We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fredericksburg Hospitality House and Conf Center
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Reviewed December 29, 2007

This hotel needs to be run over and be rebuild! The Hotel used to be a Holiday Inn, but they lost their flag. Now I know why! Never stayed in such an outdated hotel before! The room rate does not give you the value of service. The staff needs training, and the management is a joke! Do not stay here, go to a chain hotel, that is my advice!

Stayed: December 2007
Thank mduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 267 of 267 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2007

Dirty carpet (huge stain on the carpet when you came in our room) and stained ceiling. Had to put an ice bucket under the ceiling in the middle of the night because it was leaking! Drip. Drop Drip...
When we checked in we had asked "Is there breakfast?" meaning "Is breakfast included for free?" and were told yes. The next morning we went into a nearly empty dining room to a buffet. No employees arond at all. Got our food. Then were told it was $10.75 each! felt like walking out! And it wasn't even a good buffet! We did get our room free but feel the whole hotel has huge problems.
A month later we stayed in a Holiday Inn Express in Limon, Colorado and had it be one of the best hotels ever--with a lovely free breakfast and spotless, luxurious rooms. So it isn't the brand, but the individual hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MidwestEmptynester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

I can't understand why we would have a decent stay here one night, and 5 nights later on the way back, have things go straight to hell!

We stayed here on a Thursday on the way to a funeral, and felt that the 2 rooms were fine, in fact very glad that they had a roll-in shower for handicapped access. Had to sign out an internet box, kinda strange.

On the way back on Tuesday we decided to stay there again based on our experience...big mistake. Where our rooms on the odd-numbered side of the hall were OK, we were put on the even-numbered side this time, our non-smoking rooms both stunk with smoke literally pouring out of the A/C units.

We checked in and immediately went to the Outback down the street for a good meal. When we returned my daughter asked me if she could use my laptop (which I brought in from the car TO BE SAFE), I said sure, I'd go down and sign out the Net box....then it was "Where is it?" Then began hours of unbelievable crap, with desk staff not sure what to do, main "manager" Petra being called out of her kids' T-ball game to try and figure out why the keycard reader wasn't reading the accesses to our room...basically they gave me the "sorry but there's nothing we can do". I called Fredericksburg police and gave then the whole rundown, including a suspicious person hanging close to us in the lobby while we were checking in...A month later and no notebook (lost along with the studio mike and audio converter I use for recording) and no acknowledgment that there was even a chance that someone from the hotel went into our room. No insurance settlement. No assistance. Nothing. I am out $3000 of equipment, and "Sorry".

Oh, and the rooms stank completely, my daughter and aunt asked to be moved to another room, and it was just as bad. Trying to relax after all this, watching TV with my folks, the TV kept switching to DVD input, probably from the main office, making watching TV impossible.

We were already in a bad frame of mind having just lost a close relative, but this just took the &^%&$ cake. Never had such a horrible experience at any hotel. Caveat emptor.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chaff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Horrible! Horrible!! Horrible!!!

I don't know where the Temper-pedic bed was that the other reviewer mentioned, but both of our rooms for my family had horrible 20 year old beds. I've slept in better cots!! Rooms were extremely outdated, stains on carpets, flickering florescent bulbs in bathroom that could cause an epileptic seizure. A monstrously long walk from the car to the room and spiders skittering around on the floor. At $95 a night, this was an extreme rip-off... plus NO continental breakfast. My message to the Holiday Inn. Close this place down.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dlmilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

I stayed here a week with my boyfriend while he was in Fredericksburg for his job and I was very pleased. The room was extremely clean, nice (but standard) decor and best of all TEMPERPEDIC beds--I loved these beds. It was great because I could bring my dog and we had a ground floor room with a patio door so I could come and go with the dog without having to walk through the hotel. It was also convenient because we could usually park right by the patio door which made it easy to unpack and pack the car. I didn't go to the pool and I had a little snack from the restaurant which was O.K. They also have a laundry facility.

Traffic around the place was a bit of a pain because it is in the middle of a huge shopping area, but it is convenient to have every chain store and restaurant within a mile. I went to Borders, got my nails done, went to PetSmart, the car wash, Panera Bread (just to name a few) without leaving the immediate area.

It's a quick drive (8-12 minutes--depending on traffic) to historic Fredericksburg/Mary Washington U. and one minute from I-95.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Finley39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Recan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie M, General Manager at Fredericksburg Hospitality House and Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#12 of 41 in Fredericksburg
673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#7 of 41 in Fredericksburg
742 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
#9 of 41 in Fredericksburg
718 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
#5 of 41 in Fredericksburg
410 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredericksburg Hospitality House and Conf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredericksburg Hospitality House and Conf Center

Address: 2801 Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-4947
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $93 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fredericksburg Hospitality House and Conf Center 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fredericksburg Hospitality House is your home away from home featuring first and foremost, warm hospitality! We are conveniently located right off I-95 exit 130B and surrounded by shopping, dining, entertainment, Civil War and Colonial historic sites, championship golf courses and are only minutes from our quaint and unique Old Town Fredericksburg. The hotel features 196 spacious guest rooms and suites, complimentary wireless internet throughout the facility, complimentary self parking, balconies and walkouts, two restaurants, lounge, junior Olympic size outdoor pool, business center, mini-refrigerators and microwaves in every room and more. Fredericksburg's largest convention hotel, we feature full service catering and over 12,000 sq. Feet of convention space. Specializing in Military Reunions, weddings and receptions, corporate retreats and meetings, Association Conventions, family reunions, religious groups and more. **Breakfast is not included in group bookings or some rate plans ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fredericksburg Hospitality House and Conf Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fredericksburg Hospitality House And Conf Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing