We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice motel but dear Lord, the traffic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn near Historic Downtown
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Beattyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
162 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice motel but dear Lord, the traffic”
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The motel itself is nice. Clean and spacious rooms, good wi-fi service, good breakfast, parking outside the door, but the worst thing about the place is just how bad the traffic is on US 17 outside the place. This is located near the US 17-Interstate 95 interchange and traffic southbound on 17 was backed up when I arrived, making getting out of the parking lot difficult, especially since i wanted to turn left across traffic to head to Walmart. Plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby, a decent rate ... overall not a bad place to stay when the traffic isn't dog-knotted outside. That traffic is why I could only give a "2" out of "5" for location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millenniumhwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    56
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
44
45
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We used a coupon from one of those books at the VA welcome center. My BF and I needed a room for the night on our way to NC. This was a convenient location off the freeway. At check in I requested extra towels, they were not delivered. I found dead bugs in the bathroom and lack of water pressure in the shower. The bathroom sink would not drain. But the kicker was the door lock. I had to open and close the door several times to get t to lock properly. The cement stairs outside were in poor condition and very cracked; a safety hazard. The continental breakfast was adequate. The egg patties tasted terrible, like they were nuked too long. At check out my BF stated the complaints and the manager decided not to charge us for the night. I think he just wanted to get rid of us. I have always enjoyed staying at CHOICE branded motels, but this was the pits and I probably will rethink my choices next time I travel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happymom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel several times. With every stay it gets better and better. The cleanliness is top notch!!! The breakfast has gotten alot better over the years and the staff is great as well. This is one of the few places around the area that accepts pets. The pillows and beds are better than my own at my house. It is also nice to find a place that is smoke free!! There is also a pizza place within walking distance. Good Food! The price is unbeatable for the quality that you get here. I would recommend this place to anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahotelemployee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one night on Friday, January 15, 2010. The front desk receptionist was friendly, but was unable to provide me with a complimentary disposable comb, which is a standard amenity at Choice Hotels, because they had "run out". The rooms are small and the water pressure in the showers is weak. The hotel is located at the intersection of two major roads, and you could hear loud traffic noise all night even in my room, which was located on the second floor as far back from the road as possible. It disturbed my sleep, and I am a frequent traveler. The provided continental breakfast is very basic, and the lobby is small so it is crowded and difficult to reach the food around other people who are also trying to get breakfast.

None of the above would have mattered much to me since I was only there for one night, except for the fact that the hotel made an extra charge to my credit card without informing me. When I noticed it on my account statement, I called the front desk. They said the charge was because of a "missing towel and washcloth". I have stayed in many hotels across the country, especially Comfort Inn which is also a Choice Hotel, and I have never been accused of stealing a towel. I travel alone and always do a thorough check to make sure I take nothing by accident and leave nothing by accident. There is no chance I could have taken those items, but I was charged anyway. The receptionist told me the general manager of the hotel would call me back in a minute or two to resolve the issue, but I never received a return phone call, ever. I was forced to dispute the bill with my credit card company. Save yourself the hassle and pay a fair price for a fair room. At this hotel they will nickel and dime you and even try to steal from you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stjdv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed overnight after the 2009 Christmas holidays. Traffic was crazy on I-95, and we couldn't continue south without some sleep. We paid $58 with a coupon out of a booklet we picked up at a rest stop right before exiting for the hotel. Room access via an outside corridor. The bed was comfortable, albeit on the soft side. The room was exceptionally clean. It was spotless, especially the bathroom. Plenty of hot water. The buffet hot breakfast was a nice touch, served in a cheerful room/lobby. Expect bagels, muffins, biscuits, juices, etc... Location is excellent - about a 1/2 mile off the exit. Road noise was minimal. We didn't hear noise from neighboring rooms. A/C and heat are an individual unit, rather than temperature being controlled by a wall-mounted thermostat. You get 20% all meals at Bob Evans and other close-by restaurants by showing your room key. Front desk staff was cheerful. All and all, it was a restful place to spend the night after a day of driving.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassypantsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Last weekend we were attending the family engagement function in Fredericksburg and we had room arranged by the groom side of the family at Quality Inn. I must tell you that check in was a smooth, desk person was very helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. We got in to the room and very surprise that rooms are decorative and very very clean and comfortable. Our room had a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. The beds were some of the best we have slept in. Breakfast was tasty and just what we needed. Staff was cordial and helpful.
Conclusion: All in all, we highly recommend the Quality Inn if you need to stay Fredericksburg, VA. There are many other options, but even if there were, we’d still suggest this hotel

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BobPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Came to this hotel while traveling from Western NY to Outer Banks. Location worked well as we just neeeded a place to overnight before jumping on the I-95. Room was clean and it appeared the carpet and wallpaper were fairly fresh. Furniture and tv were standard and plain. Price was right at about $67 for this "outside door" motel. We arrived at 10 pm and though we only able to get a room with two "small" double beds the staff was very freindly and accomodating. Hotels in the surrounding plaza were about twice the cost. No problem with water pressure as previous review noted. Simple yet nice continental breakfast area to get us going. Would recommend as a clean, economical place to crash the night.

  • Liked — Location, price and staff
  • Disliked — Small beds / plain furniture
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kandlsheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#25 of 42 in Fredericksburg
172 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Fredericksburg, Central Park Area
Quality Inn Fredericksburg, Cent...
#22 of 42 in Fredericksburg
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#5 of 42 in Fredericksburg
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Fredericksburg North
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#33 of 42 in Fredericksburg
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn near Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn near Historic Downtown

Property: Quality Inn near Historic Downtown
Address: 543 Warrenton Road, Fredericksburg, VA 22406-1025 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn near Historic Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 percent non-smoking hotel. Hotel is minutes from the historic district and close to the University of Mary Washington, Mary Washington Hospital, Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park, Chancellorsville Battlefield and Paramount's Kings Dominion. Additional points of interest nearby include historic Kenmore and George Washington's Ferry Farm, James Monroe Museum and Memorial Library, Wilderness Battlefield, Spotsylvania Courthouse, Fredericksburg Area Museum and Cultural Center and Civil War Life - The Soldiers' Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn near Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing