We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kenmore Inn, Fredericksburg, Virginia”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kenmore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kenmore Inn
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Kenmore Inn, Fredericksburg, Virginia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel had rave reviews in Fodor's but it's not that great..still it has redeeming aspects. The breakfast was super, you can walk to the original house "Kenmore House" and take a tour. You will be hard to find more finely crafted 3-dimensional plaster (of oyster shells) ceilings..they are breathtaking. The Inn itself does have a restaurant but with a limited menu. We really enjoyed the restaurant 'Bistro Bethem' 309 William Street. We took the 'trolley' tour..90 minutes..worth it.

Room Tip: I do not know what the rooms were like other than ours, sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanne lenz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    54
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
31
117
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Once we were able to locate on street parking, we were shown into a parlor with a musty window AC unit. The furniture, not "period" but worn. Our room was dusty, musty, and a shameful attempt to recreate a civil war ambiance. After finding our first insect in the room, we were "upgraded" to the largest room in the inn with soiled throw pillows on the beds. I don't know who would partake of the "complimentary sherry," but the best part was the "free wifi" that allowed me to write this review. If you want historic lodgings with modern cleanliness, skip this place and go to Williamsburg!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed two nights on a recent trip to Fredericksburg, VA. This is a good bed and breakfast with good rooms. We stayed in 203, a two room suite. A good bed and sitting room with the bath between. there is s lovely porch and a fine restaurant and bar on the terrace level. We tried the bar and restaurant the first night and did not believe we could improve on it in Fredericksburg so we dine there the second night as well. The breakfast goes until 9:30 which is a little better than some. The scones were excellent, nice fresh fruit, and 5-6 hot dishes to order. The room was quiet, had coffee (but no decaf) on the floor. They had very good live music in the restaurant on Thursday.

Room Tip: There are three flights of stairs in the Inn and there is no bellman, which is located in the lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlantaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Kenmore is located in the historic district of Fredericksburg. Many beautiful homes surround the inn - shopping and restaurants are within walking distance. The inn itself is absolutely beautiful - common areas as well as the rooms. Their restaurant downstairs - has an amazing chef -delicious meals in an intimate atmosphere. I highly recommend the Kenmore for a great getaway. Perfect for weddings and receptions.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. It is a quite place - but side and back rooms are away from the beat of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I highly recommend the Kenmore Inn to anyone looking to make the most of their trip to Fredericksburg, or anyone just looking to stay somewhere elegant on a weekend getaway. The staff are very polite and personable, and the house itself is beautiful with authentic and immaculate architecture dating from the 19th century. While breakfast was delicious, dinner in their tavern downstaires was excellent with quality food and a wide selection of drinks. Historic, clean, and classy, the Kenmore Inn in my opinion rates among the best bed and breakfasts in Virginia. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking to experience the most of Fredericksburg or their vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
374 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed at this property for two nights last week, a Wednesday and a Thursday. On both nights there was so much noise that it permeated my room all evening (till 10pm) - one night was a wine dinner (right below my room) and one night a jazz band. When I get home from working all day I look forward to a quiet evening, which I did not have. Next time I will stay elsewhere. Also, the internet connection never worked. I had to walk 2 blocks to a cafe where I could hook up. I tried with 3 different devices. They all worked at the office where I was working and at the cafe, but not anywhere in the Inn.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept a room over the dining room if there is a special event during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and i recently took a weekend trip to DC mid March. We chose to stay at the Kenmore, to avoid the hassle of the big city. We are from Charleston SC, so we thought Fredricksburg would suit us well. We were not disapointed. Wonderful city, but The Kenmore stole the show. We stayed in the Mary Washington Suite. The house creeks and sqeeks as a 100+ yr old home should. If you want silence, stay at the Hilton. That said, the staff was great! John was the innkeeper for most of our stay. He was great! He gave great advice for traveling in to the city, he was there for anything we needed all weekend. I wondered if he even went home. Best of all, we were greeted with a smile every morning and evening when we returned! We chose to eat breakfast at the inn and it was great! French toast or biscuits and gravy are highly recomended. The Keurig is very handy to have on hand at any hour.. Not to mention the great live music we got to hear resonating from the bar downstairs in the evenings! To wrap up, if you are wondering, stop. This is a wonderful B&B!! We have already discussed our next stay here. We missed a few things in DC so need another trip. We will be staying in Fredricksburg, at the Kenmore!!!

Room Tip: Mary Washington room can be noisy. Pipes in the walls wiggle but it is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#10 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#5 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenmore Inn

Property: The Kenmore Inn
Address: 1200 Princess Anne St., Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kenmore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Fredericksburg, the Kenmore Inn (c1793) offers charm and southern hospitality in a beautiful intimate setting. Nine unique and elegantly appointed bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms await your stay. We offer complementary sherry and bottled water in each room as well as a plated breakfast for each guest in our formal dining room. Located on the lower level of the house we have a European style pub and our garden restaurant & patio serving creative contemporary foods that will please the casual or refined diner. Whether you sit on our front porch swing and enjoy a glass of Inn-made sweet tea, take a stroll to the many historic sites and antique shops in town or relax in the parlor with a good book, the Kenmore Inn is your relaxing getaway. For visitors seeking classic southern hospitality, luxury accommodations and personalized service in a premier location, this Princess Anne Street Inn offers all that and more. Come see why this historic Inn catches the admiring eye of virtually everyone who passes by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kenmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg
Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing