We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dunning Mills Inn

Dunning Mills Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dunning Mills Inn to your Saves list
Dunning Mills Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   2305 Jefferson Davis Highway, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Spotsylvania, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Well I will begin by saying I thought this was a nice place to stay, boy was I wrong!!!!!!! I made reservations a couple days in advance for a nonsmoking room. When I arrived my room wasnt ready, so they gave me an alternate room wich stanked of cigarette smoke, the toilet was backed up and no toilet paper! Well it all started with our card not being able to open the door, and they gave us a replacement card that finally worked after several attempts! Well me and my husband decided to go sightseeing for the evening and when we came back that night, the card to the door didn't work! The office had closed and there was no way to get in touch with anyone! And it was freezing cold outside with snow on the ground. At this point I was pissed, all our things were locked in the room and I had to search the city for another hotelroom and pay once again for a room and we were TIRED! When the next morning arrived we went back in to complain and explain the problem, the management told us we were liars and we werent getting a refund! This place is the worst I will never stay here again and you shouldnt stay here either!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank xtcluvr28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    2
    8
See reviews for
1
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
auburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Incompetent, unscrupulous... or worse ... I made a reservation and then I canceled online 5 days before my intended stay. Despite having canceled, I received a phone call at midnight, waking me up, to tell me that they were going to bill my credit card even though I had canceled!!!!‎

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank gg136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

The location is at the edge of town. The facility is very much in need of repair. The rooms were adequate size but lumpy bed and older furnishings. Suggest to pay more for a better place. We would not stay here again.

No breakfast is served and only coffee at 8 A.M.

The gas stqtion a block away has a coffee bar and the coffee was good & fresh.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moving Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo, michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

This was, without a doubt, the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my entire life. We made reservations online based on descriptions and pictures of this "three star" hotel. To call it a three star hotel is like calling McDonald's fine dining. The rooms were filthy. The furniture was old and dirty to where we would not sit on it. The refrigerator had old food left in it. There was not enough hot water for two showers. I'll spare you the gruesome details of what was on the bathroom walls. The television remote was cracked and held together by tape that was just plain gross. The wash cloths provided wouldn't qualify for most peoples rag drawer. There was literally holes in the wall. The final straw was finding out late Saturday night when we arrived back to our room that room service is NOT PROVIDED ON WEEKENDS AND LINENS ARE ONLY CHANGED ONCE A WEEK. Made us wonder if they were clean when we arrived. None of this is disclosed ahead of time. It was found posted in the room. And yes, the room literally stunk. This hotel should be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kuhvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

The photos on the Dunning Mills web site make it look like a nice place...photos are not like the real place! There was a horrible smoke, mildew and roach spray smell in the rooms. We emptied can after can of air freshener and Febreze to get the rooms to a tolerable state.

Old, broken down appliances, dirty carpets and garbage collecting outside of doors made for a nasty experience. No room service to think of...none on the weekends at all.

Bees and wasps in the bushes made it a little frightening.

Except for the chlorinated pool, the place is filthy, folks. Spend the extra few bucks and go somewhere else!

  • Liked — Good Pool, Decent Beds
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank dwwall_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

My family has stayed at Dunning Mills Inn for roughly two months a year for the past seven years. We could stay at other places while in Fredericksburg, but always end up at Dunning Mills because of our relationship with the management. She has always gone out of her way to help us to feel welcome and at home. Dunning Mills is conveniently located for shopping as it is between Central Park and Cosner's Corner. Also, it is close to downtown Fredericksburg which makes it extra nice for my family. Blessings.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ChampionsForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

I dont know where to start. This property is sort of a "catch all" when all of the nicer "long Term " hotels are full or too expensive. This works out well for the "management" who title themselves this ...... they own the place folks! Generally "management" applied for and earned this title, and have to answer to someone above them. Not this manager! They also own 3 very very NICE long term stay hotels in the area. Dunning mills is the bottom of the barrel . it is the least expnensive and you get what you pay for. This is the kind of place that you have to go in and be very sure that you want to stay , because you will not and I repeat WILL NOT get a refund even after only 10 minutes of leaving the lobby with the key. every other day my key cards for the room would not work. there is remodeling going on all night long. and not by respectable companies. but instead they are guys beating and banging and drinking beer all night. This is a party place for locals and the out of towners just get fooled! The owner pushes the housekeeping to work fast ( as to keep payroll low of course) and this shows that's for sure. This is America and this motel has the right to operate any way it wants to, and i have the right to spread the word too about how i feel. I was described the property on the phone by the Manager Herself, WOW what a surprise i got .On the 4 day of my stay i was coming back to the hotel after a hard day with the mortgage people and just as i entered the property was a woman going from one room to another completely topless!!! The room was just so outdated and dirty. Not the kind of dirt that a housekeeper can clean in a rush, this property needs serious work. and one very inportant thing that i cant leave out. I would advise that you do not bring a whole lot of luggage and packed items....... believe me you will leave with a few critters if you know what i mean. I was told that an exterminator comes on a regular basis, i saw way too many bugs for this to be true.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jwrrlr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Value Place Fredericksburg
Value Place Fredericksburg
#20 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
#4 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Hospitality House and Conf Center
Fredericksburg Hospitality House...
#19 of 42 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
#24 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#3 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
4.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Fredericksburg North
Americas Best Value Inn - Freder...
#29 of 42 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunning Mills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunning Mills Inn

Property: Dunning Mills Inn
Address: 2305 Jefferson Davis Highway, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunning Mills Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunning Mills Inn (DMI) is all-suite, extended stay specialist hotel nestled in a quite wooded area in the city of Fredericksburg and state of Virginia. DMI offers a spacious suite with a bedroom-living area, dining area,bathroom, and a fully equipped kitchen.Hotel is located I-95 exit 130A tO Route 1 south, right 1 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Dunning Mills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunning Mills Hotel
Dunning Mills Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing