We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not come back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capital Ale House

Capital Ale House
Ranked #21 of 427 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not come back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We waited over an hour for our food and wen we finally got it the food was not hot. They were extremely short staffed and it was a holiday! You think they would have been better prepared. Food was just ok. We were there over two hours! Ridiculous!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris77VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    166
    69
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would easily be 5 stars if service were better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Capital Ale House was really nice. They've got dozens of great beers on tap and hundreds more in bottles. There is a really interesting bar with a frozen strip to keep your glasses cold. The decor is amazing and the food was wonderful--I'm actually eating some of their Big Carrot Cake for breakfast as I write this.

The downside to this place is the service. They were not overly busy and there were plenty of servers. Our waitress was very nice but not attentive and not good at her job. Everything we ordered took forever to get to the table, beer and food. Also, it was later in the evening when we arrived and we were starving. We ordered the fried cheese curds for an appetizer. When 20 minutes had gone by without them arriving my brother asked the waitress what the situation was. It was then that she "remembered" that they were out of cheese curds and we wouldn't be receiving any. Had I been leading our little party at that moment she and I probably would've had words. She just seemed oblivious to how poor her service was and content to be cute.

My brother says this is the biggest issue with restaurants across Fredricksburg; that the food and ambiance is great, but that the service is lacking.

I'd definitely go back to the CAH but I'd like to see them step up their customer service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamison_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I will never come back here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The service sucks I order my beer and they took 20 min to give me a beer and they weren't even busy I think you need to take care of your horrible service I will never come to this place.....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorgejose793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great beer selection, and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I love trying different beers, so I enjoy the ever-changing beer menu here. The food is dependably good, and the service has always been great. Fun place to go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mooremama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kane, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice choices of beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

It was lively and crowded; large variety of beers. Food was good. Server didn't have a super personality; wasn't horrible, but he seemed to be there because he had to. As a waiter, he could have tried to be a bit more pleasant; after all, it is the business! There were things to keep the under 21 crowd a bit entertained, but I can't be sure what they all were.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kanetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Capital Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing