We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of an Inn in Fredericksburg”
Review of The Kenmore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kenmore Inn
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We had originally booked only one night at the Kenmore Inn but extended it to two nights after seeing it. Our traditional queen room was lovely with all the modern amenities, a very comfortable queen sized bed, an updated bathroom with a large soaker/jacuzzi tub and shower, Wi Fi, and a small flat screen tv. The complimentary full breakfast was excellent with choices from fresh fruit, juices, omelets, french toast, etc. Although the Inn was almost fully booked during our stay, you felt as though it was your own private beautiful residence. The grounds were quite lovely. The Inn's Pub and Restaurant was a great place to unwind after a day of sightseeing. Chef Josh even made us a special crab appetizer that was not on the menu ... delicious. One of the best features of the Inn is that you are within walking distance to downtown Fredericksburg, and are surrounded by the battlefields of Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, The Wilderness, and Spotsylvania. A great way to see the battlefields is to rent or buy the audio driving tours.
All in all it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capec0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 207 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2009

This Historic Bed and Breakfast is long on history, southern charm and hospitality, plus serves yummy breakfasts. Our only suggestion would be to have windows that open for fresh air, instead of using the window air conditioner (too noisy). Great staff!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Thought I was getting an expensive, but romantic getaway for a significant anniversary at locally famous B&B boasting of elegance, charm and quiet...as advertised on its website (and several apparently dated reviews). Failed on all counts. What I got was dusty rooms, mildewed bathroom walls, peeling paint, wheezing and rattling window AC units, a know-nothing clod of a waitress unable to serve correctly or discretely, a screw-top wine list, horrid food at ridiculous prices, and a no-talent "band" - setting up in the middle of the so-called restaurant - that attracted a beer-swilling, raunchy younger-twenty-something crowd dressed in Hooters t-shirts and cut-off jeans, intent on burning the house down when it wasn't spilling out into the side-street with raucous and vulgar conversation loudly apparent through the paper-thin walls until after midnight. Add to that the not-my-problem attitude of the staff and it wound up as an unmitigated disaster of a weekend. I've spent a more enjoyable weekend with the Army in a tent, had better food at a Waffle House, and had a more quiet night in Manhattan than at this indescribably BAD B&B. Do not be deceived by the website or its photos! Do not select any of its obscenely overpriced romance "packages" - they are rip offs at half the price. If you want to provoke a divorce, celebrate your anniversary here. Otherwise, you'll be better off at a Super-8 motel with a bottle of MD20/20 and frozen pizza than at the Kenmore Inn of Fredericksburg. Not a chance in hell I'll ever go back again. You shouldn’t either.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FollowerofLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmore1200, General Manager at The Kenmore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2009

To be perfectly honest, I have not known how to respond to this review since it was posted. I have had several guests comment that they appreciate a response, so I know that this is necessary and I agree that it is extremely important to share both sides of a story. I am proud of our establishment. We have a beautiful historic building that we are upholding and keeping to its original stature. Our Restaurant is a great place to dine as many locals and Inn guests can support. The band that plays here every week is extremely talented and we are blessed to have them play with us so regularly. The business they bring in are certainly not raunchy or wearing hooters shirts or cut off jeans. The staff genuinely cares about each guest that walks through our doors and does everything in their power to accommodate and exceed expectations. I am truly shocked by this review. It is one thing to offer comments, suggestions, or to express concern and constructive criticism, but to have a guest that is actually local to the area be so incredibly harsh and insulting is amazing to me. Upon checkout, I personally asked this guest about their stay. The guest did say that the restaurant was “not for them” but they failed to mention their complaints about the guest rooms, the food, or the noise. I sincerely hope that guests that read this review take the time to at least call us so we can show you that we are not as described here! I also encourage you to support your local businesses in your own home towns as this is a time to bond together, not tear each other down. I hope that the other reviews on this site will encourage you to come and visit and give us the opportunity to show you our great southern hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

The Kenmore Inn is located in downtown Fredericksburg, VA. It is an old family dwelling that was remade into a hotel with a number of rooms. There is a cafe/bar on the first floor along with a breakfast area. The upstairs has rooms that have its own old-style bed, and bath. The service was great and the rooms were extremely clean and tasteful. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was great, they have omelettes, french toast, oatmeal, and fruit among other things. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs and they had a good bluegrass band playing the night we stayed. Downtown Fredericksburg is accessible within a five minute walk and there are nice restaurants and bars to go to. I highly recommend this hotel because for the price you get a lot more than you'd ever think.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shijimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful night stay at the Kenmore Inn. The outside was beautiful and in full bloom when we arrived. Once inside we were greeted by a wonderful young lady who took us on a tour and explained the included amenities. We both took a sweet roll to eat as well as some coffee. She walked us to our room which was beautiful and clean. The bathroom was newly renovated and we liked the massaging shower. The inn was quiet and clean. We had a wonderful dinner at their restaurant. The setting was very romantic and the food was exquisite. We woke up and had a terrific breakfast and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jechlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The Kenmore Inn drew our business because their website indicated they were child friendly. When you have a tavern and restaurant that has live music, what's to worry about? Other guests have to know that they are subject to spirited merry making down stairs, so a two year old should not ruffle any feathers. The breakfasts were excellent and the complimentary sherry was a nice touch. Only one recommendation comes to mind; give the guests a brief class on the fancy showers. I'm sure I put a gallon of water on the floor before I figured out which of the multiple shower heads were controlled by this or that knob.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outsidedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

From the moment we open the door I knew I would hate it. We. Were met with neg
ative attitude. It. Was no no no!!
It was dirty ,cold and dark the lady that met us was sullen
We left after one night,even. Thou we had paid for 2 nights

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irwinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmore1200, General Manager at The Kenmore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2009

This review is so disheartening. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We would love to be able to please everyone that walks through our doors but it just is not possible. I highly suggest to all of our guests that you at least review our website before you stay with us so that you know where you are staying. This couple booked through an agency and the expectations from these guests were quite different than what one experiences at the Inn. The staff did everything in their power to please this couple and knew from the beginning that it was going to be impossible. We did say no to some things such as to the question of do we have an elevator, but we promptly carried all of the luggage to the room. We also carried all of the luggage to a new room after the couple decided they hated the first room they chose months and months in advance. We said no to bathrobes because we don't carry them, but extra towels were promptly brought to the room instead. Research was done after hours for the couple on places to stay in Richmond, VA. Walking directions were provided to a fantastic restaurant downtown, and then the staff was treated poorly and was blamed because the restaurant was closed for the week (obviously not to the Inn's knowledge). Two special breakfasts were prepared that were not on the menu and a smile and positive attitude was brought with each encounter by each staff member that spoke with these guests.

We take pride in our cleanliness and work hours a day at keeping it this way. Old does not equal dirty.

If a guest is determined not to enjoy their stay from the get go, there just isn't much we can do. I really do suggest researching where you are staying in advance so you can understand what type of property it will be. If you don't think you are going to like it, then you can decide before you arrive to stay elsewhere because it will just be easier for both sides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericks...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
342 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#6 of 41 in Fredericksburg
715 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#3 of 41 in Fredericksburg
662 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
#9 of 41 in Fredericksburg
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenmore Inn

Address: 1200 Princess Anne St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $143 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kenmore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Fredericksburg, the Kenmore Inn (c1793) offers charm and southern hospitality in a beautiful intimate setting. Nine unique and elegantly appointed bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms await your stay. We offer complementary sherry and bottled water in each room as well as a plated breakfast for each guest in our formal dining room. Located on the lower level of the house we have a European style pub and our garden restaurant & patio serving creative contemporary foods that will please the casual or refined diner. Whether you sit on our front porch swing and enjoy a glass of Inn-made sweet tea, take a stroll to the many historic sites and antique shops in town or relax in the parlor with a good book, the Kenmore Inn is your relaxing getaway. For visitors seeking classic southern hospitality, luxury accommodations and personalized service in a premier location, this Princess Anne Street Inn offers all that and more. Come see why this historic Inn catches the admiring eye of virtually everyone who passes by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kenmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg
Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing