We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of The Kenmore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kenmore Inn
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My husband and I booked a night here during a trip around the American Civil War sites and find it hard to believe that this charming, friendly, old inn is the same place that has so disappointed some reviewers!
It was a really stand-out experience for us. And here's why:
- We received possibly the friendliest welcome of our entire trip.
- The rooms (and we looked at most of them) are decorated and equipped to a high standard with some lovely touches, like period furniture and a decanter of sherry for a pre-prandial snifter (in the jacussi bath if you like!). <Note to some other reviewers: this is an OLD inn. It has character!>
- Chef Jackie's food was truly special. We ate outside (it was uncharacteristcally un-muggy for Virginia) on the sunken patio and enjoyed a really classy baby crab cake appetiser (perfect for foodies, maybe not to a big eater's taste), fabulous pork medallions with a wild mushroom risotto and grilled asparagus, and creme brulee loaded with fresh vanilla. Lovely! Breakfast was probably the best I've eaten in America - homemade raspberry scones, homemade lemon curd, beautifully cooked and presented French toast. Plenty of food but the emphasis is on quality not simply quantity, as seems to be so often the case in the US.
- Barman Dave was as brilliant as his great little horseshoe bar in the atmospheric basement. He introduced people to each other, remembered our names, made great cocktails, and was a mine of fascinating local and historic info. Great fun.
- Pretty gardens and a swing on the porch.
Fredericksburg itself is quaint and quirky with loads of character.
We'll definitely make a special trip out there again next time we're visiting our friends near Washington. And we'll definitely stay at the Kenmore Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    54
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
31
118
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Our room was very small, the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable and the window AC blew across the bed. We didn't sleep well. A steep flight of many steps to reach the bedrooms/ second floor. Dated.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 28970Rocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

This is our second stay at the Kenmore Inn B&B. It has declined since our first visit two years ago and the building is not being kept up the way it was in the past. In spite of that, our room was OK and I would not have made a negative comment except for the food. Since I was recovering from a cold, we chose to stay in and dine in the basement restaurant. This was a big mistake. The food was awful. Our breakfast the next morning was not much better. Sad to see a lovely old inn falling on hard times. In fairness I must say that the staff were pleasant and helpful and it is hard to beat the location for proximity to historic downtown Fredericksburg and Marye's Heights. However, the prices are not cheap and you expect a little more at these rates.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnTravellerOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, WV
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

This inn is in lovely spot, near to historic downtown Fredericksburg. The room was wonderful, but very warm, even in January. The bathroom was tiny. However, the bed and pillows were fantastic and the hospitatlity was top notch. Breakfast was delicious. All in all, a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvfamily2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Called for a reservation for our anniversary to eat. They offered a quiet table overlooking the patio, said they could put a bottle of wine out with a table cloth. I really appreciated this, and added a cheese platter to be ready as well. You always wonder if they can deliver. We arrived, and not only did they deliver it was more than I could have hoped for. I thought they missed the cheese, but no, they brought it right out letting it chill while we arrived. Perfect timing between courses, not rushing the service but very attentive. There was a acoustic bluegrass band that was playing later that evening, and I asked what kind of bluegrass and mentioned a name of a artist I knew as a reference. They appeared not to know, but as we sat down the artist I mentioned came on the theater system. I thought it was possibly coincidence, but they played it a few times from a fairly unknown artist. The food was very good, cooked exactly as we asked. Traveling all over the United States and the Caribbean, it was the best dining experience I can remember.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnson_Golf_Academy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Nice large house, well maintained. Nice section of town.

Booked well in advance when all rooms were available and was told that the room I secured was second best. This was not the case. There were several larger and more appointed rooms in the front of the house, whereas, the rooms in the rear (where I stayed) were smaller uninteresting hotel sized rooms.

Stayed over Valentine's Day weekend during which they hosted a wedding during the day and had a large crowd in their dinning room for dinner. At dinner, they were out of some menu selections and food was fair. Breakfast eggs were well prepared but came with uneatable mellon and bacon.

Service was friendly but somewhat harried.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IncurableTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Traveled last minute to Fredericksburg and found this historic gem! Location was wonderful for local sightseeing. The convenience of being so close to downtown shopping and dining was fantastic but was far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle on the busy weekend evenings. We stayed in the Gardens of Belmont room and the room was immaculate and we were pleasantly surprised with a decanter of Sherry waiting for us on the dresser. The bed was clean and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was superb and the wait staff very helpful with suggestions. Morning breakfast was made to order and refreshingly delightful and prompt. We loved this Bed & Breakfast and are looking forward to another trip to Fredericksburg now.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnstar91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
330 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#5 of 41 in Fredericksburg
686 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#13 of 41 in Fredericksburg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenmore Inn

Property: The Kenmore Inn
Address: 1200 Princess Anne St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3736
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kenmore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Fredericksburg, the Kenmore Inn (c1793) offers charm and southern hospitality in a beautiful intimate setting. Nine unique and elegantly appointed bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms await your stay. We offer complementary sherry and bottled water in each room as well as a plated breakfast for each guest in our formal dining room. Located on the lower level of the house we have a European style pub and our garden restaurant & patio serving creative contemporary foods that will please the casual or refined diner. Whether you sit on our front porch swing and enjoy a glass of Inn-made sweet tea, take a stroll to the many historic sites and antique shops in town or relax in the parlor with a good book, the Kenmore Inn is your relaxing getaway. For visitors seeking classic southern hospitality, luxury accommodations and personalized service in a premier location, this Princess Anne Street Inn offers all that and more. Come see why this historic Inn catches the admiring eye of virtually everyone who passes by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kenmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg
Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing