We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amenities were Good, Hospitality and Temperature of Room Needs Work”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kenmore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kenmore Inn
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amenities were Good, Hospitality and Temperature of Room Needs Work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Kenmore this past week. To be fair, the price is about $25--$50 less than other B&B Inns that offer the same amenities, a suite, fireplace, jacuzzi (in the room), and a full breakfast. The amenities were good, and the room was very clean and beautiful. But the breakfast and general consideration of guests in terms of hospitality could use a lot of work. The room, before and after the fire died out was cold. We had to move a small heater around the suite to warm up the rooms as we went along. With a restoration or modernization of the place--it would help with these problems. The huge windows were not double paned, for example. We could also hear EVERYTHING from adjoining rooms, and they had a rock show playing downstairs until very late that we could hear.

The breakfasts were between almost-warm and cold, and Very small. The toast was rock hard and cold. We had to ask for things three times, by walking to the back to find the waitress. When we did, she was having a very serious, intense conversation about guests who had complained about the Inn with I'm guessing the owners or manager in an office, connected to the dining room. We could hear the entire conversation as we were eating breakfast, and it was awkward and uncomfortable for us. The staff, in general needs to be professionals, and the Inn is not personable or hospitable because of this. I do have to say, though that the front-desk young woman was very helpful in helping us find a restaurant to eat at. But we realized as we left, NOT ONCE did anyone ever ask us how we were doing; if we needed anything; or were we satisfied.

BUT to be fair, the jacuzzi was first rate. And I think if we were a couple madly in love, the place is perfect. (expect for the small food) It is a place where you can have a romantic time with a jacuzzi in the room, a fire, and a big bed....and even better if you're a partier or young person and want to rock out downstairs before coming back up to your romantic room. People leave you alone, and it is a beautiful inn...just not functional for all purposes.

Room Tip: Go if you're madly in love with your partner and want to have a sexy time where everyone leaves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    54
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
31
117
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I took my daughter and granddaughter to The Kenmore Inn for her 5th birthday. I was surprised that they did allow children as some BnB's do not. We stayed in the 2 Bedroom suite which was huge! It had a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub in which we all three piled into with our bathing suits after a wonderful dinner at the Capital Grill just a few blocks away. I highly recommend the Capital Grill for beer selection, martini's and most of all the food was exceptional. The rooms and linen's were exceptionally clean and comfortable. The Innkeepers were very nice and accommodating as I changed my reservation dates several times because of travel issues. The breakfast was very tasty and a nice surprise that you could order from a menu to choose what you want. I would definitely stay here again and look forward doing so and eating in the restaurant or pub that the Inn has downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachside B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I spent our last night here during our recent trip to Virginia. I wanted something historic and original since we'd spent the previous nights at chain hotels on this trip. The hotel (which is really more of a bed & breakfast) is within a few blocks of the historic downtown. We stayed in the room that had a stand up jacuzzi shower, which was interesting in itself. Our room was in the older, original part of the house. The place is well maintained.

The staff was very welcoming and the room was clean and comfortable. I think there was only one other couple there that night. The innkeeper brought us wood and started a fire when we got back from dinner. Caution... Everything (including the restaurant and bar in this hotel) in the historic downtown area is closed on Monday night. We ended up eating at a chain place on the interstate.

There is no parking, except on the street. No elevator, so be prepared to walk up the stairs with your bags. The street noise was very noticeable in our room, but the bed and linens were 1st rate.

Breakfast was included and we both had the French Toast which was excellent! I'd have loved to have eaten at the restaurant, but it wasn't open.

Overall, this is a nice place, but I probably wouldn't stay again unless I got a bargain rate.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear of the house may not have as much street noise as we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This inn has the wow factor! It is the most beautiful building, with a sitting veranda on the front of the property that I loved, and inside, the house is spacious and very welcoming. We had the Washington Suite which consisted of two rooms, a double, a very nice bathroom and then a further room which had a sofa bed and a single bed. All the decoration was beautiful with old or antique pieces to complement the era of the property. The arrangement worked perfectly for a family of 4 and we were all very comfortable. It was incredible value.

The staff were extremely helpful and attentive and breakfasts were delicious. On our first night we went downstairs to the in-house restaurant which had French windows out onto a charming garden patio area. The food was delicious (but pricey!) but as we were the only people in the restaurant , the atmosphere was somewhat lacking!

However, the Inn is extremely well located and we walked around all the very pretty roads and streets nearby (stunning Southern houses!) and its an easy walk to Fredericksburg's main high street, which we spent many happy hours perusing.

We spent a similar amount of money the following evening at La Petite Auberge (311 William Street) where the food was fabulous and so was the atmosphere! In fact, I seem to remember it was packed so you definitely needed to make a reservation in advance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric78London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The inn is centrally located so great for visiting the sights such as Mary and Betty Washington's homes but our room was small and lacked much storage space. The coffee machine in the hall did not work or maybe it did but was so complicated I couldn't get it to work! On our first night we ate in the somewhat gloomy dining-room in the basement and were astonished that we were the only people dining in it because the food was simply fantastic - a real surprise. Breakfast the next day was excellent; lots of choice and all freshly made to order with attentive and efficient service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlstroemeriaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I were married in Fredericksburg in December. We selected the Kenmore Inn for our reception site. We had close to 100 guests and wanted a standing reception where we were able to mingle with guests, as opposed to a sit-down dinner. The Kenmore is a perfect site for this. We used the main level and the basement. The basement will make you feel like you are in a pub in England. It is lovely.
About a year in advance we met with Chef Jacquie to discuss what we wanted. From beginning to end she was responsive, detail-oriented and aimed to please. The food was wonderful and we are still getting compliments. Some of the passed items we had were, ham biscuits, duck on toast point, kobe beef sliders (everyone's favorite!), caprese on toast point, mac and cheese bites with truffle dipping sauce, shrimp cocktail shooters, and a few more items. I am not doing the food justice with my descriptions, but it was out of this world.
In addition to the food, the accomodations were lovely. We decided to offer the rooms at the Inn to the bridal party. This was a nice convenience for them to be able to stay in the same site as the reception. In addition, breakfast is included in your stay so in the morning we were able to visit with all our friends before the day got going. The second floor of the Inn is perfect for gathering and mingling before the event. The rooms have been recently renovated. It was nice to have updated bathroom amenities in a historic inn.
I would recommend staying at this hotel, dining and holding an event. The charm and service are wonderful. Your guests will love it!
Ask for Jacquie! Eat the scones at breakfast or brunch. Best ever!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkdpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We traveled to Fredericksburg for a family funeral and the Kenmore Inn was recommended by the funeral home. It is a beautiful old home and we are glad that we stayed there. However, there were several problems. First, do NOT stay in the Betty Washington room as it is over the kitchen fans and they are noisy. The bathroom is lovely but it is cold, especially the tile floor. It had a lovely soaking tub but I would have uncomfortable using it. It is alo in the front of the house which has street noise. The main house was warm enough, but the room was chilly. We did enjoy the tavern located in the basement of the house, when we returned from the funeral home. It was 9 PM but they were very friendly and the onion soup and salad was very good. Breakfast in the Inn dining room was good and the fresh roses on the table were lovely.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are quieter and stay away from the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizxabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#10 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#5 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenmore Inn

Property: The Kenmore Inn
Address: 1200 Princess Anne St., Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kenmore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Fredericksburg, the Kenmore Inn (c1793) offers charm and southern hospitality in a beautiful intimate setting. Nine unique and elegantly appointed bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms await your stay. We offer complementary sherry and bottled water in each room as well as a plated breakfast for each guest in our formal dining room. Located on the lower level of the house we have a European style pub and our garden restaurant & patio serving creative contemporary foods that will please the casual or refined diner. Whether you sit on our front porch swing and enjoy a glass of Inn-made sweet tea, take a stroll to the many historic sites and antique shops in town or relax in the parlor with a good book, the Kenmore Inn is your relaxing getaway. For visitors seeking classic southern hospitality, luxury accommodations and personalized service in a premier location, this Princess Anne Street Inn offers all that and more. Come see why this historic Inn catches the admiring eye of virtually everyone who passes by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kenmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg
Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing