgianfrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Courtyard has a great location right in the heart of Fredericksburg. I'd say the only down side to location might be that parking could be a hassle. The staff was friendly and quick to think on there feet, ( it seems that when I made the reservation there was a mix up with name and rooms, however they got it sorted out quickly), also they where nice and gave us a voucher for Starbucks. The Barista was sweet and made super delicious coffees!
The room was clean and comfy. There was a nice pool and hot tub, with a bit of an odd smell...
All in all its a nice place to stay with good vibes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandyGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Courtyard Fredericksburg is an excellent choice for a stay in the Historic downtown area of Fredericksburg. The hotel itself is modern, decorated with crisp clean lines with the comfort of guests in mind. In the lobby they have lots of areas to sit, one with a large flat screen TV on the wall and comfortable sofas. What makes this area so outstanding is the design of the walls around it allows you to see out into the lobby, yet captures the sound of the TV into the area so the TV is not heard thorughtout the lobby itself. Very clever!
Off to the right side of the lobby area is a bright and open business center with many computers for guest use complete with printers.
The guest rooms were large and bright and extremely clean. The king sized room we had included a sitting area with a sofa and table, a desk and chair and a foyer area with a mini fridge. I especially liked the alarm clock on the bedside table as it had a night light on top of it which made moving around the room in the dark much easier.
The staff was always gracious and kind and there seemed to be plenty of staff on hand to hold a door or give you a friendly hello.
The location is fantastic, located in the middle of the historic district. You are able to walk to all attractions and most of the 40 local restaurants.
Despite being in the middle of the historic area, the hotel rooms are so well insulated we could not hear any noise from outside.
A great stay for a very good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room, very quiet and use the stairs rather than the elevator for exercise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank USAColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I typically stay at Marriott hotels because they are tops in cleanliness and service in the hotel industry and the Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District was spot on! The front desk was helpful (with one exception . . . they didn't have a great recommendation for breakfast so we ventured out and found that the Battlefield Restaurant next to Fredericksburg National Battlefield is cozy and the food is great!). The rooms were very spacious with ample counter area and very very clean! The best part about this hotel for us was the location in the center of Historic Fredericksburg. You are literally in the middle of it all . . . the visitor center is next door! There are great restaurants, shopping, a cupcakery and frozen yogurt store, and history all within a few blocks surrounding the hotel! We loved our stay and highly recommend anyone to stay here during a visit to Fredericksburg. (P.S. - the website says parking is $10/day but we found parking easily on the streets surrounding the hotel at any point during the day . . . just be careful of the street cleaning/no parking times so you aren't ticketed or towed!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice machine. A few times in the night I could hear the ice machine run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martaraepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

3 of us stayed in a king suite last weekend and had a very nice stay. Room was spotless - staff was very friendly and the location is ideal if you are visiting for tourist reasons or antiquing. I rated the overall value at 4 only because I always think a hotel could be a little better priced or allow AAA and senior discounts on all rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gosheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
#9 of 41 in Fredericksburg
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Fredericksburg, VA
3 mi away
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
#8 of 41 in Fredericksburg
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District

Address: 620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#7 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $141 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover comfort and convenience at Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District. Our hotel in Fredericksburg, Virginia sits in the heart of the historic downtown, near top Civil War era sites like Fredericksburg & Spotsylvania National Military Park. We are also close to campus culture at University of Mary Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing