We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”
Review of Econo Lodge South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Econo Lodge South
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This place is very rundown. There's not one part of it that doesn't need renovating. I appreciate it's a budget hotel but there is a lot better available for the money. The room was dirty and in very poor state of repair. The bathroom was in a real state with stained bath and shower which had a lot of someone's hair in the bath sink and floor.
The furniture is ready for the dumpster and the TV which had lots of channels had such a poor picture it was unwatchable.
The lady at the desk was friendly and helpful though but that is as much I can say about the place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickBarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    12
    13
    27
See reviews for
18
12
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
antigonish
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and i were traveling north and were tired so we pulled off 95 and went to the Econo with our coupon.Looking around before i went in the office should have been a warning.To cut to the chase it was probably the worse motel we ever stayed in.The room was fairly clean,but the pool was broking there were scary people walking around outside.The place in general was a dump where families and people on public assistance lived.I found that out going to the place set up for breakfast.No one bothered us but it had a very uncomfortable presence and needless to say no matter how tired i am will never go back.

Room Tip: Tip stay away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southland33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I called the hotel direct and was told handicap assessable room was not offered for coupon discount. The rate quoted was $52.99, when I contacted central reservations they offered a senior discount for the same room $47.99. Apparently you can't get the senior discount unless you book with central reservations. When we arrived at the room the assessable ramp was covered with ice and snow. After we got to the room and call they did send someone to clear it but it should have been done in advance. The bathroom is larger than most regular baths but tub is not very assessable for those mobility difficulties no seat but it does have grab bars. Instead of a high rise toilet they have a separate riser which wasn't clean. I carry Lysol wipes so I cleaned it myself! Overall the room is shabby with a strange odor but appears clean. We just get so frustrated with what is available for those traveling with mobility challenges.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceSTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynantskill, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

OMG...this hotel is beyond disgusting....My family and I chose to stay as they were the only hotel in the area that would let us check in after 7am and stay until the next day. My family and I were on the way to Disney from NY and were beyond tired. The rooms wrecked of mold, mildew and stale smoke. The paint is chipping everywhere, holes in walls, rugs dirty and un-cleaned and peeling shower. The breakfast is a joke. Stale bread, warm milk, boiled eggs and a creepy un kept lady making subpar waffles with one bottle of syrup. Donuts were stale and the juice machine was dirty. I took my kids to McDonalds to let then run around, my husband called frantically reporting, our neighbors (who appeared to be living there) smoking marijuana (with their small children) next door, there was a crowd you could hear thru the adjoining door speaking on their marijuana stash and where to hide it if the Police came. There were also hookers walking the sidewalks and their pimps screaming at them. Many different Jons in and out of the parking lot consistently. I drove back picked up my husband, we didn't even let the kids out of the car. I was going to complain to the management, however on our way out, they were outside smoking cigarettes with them,,,,,Other patrons report stabbings and drug wars between the buildings...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JCBartlett05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I checked in too tired to look around, although I did notice the place was old and beat. The two persons manning the counter were very pleasant. Also, my linens were clean and freshly laundered. After I a meal I brought with me, I went to sleep. It wasn't til the morning that I saw the "one" cockroach (there's no such thing as just one of those).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Snydley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I try to stay at Choice hotels whenever I can. I know that the Econo Lodge motels are low on the food chain, but I never expected such a terrible property. The carpet wasn't vacuumed and the tile was sticky. When I found cigarette ashes on the toilet, I went in search of a housekeeper. Her cart was two doors down, but she was nowhere to be found. As I plucked the bottle of cleaner and a rag from her cart, I spotted a cockroach on the window of the unit next door. Good grief.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My friend and I checked into this hotel early hours of the morning following a long drive from Florida. The woman on the reception was hostile, abrupt and unwelcoming. We were unhappy to find the room extremely hot and smelling like urine. We put the air conditioning on which helped a little but it was not a nice welcome to our room. Spoke to reception and they put the phone down on me!

However, the real problem that we encountered during our stay was that from 9am we were harassed on 3 occasions by housekeeping who kept knocking on our door. When check out is at 11am I cannot understand why they are allowed to do this? After the first time it happened I put the do not disturb sign on, but 30 minutes later it happened again, and shortly before 11am a women opened the door and entered our room which is a complete invasion of privacy.

Overall, we were displeased with our room for many reasons. There was no hair dryer so I left with wet hair, my friend couldn't iron his shirt as the iron was missing- these are all facilities that are offered included in the room.

When I spoke with the receptionist in the morning she raised her voice at me, making excuses that people steal items and we should have called reception to borrow anything we wanted, despite the extra inconvenience. However I informed her of the issue with housekeeping and he admitted that this is a common problem and did apologise, finally. I asked to speak to a manager but apparently there wasn't one on site. I was given a business card to contact Anisha Patel as the manager.

I ended up emailing her and she offered no apology and said it was our fault for having housekeeping enter our room as the do not disturb sign wasnt on. I put it on myself so i know it was. Anisha was rude, threatening, and had no social skills whatsoever as a manager! She even went as far a to lie saying she was there when we checked out! if that was the case why was given a business card and told no manager was on site!

I was given no apology and no offer of compensation for the awful experience we had. Worst hotel and business i have ever dealt with. Would never use an Econolodge ever again because of how badly the issue was dealt with. I wouldn't expect this treatment in any hotel/motel whatever price you pay - it should alway be about customer service and this place lacks it completely! Well deserve a 0 point but its but unfortunately it's not an option!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveljunkie151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frederick...
#17 of 41 in Fredericksburg
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
#25 of 41 in Fredericksburg
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksbu...
#22 of 41 in Fredericksburg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fredericksburg
TownePlace Suites Fredericksburg
#18 of 41 in Fredericksburg
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Fredericksburg South
Comfort Suites Fredericksburg So...
#15 of 41 in Fredericksburg
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Property: Econo Lodge South
Address: 5321 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Fredericksburg, VA 22408-2607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For great rooms at an affordable price, Super Value Inn Near Fredericksburg Battlefield is the perfect place to call home during your next business or leisure trip to this historic area. Our hotel is pet-friendly, and you’ll find many popular restaurants, shops, and attractions nearby. There’s so much to see and do in Fredericksburg, and our complimentary breakfast buffet will give you the energy you need to start your day right. With free Wi-Fi, you can easily stay connected to the office or family back home. We also have a meeting room for up to 50, guest laundry facilities, and a sparkling outdoor pool. Every comfortable, quiet room at Super Value Inn features an expanded cable package, as well as a microwave and refrigerator. If you need to be up early, we’re happy to provide friendly wake-up services. For your next trip to Fredericksburg, make your stay a memorable one at Super Value Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Hotel Fredericksburg
Econo Lodge Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing