We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At The Olde Silk Mill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn At The Olde Silk Mill to your Saves list
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1707 Princess Anne St., Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here, only 2 weeks apart. It is old but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are pretty....nice antiques and pretty bedspreads. The floor in the hall squeaks but that adds to the experience. They have a beautiful outdoor patio in back which we enjoyed. The only complaint we have is the breakfast area and breakfast. It was very crowded. A large group from a wedding sat at the middle table (there is one large table and three 2 person table...very close together). It was hard to see through people standing from that group what was available to eat. We finally got a scone (it was cereal and scones.....I think there might have been yogurt but I couldn't get to it). We ate the scones but we wish we had just left and gone somewhere else. We plan to visit again but we will go elsewhere for breakfast. The only other thing was that the first time there was coffee in the hallway early. This time, there was no coffee. We are early risers so I went and made herbal tea downstairs but my husband went across the street and got coffee at hardees.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAmotorcyclecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our family recently used this Inn for our family reunion. It is very convenient for out of town tourists. Close to all the sights, shopping, and food. The Inn is very hospitable the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. That said it is a very old building so the rooms are very small and there were no hair dryers or irons in the room. The was no electric outlet in the bathroom. The staff gave us a supper long extension cord and we were very happy! We had a great visit and lots of fun. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammingdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We're locals that didn't even know this place existed until we got a half off deal from a local radio station. The room was very elegant and the perfect place to stay and celebrate our anniversary. A little pricey, but is to be expected for what you get. The only down side was the continental breakfast was less than impressive.

Room Tip: The King Edward room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had such a nice room for our two night stay...spacious, clean, flat screen tv, small fridge, and comfy king bed. The pretty patio has small round tables where we sat for a few glasses of our own wine in the evening. The continental breakfast was just that and was acceptable for a two night stay, but meeting others in the dining room is always fun. So, yes, we'd go back again. Fredericksburg has lots to offer and this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Old Silk Mill was wonderful. My wife and I really enjoyed the old world charm. Even better, my wife had a meeting at 1:30pm, well after checkout time and they let us stay in the parlour while we waited. They couldn't do enough for us. On the downside, we were there on a Saturday night and the whole town shuts down at 5 pm. Really! 5pm? Oh well, the Olde silk mill was so nice my wife and I didn't mind retiring early.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyj0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Bought my two nights here on a Groupon. Had to pay $15 for taxes at check-in. I hate it when the groupon doesn't cover everything. Staff stayed up late to make sure I got checked in. Room was comfortable but road noise was an issue. Old style tv. Decent continental breakfast. Friendly folks at the hotel. Nice enough and great to experience the history of the place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Olde Silk Mill help set the mood for our visit to Fredericksburg, Va. The Inn is itself has a history and is maintained with a lot of character with beautiful antiques. A wonderful continental breakfast also came with the meal. The staff is courteous and helpful and the location is good for parking and leaving your car then walking to the historic district. Our trip included visits to the battlefields, a brewery, and stores and shops in Old Towne, all in a day and two evenings.I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: FYI. The building was a two-story motor lodge built in the 1930's. Our room was on the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treavellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.4 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#19 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#11 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
#15 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At The Olde Silk Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At The Olde Silk Mill

Address: 1707 Princess Anne St., Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn At The Olde Silk Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill (formerly Fredericksburg Colonial Inn) is under new ownership since May 2007. Many new upgrades, pillow-top mattress, Royal Suites, wireless internet, new breakfast items, warm and inviting staff. Walking distance to Downtown Fredericksburg Historic sites, restaurants, antique stores. Great shopping and dining options! Perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Inn At The Olde Silk Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing