We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality of food was very disappointing.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #107 of 426 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
“Quality of food was very disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

The quality of food was poor. It tasted like it came out of a microwave. Calamari was huge and overly-breaded. Crab dip was too salty and just mushy. My 12 year-old son enjoyed his clam chowder but my husband didn't like it. Service was good and friendly, but we will never eat there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmh1961esh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    39
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grottoes, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not as good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

For some reason the food here wasn't as good as other locations we've visited. The servings were much smaller portions. The steam pots barely had any crab legs. And the fish and chips seemed soggy. For the $$ we felt like we didn't get what we paid for. Staff was very friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LOVINITNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“small portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The drinks are very good there as are the appetizers.... but the steam pots lack a good portion of food..... my husband ordered the artic pot steamer and his had a total of 2 queen crab legs... not clusters a total of 2 whole legs.... lobster over done.... my steam pots had 2 snow crab legs... like my husbands queen crab and my potatoes were semi raw..... not worth the hour and half drive and not going back

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently Wonderful Experience all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The only inconsistent thing about visiting Joes Crab Shack is where you get to sit, otherwise it's consistently a wonderful experience. From the moment the staff open the door to welcome you in till they open the door to let you leave- service is wonderful, and food is great. All time favorite is their Fried Calamari and their Mussels...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Islandburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not all it's cracked up to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We thought we would see what all the fuss was about since we don't have one of these back home in New England. The crab buckets were grossly overpriced and the atmosphere was annoyingly noisy. I chose a dish which was to have stuffed shrimp but was disappointed that they were only the size of my pinky finger. Overall, this is more of kitzy chain with just so so seafood.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MalGregoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, VA
Fredericksburg, VA
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing