We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay! But not so good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good stay! But not so good breakfast”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My family had a good stay at the holiday inn express. And front desk attendant and all staff I encountered were all very professional and friendly! Hotel room was clean and comfortable! It was enjoyable! But I felt the breakfast lacked the holiday inn express standards, I love staying at holiday inn express because they are always so clean and comfortable and always has good breakfast!, this hotel does too! Besides the breakfast, the eggs had a funny tast , they didn't have any of the cinnamon rolls, and they didn't bring anymore bacon out so we didn't get that much, and they ran out of toast and bagels and muffins, and didn't refill, the only good thing was the pancake machine! Iv been at many holiday inn expresses , but this one's has to be the worst breakfast iv seen! But besides the breakfast this hotel was clean and comfortable and with very friendly employees! I will most definitely be staying at the hotel again if I'm in the area!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased that most aspects of your stay were enjoyable and we appreciate your compliments on our cleanliness and great staff. Your comment that you “will most definitely be staying at the hotel again” is one of the greatest compliments you can give us and we thank you for it.
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the selection of foods offered on our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Most of our guests are pleased with the breakfast, as noted in other reviews – we do apologize that the offerings during your stay failed to meet the standards we strive for.
Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    40
    25
    15
    10
See reviews for
43
49
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The rooms where average, looks like Holiday Inn did not spend much on renovation before taking it over from Comfort Inn. The check-in was fine, Breakfast was not as good as other hotels we have been at, they only had orange and apple, other hotel had melon, banana to offer.
The sausage tasted like microwave prepared and not skillet. The staff looked like struggled to keep up with replenishing the food, unfortunate, looks like on that day they needed help.
There was plenty of rooms at the breakfast area, it still a good idea to split up and save an open table. The cable channel are limited and it was very annoying in that Fox News was not available, I channel surfed and MSNBC as well. I called down and was informed that they did not take that package from Comcast. I am thinking that who-ever decided which package to take from Comcast figured CNN was the middle of the ground. Sure take a leftist new channel and deny folks that was staying Fox News and MSNBC, To me it not up to the hotel to determine which new outlet the folks staying there should watch, they should offer the typical channels one sees in other hotels for news.

Room Tip: choose a lower floor, the elevator are very slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_Q_group
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. We want all our guests to have a great stay where everything exceeds their expectations so we are very sorry to hear about the disappointments you encountered during your stay.
As mentioned in other reviews, most of our guests are pleased with our complimentary breakfast buffet. Our hotel strives to adhere not only to internal hotel breakfast standards, but also to those set forth by the franchise in providing a plentiful and fresh buffet. We apologize that the offerings during your stay were not satisfactory.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the cable channel selection. We take all guest feedback very seriously and are in the process of researching the possibility of expanding the selection of channels we offer. Thank you for caring enough to provide us with feedback.
Thank you for being our guest. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2014

After been stuck in traffic and having a stressful day i was greeted at the holiday inn express like i have know them for years let me tell you !!!! Xiushka And Mary war very pleasant with such a speedy check in and it seems like they knew their jobs very well their so wonderful and amazing young lady's they need to recognize for such a good job ! after seedling in our room we asked them for some restaurants around the area and they both agreed on "el charro ! " and that was the best Mexican restaurant i have eaten in!

Room Tip: if your around frederickburgs stay in this hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stepany g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. It is our goal to welcome each of our guests as if they were a guest in our own home and it is a pleasure to hear that you were welcomed in that way upon arriving after being stuck in traffic.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the friendly service of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We needed a pet friendly hotel and this was the best I have been too. We stayed here for a night on our way back home. I was told this hotel was about a year old and it was gorgeous. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was delicious, and it was in a great location. There were a lot of different food choices in the area. If Holiday Inn Express would make all their hotels pet friendly, you would make me a fan for life. Based on the other hotels we stayed at, this was head and shoulders above the rest. A big shoutout to Benjamin for getting us there off the highway during a torrential thunder & lightening storm.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sobigs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint. We are delighted with your comments about our gorgeous hotel, plentiful complimentary breakfast buffet and friendly staff.
It is our pleasure to be a pet friendly hotel. We know how important it is to find quality lodging when traveling with a pet. After all, pets are part of the family!
Thank you for trusting us with your hotel needs. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We've stopped here many times on our trek to NC throughout the years and like the convenient location. They've been doing renos for the last couple years and the breakfast and indoor pool areas are really nice. They even have a nice patio off both to enjoy the weather at night after a long drive or with your breakfast.

But with all that said, there were done serious negatives in service. Our first room on our trek down (6/28) was 200 - the noise from the elevator, two sets of stairs and patio was an annoyance. If you really need an early nights rest for the next days drive, ask for ones further down the hall or higher floor. On our trip back up (7/6) the front desk tried to give us 202. When I tried to request another room because of the noise, the girl at the front desk looked confused (patio? Yes the hotel has a patio). So I gave up and just hoped it would be more quiet on a Sunday night. Well it got worse, the room she gave us was not cleaned (sheets completely pulled down and used cups everywhere). When we returned, she laughed it off which made me question the service at the hotel even more. Anyways, I guess you can't expect much for a one night stay on a road trip but giving out an uncleaned room and not seeing that as a problem is enough for me to use a different hotel next time. There's plenty around the exit to enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback on your most recent stay at our hotel. It is never easy to receive less-than-complimentary feedback, but it is especially disheartening when a guest who has stayed with us many times in the past and has chosen to return time and time again has a disappointing experience. As noted in other reviews, we are typically known for our friendly and helpful staff. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards that evening. We have taken your comments to heart and redoubled our efforts at staff training to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future.
We never want to hear that a guest selects and alternate hotel and we hope you will give us the opportunity to replace this experience with a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Last Friday, June 27, 2014, our car had engine trouble on the way to a NC beach. Ben and Mary were amazingly kind to us. They allowed us to wait in the business section until help arrived and put a room on hold for us. Ben offered us coffee and Mary helped us finalize the room arrangements.




Ben even called to cancel our room at the Roanoke Rapids, NC Holiday Inn Express, as there was no way we would make it there that evening. He made sure we were not charged and received the conformation number of the cancelation. Later, he gave us recommendations of where to host our help ( a couple friend- the husband happens to be a mechanic who fixed our car). Our room was lovely and we drove off the next day to have a lovely vacation.




Ben and Mary were like angels that appeared just as we had given up all hope. I'd like to thank them and thank you for having the foresight to employ such compassionate and competent people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seashelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
It is our goal to welcome each of our guests as we would a guest in our own home and it is truly delightful to hear that you were welcomed in this way during your recent experience while traveling. We are very sorry for the unfortunate circumstances that brought you to our hotel, but it was our pleasure to help you out in any way that we could. We are glad that you eventually made it safely to your destination and that you enjoyed your time with us in the meantime.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope we have won your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My wife and i desperately needed a break. We just had to put my Dad in a Nursing Home and the family stress has been quite challenging to say the least. We were rapidly becoming well over-stressed. I spent much time searching for a place to go and finally decided on this location for a two day retreat. WOW. We couldn't have found any better place. We were greeted with the most precious sweet mannered receptionist, Melissa Pendleton. Couldn't ask for any greater service. Very friendly staff all around. Great atmosphere, great hot/cold breakfast. First impressions are everything and Melissa definitely made us feel welcomed and confident that we were in the right place. We will be repeat customers and pass on the word to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Robert,
Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint and for this heartwarming review of your recent stay. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your wife as our guests and we are delighted that we were able to offer you a bit of refuge from the difficulties you have been facing recently. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and your recommendation to other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sarah H.
Guest Relations
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
#26 of 42 in Fredericksburg
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#13 of 42 in Fredericksburg
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Southpoint
Sleep Inn Southpoint
#17 of 42 in Fredericksburg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#12 of 42 in Fredericksburg
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Fredericksburg South
Comfort Suites Fredericksburg So...
#14 of 42 in Fredericksburg
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fredericksburg
TownePlace Suites Fredericksburg
#18 of 42 in Fredericksburg
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint

Property: Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint
Address: 5422 Jefferson Davis Hwy., Fredericksburg, VA 22407 (Formerly Comfort Inn Southpoint)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express ® Fredericksburg Southpoint, located just off of I-95 at exit #126 on Jefferson Davis Highway.Our hotel offers a convenient location near all of the Fredericksburg attractions! Civil War enthusiasts can explore Chancellorsville Battlefield, Fredericksburg Battlefield, Wilderness Battlefield and Spotsylvania Battlefield. Other Fredericksburg attractions include George Washington’s Ferry Farm and Kenmore Plantation. Located between Washington D.C. and Richmond , our hotel is the perfect stopping point for exploring these great cities! Shopping enthusiasts will enjoy exploring Old Town Fredericksburg, with more than 100 boutiques and art galleries. Central Park offers more than 200 retailers and a movie theater. Wine, Hops and Spirits lovers can live it up at A. Smith Bowman Distillery, Blue and Gray Brewing Company and Lake Anna Winery. Recreation nearby includes Lake Anna State Park and Lee’s Hill Golf Club. Liberty Lanes Bowling Alley and Comedy Club are just ½ mile from hotel. Kings Dominion is just 29 miles from our hotel. Our Fredericksburg hotel is near businesses such as the University of Mary Washington, A-T Solutions, UPS and Providence Service Corporation. We are also within 35 miles of the North Anna Power Station, Quantico Marine Base and Fort A.P. Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Southpoint Hotel Fredericksburg
Comfort Inn Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing