We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Holiday Inn staff was very accommodating; the room was comfortable and very clean; the hotel is located right in front of a train line; and the overall stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiguelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGuestServiceManage, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Thank you for your review. I am glad that our staff was able to accommodate all of your needs. Our proximity to the train makes it easy for business travelers to attend meetings all around Boston and the surrounding suburbs. We truly look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 708 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2010

I say up front...2 stars is a little low for this place...I'd say 2.5 stars is more about right...but the place was definitely more bad than good, and I felt my review warranted the 2 vs 3 star rating.

First of all, the room was bizarre. It was inside a building...yet had a window overlooking the hallway? Very odd. No matter what. you did, there was always a sliver of light coming through that window overnight (they kept the lights on bull blast all night), and you heard people walking down the hallway. I was woken up a number of times on account of this,

The bathroom was terribly small. I mean, obnoxiously small. It was reminiscent of a cruise ship bathroom. No bathtub. And my standup shower was clogged so I had about 5 minutes MAX to shower before it would overflow onto the bathroom floor.

Location is good...nice part of town. Staff was generally friendly. No complaints there.

All told...this wasn't a "bad" hotel. But it was probably the most expensive holiday inn I have ever stayed at, and I expected more given what I paid.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travisG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGuestServiceManage, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Thank you for your review. The layout of our hotel is unique with rooms that face the interior of the hotel. However, our executive tower rooms offer views of Beacon Street and St. Paul Street. Also, the bathrooms in our executive tower would have a bathtub to accommodate your needs. I will work with my staff so this is better explained in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We have stayed at this property on other occasions over the years for family events. The rooms are pleasant, clean and the location on the T green line is excellent. Neighborhood residential and quiet.

The staff is friendly but ineffective and don't really seem to comprehend service other than to tell you that they are sorry. we specifically booked this hotel because they had connecting rooms for two adults and two teenagers. I confirmed the request twice and then a third time prior to check in. Upon arrival @ 0100AM, they said nothing and sent us to two rooms which were not connected. Sorry about that; maybe tomorrow we can switch you, but didn't. The next AM, spoke to a manager who also apologized but offered nothing as an accommodation for their inability to deliver.

Called from the room to the desk, no answer on multiple tries. You needed to put a card in the garage gate to exit, did not work on Saturday and in spite of the fact that they knew it was broken, left the gate down and had to buzz them several times just to leave the garage.

Reasonable small hotel with a nice breakfast buffet except the omelet guy vanished for a long time, French toast ran out and after telling someone twice, they brought more as we were finishing breakfast (I think you are supposed to monitor the buffet so that the food does not run out)

If they could just generate some customer service get it done, would be a much better place

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGuestServiceManage, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Thank you for your review. I apologize for any inconvenience you faced while staying with us. We always appreciate feedback from our guests because it allows us to improve the quality of service each day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Fantastic location right on the subway line which is the best way to get around Boston. Situated on a beautiful tree lined street close to restaurants. Staff were incredibly helpful in suggesting places to shop and sightsee. The room and bathroom was on the small side but clean and the pillows were to die for.

Easy access via subway to airport, downtown, the beach (wow!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGuestServiceManage, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed our location. The Coolidge Corner neighborhood is just a few blocks up the street and has great shops and restaurants. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our complimentary Wi-Fi and business center access. We also have a fitness center, a putting green, a life-size chess board, a pool and hot tub which are all complimentary. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

The hotel is very nice but the service received during dinner was very poor. Everybody was whinging about waiting, some for over an hour to get served! If your in a location with little to no restaurants nearby and the hotel is booked out, you put more than 2 wait staff on at dinner. Service was pathetic.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidOneTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGuestServiceManage, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you for your review. I apologize for your wait at dinner during your stay. We have addressed this issue and have made the necessary schedule changes to avoid the same mistake in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

This hotel's location is the best of any around. It's across the street from a T stop, walking distance to Fenway Park, and near Coolidge Corner where there are lots of wonderful restaurants. However, the hotel itself is badly in need of an upgrade. Our room was fine, with updated bedding, etc. but the bathroom was seedy and impractical in so many ways that a newer hotel is not. Their contractor used dark brown grout to seal around the tile flooring and it looked like mud. The wallpaper looked almost new until your eye was drawn down to that ugly grout, where it peeled. The showerheads were great but there were not enough hooks or towel racks in the bathroom to hang your wet towel and clothing on. There was absolutely no ventilation in the bathroom so it remained damp most of the time.

When we arrived, they tried to put us on the ground floor, which is literally on the same level as the pool, which by the way you can't get into without reaching your hand through the metal gate to unlock it from the inside. We requested a quieter room on an upper floor, and were satisfied to be placed on the second floor away from the central lobby. The overall lighting inside the building is dark and cave like. You feel like you've stepped back in time because everything is so dated. The ground floor has the restaurant which is separated from the rest of the cavernous ground floor area with cutesy fencing. It doesn't feel like it belongs there, obviously placed there as an afterthought.

The front lobby is bustling with customers since this is the only real hotel around. If you enter through the side door from the street you are likely to meet all kinds of partiers because the room downstairs is constantly being used for bat mitvahs, birthday parties and wedding parties. The guests spill out into the hallway which is a strange juxtaposition of drunks and children. The door is too close to the party room...

The only other choice we found for places to stay in this area were B&Bs that could not accommodate our teenager, although they were not much more expensive. However, if we travel without or teenager to this area again, we will definitely stay at one of the lovely B&Bs in the neighborhood and not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrimeinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGuestServiceManage, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you for your review. Our location is ideal being across the street from a "T" stop that will take you right to downtown Boston, and walking distance to Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Newbury Street and Coolidge Corner. The layout of our hotel is unique with some rooms that face Beacon St, St. Paul St and some that face the interior of the hotel. We have addressed the lighting concern in the interior facing guest rooms by installing 41K bulbs in the rooms and the bathrooms. I am glad that we were able to upgrade you during your stay. We always upgrade our guests when we have the availability. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Our last minute vacation left no time to pre-plan accommodations. We selected Holiday Inn Brookline based on availability. The front desk staff was knowledgeable and friendly - assisting us with transit details to all of Bostons sites, recommending local restaurants within a safe walking distance, and getting to Fenway Park - also within walking distance. The breakfast buffet was always fresh, and the breakfast menu to select something different was awesome, staff friendly too. The room was clean and well maintained, as was the entire hotel. Like all travelers, we too were concerned with the recent news of a bedbug epidemic, but we knew our room and the hotel was not infested, and showed no evidence it had been. Smart travelers know the signs and what to look for upon entering a room. Being there 5 days we never saw or heard anyone complain about the hotel, rooms or staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnegan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGuestServiceManage, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you so much for your review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. It is our pleasure to accommodate all of our guest's needs and we are proud that all of our staff provided you with great service. As you discovered during your visit, though we are just outside of Boston, we are located within a short walking distance from many of Boston's major sites. I am happy that our front desk team was able to help you with directions to downtown Boston and Fenway Park. I look forward to you staying with us next time you are in Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#11 of 84 in Boston
2,339 reviews
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 19 in Cambridge
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston Brookline

Address: 1200 Beacon St, Brookline, MA 02446-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Price Range: $95 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston Brookline 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel is located just minutes from downtown Boston amidst the charming brownstones and tree-lined streets of historic Brookline. Our hotel is near Boston University, Boston College, Hynes Convention Center, Fenway Park (home of the Boston Red Sox) and many Boston Hospitals, including Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Dana Farber Cancer Institute. The hotel offers free shuttle service to the Longwood Medical Area.The Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline has a beautiful hotel lounge and restaurant with room service located on our first floor serving you in our 6-story atrium under umbrellas and arches central to our indoor heated pool. This 225 room, pet-friendly Boston hotel also offers free Wi-Fi, fitness room, guest laundry and dry cleaning services, bell service, and an on-site parking garage. Planning a Boston wedding reception, event, or corporate meeting? Let the Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel be your event venue. Our hotel has 4 large hotel meeting rooms accommodating 4 to 400 guests. We have a dedicated and friendly staff here to assist you with all of your event planning needs. Discover all Boston has to offer at the Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Holiday Inn Brookline
Brookline Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing