We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill
Ranked #8 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here via a Groupon offer, but in viewing the regular prices, they are very reasonable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was pleasant and clean. Breakfast was continental style with no frill but we don't expect that with a continental type breakfast. Although this place wasn't as attractive to our immediate eye when we drove up, the interior is nicely decorated with a very comfortable atmosphere. Nicely located near the historic part of town as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

A one-night stay, we received a warm welcome from the guy on the desk, who helped us with heavy bags up the stairs and explained everything. Rooms traditional style and comfortable, if a little shabby, and it is on a main road so expect some traffic noise from quite early in the morning.Breakfast was awful; bagels in packets, dusty-looking cereals and hot water flavoured with a little coffee. The upside was we found a wonderful local Diner one block up and it was great. But the staff at the Silk Mill were friendly and helpful, it was just one mile from town centre so an easy walk and it's OK for a stopover.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a nice place. We had such good service and breakfast was really good. Remember everyone it said a "continental breakfast". A few blocks from center of town. Never had to get back in car. Price was more than a savings. Loved the courtyard which would have been wonderful if weather was a little warmer at night.

Room Tip: Most rooms are small but we only sleep in ours. Just check out all the rooms before making a reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is an older building, reaping of beautiful pieces of the colonial period. Everything was very easy and peaceful. There was no headaches from the moment we arrived till the time we left. We paid about 65.00 a night and it came with breakfast and breakfast was GREAT! There was no problems with service and we will definitely go again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in our room all of ten minutes and decided to book a room at a holiday inn and forget the money we spent on the Old Silk Mill. That's what I get for trusting pictures. I could have spent that money on a great room elsewhere. Our room was right by a concert venue and the widows provided little to block the sound.
The room screamed horror movie. It was filled with tasteless antiques and even the "modern amenities" we're from the early 90's. the bugs in the one light right over the bed really pushed me out the room. I seldom pay 150$ for one night and couldn't have been more disappointed. We left before Norman Bates came knocking on the door. Someone please call Hotel Hell

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zombetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing and peaceful get away at the Inn. We found it via GROUPON and were impressed with the most attentive service and well appointed public and guest rooms. The continental Breakfast was very good and the coffee was excellent - It could have been ready earlier than 8AM for us early risers - the coffee in the lobby thermos was luke warm when we woke in the morning. The location was convenient to all the attractions in Historic Fredericksburg as well as the modern shops across I95.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kielbasaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a joy to have stayed here!

In a rather bland business neighborhood we entered upon a delightful sensory experience. Rooms were furnished in antiques and were elegant, but not overpoweringly so. The included continental breakfast was in a room like a dining room, where there was one big table that served to bring the guests together.

The downstairs public areas were just so impressive and attractive. The stairway was a treat for the eyes. The service was friendly and extremely helpful. It was such a pleasure to stay there. Needless to say, the reasonableness of the price was an added joy.

Room Tip: We toured the hotel and selected the room we liked most. Remember that it is a great wedding place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJSSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
#9 of 41 in Fredericksburg
727 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericks...
#12 of 41 in Fredericksburg
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Richard Johnston Inn
Richard Johnston Inn
#1 of 10 in Fredericksburg
390 reviews
2.1 mi away
Braehead Manor Bed and Breakfast
Braehead Manor Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Fredericksburg
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At The Olde Silk Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At The Olde Silk Mill

Address: 1707 Princess Anne St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3524
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $98 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn At The Olde Silk Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill (formerly Fredericksburg Colonial Inn) is under new ownership since May 2007. Many new upgrades, pillow-top mattress, Royal Suites, wireless internet, new breakfast items, warm and inviting staff. Walking distance to Downtown Fredericksburg Historic sites, restaurants, antique stores. Great shopping and dining options! Perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn At The Olde Silk Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing