We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burgers like hockey pucks”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Capital Ale House

Capital Ale House
Ranked #20 of 429 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Burgers like hockey pucks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Mondays are burger night, but if you get the special they only come one way - cooked until you can't tell it's meet.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dawn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    169
    70
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
301 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good place to hang out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lots of beers on tap, and even more in bottles. You certainly cannot go wrong going here. Lots of room to walk around, Mondays are busy with a burger special. There are other events throughout.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Divebabydive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the selection of microbrews I have ever seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We found this place by accident in a one night stopover in Fredricksburg but wow was I impressed. 60 beer on tap (most of which are microbrews from the US) and a wall of bottled beers to choose from. The food was excellent as well. The outside makes it look like just another pub but the inside is well designed and very large inside. If near Fredricksburg, definitely stop in!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you like beer...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a lively spot in the old town. It is usually busy sometimes a little noisy. The staff are friendly and quick to serve..They do have a nice menu and the food is good so don't pass it up because it is a bar, but if you like beer this is the place with the most. They have a huge cooler behind the bar with glass doors containing hundreds of beers. There is an extensive tap and a beer menu too. If you sit at the bar there is a ribbon of ice the full length to set you glass on. The bar men will offer suggestions in choosing your beverage if you fine the selection a bit overwhelming.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leonard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great beer selections, and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I have visited here twice on our date nights and the customer service and food was very good. The restaurant is a lot bigger then it looks from the outside, and we were seated right away on both occasions. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful with both food and beer or wine selections. The food was very good and we didn't have to wait very long. Of course the beer was great, and the selection was wide range. Looking forward to taking my old army buddy here when he visits next month.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Ale House also viewed

 
 
Fredericksburg, VA
Fredericksburg, VA
 

Been to Capital Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing