We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A no frills hotel in a very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We're home now after a 4 night stay at the Holiday Inn in Brookline . We were very satisfied with the hotel . Our room was on the ground floor , first floor as you would say in USA , facing out onto Beacon Street with the walkway to the rooms in between . So not the most scenic view !

We are a family of four , our sons are 18 and 22 , but we found the room easily big enough for us . The AC was extremely noisy , lucky the temperature was not too hot so we were able to switch it off at nights . No other grumbles about the room , we were well supplied with towels etc and the room was always cleaned nicely when we were out . I was a bit surprised that bars of soap were being used , thought everyone uses liquid soap now .

We only ate breakfast once . It was a bit pricey and I wasn't too impressed with what was on offer . No cereals and not a great selection of pastries . In fairness my wife and sons who tend to enjoy a fried breakfast more than me were happy with the hot food available . No complaints about the friendliness of the staff either .

For exploring Boston it's a perfect hotel to stay in . The tram stop is right outside and you are downtown in 10/15 minutes . A taxi trip back from downtown cost about 15 dollars .

Coolidge Corner is a couple of blocks from the hotel and is well worth a visit , some interesting shops and nice restaurants and JFK's birthplace is there too .

For the runners out there a good route I worked out was to turn left and head along Beacon Street to Fenway Park . I looped round Fenway and headed back down Beacon Street to Coolidge Corner . Turn right there and within a couple of minutes you are at JFK's birthplace . Then back to the Holiday Inn . That's about 4 miles .

We didn't use the pool or the gym . Apart from the AC making such a racket the hotel was very quiet . The staff were very friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 4CsfromC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us about your stay, as we appreciate the honest feedback. I will send you an e-mail privately so that I can get your room number to look into the AC unit for our future guests. The hotel does continue to use bar soap as it is a Holiday Inn Brand standard, and when and if the change to liquid soap, we certainly would follow that requirement. I am disappointed that the offerings on the day you ate breakfast were limited, and I will be sure to discuss this with both kitchen and restaurant manager.

If you come back to the area again another great running route is to head down St Paul St. to Commonwealth Ave, and cross over at St. Mary's St, at Boston University, take the foot bridge over Storrow Drive, where you can access the running/bike paths along the Charles River, and head east, spectacular views of both the river and all of its activities and sites of the city-line you would not get by car.

Thank you again for taking the time write us and we hope to see you if you travel back up to this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 716 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were extremely pleased with this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Every one of the staff were friendly and helpful, however the gentleman that helped with our luggage upon arrival went above and beyond. Once he unloaded the suitcases, I asked about the possibility of a roll away bed. He said, I will go get you one right away. When he returned, not only did he have the roll away but also extra towels and wash clothes and even two rolls of toilet paper. We didn't even have to ask, he just provided them..... What great service!!!
It was conveniently located to the stadium, we even walked to the game. An easy subway ride, which we caught right outside the hotel, took us to the state House area. Extremely simple to get around from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

I believe the person who assisted you was Tom, and I am very pleased that your experience was great, as it is wonderful to hear the little things the staff do that truly make a big difference, I will make sure that I share this with him and the entire team.

The public transportation, MBTA, is located steps outside the hotels door, making it extremely easy to get in and out of the city, including and many neighborhoods for exploring. We hope to see you the next time your travel plans bring you to the area, and thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Spent 2 nights while my daughter attended BC orientation. Very old hotel in need of a makeover. Room was very small- the bed took up most of the space and very small bathroom with standup shower. We were on the 2nd floor and it was quite a maze trying to find the room once off the elevator. It was an inside courtyard and the pool was on 2nd floor in the open courtyard which made it very noisy until about 10 PM. We also were surprised by the $29 per night parking fee to park across the street in a run down parking garage not connected to the hotel. The problem is you are stuck- there is no other place to park in residential Brookline. We also could not take the T across the street directly to BC. We had to get off and walk 2 blocks up to another T line. There are better options nearby.

Room Tip: Be careful not to get a room on the 2nd floor near the pool- very noisy. Also beware of the additio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank auntiebling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, as we value your candid comments. The hotel does have some interior facing rooms that look over our courtyard, in addition to rooms that also have exterior facing windows that are priced higher. The hotel does has limited parking under the hotels main building and an auxiliary garage located adjacent to the hotel for use when our main garage is full. The parking fee is comparable to most urban hotels in the city, and even lower than hotels within a short distance. The MBTA has several train lines, of which the hotel is located on the "C" line, and Boston College on the "B" line, next time you can take the train outside the hotel to Kenmore square, and then take the "B" line train to BC without having to walk. Regarding the hotel needing a makeover, we couldn't agree more and are in the final planning stages of a major renovation to take place in the immediate future, so hopefully the next time you are in town we will have a much more modern look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

In town this past weekend for a Sox game and other activities. Stayed here 1 time before and loved it and loved it this time as well! Staff very friendly and welcoming! We arrived 2 hrs before check in and they didn't have a problem with it, and after check out we were able to leave the car in the garage to stay in town a little longer.. Brookline is a nice quiet area and local shops! The T stop is right across the street and Fenway is about a 10min walk! Walking from Alston to the hotel after dark down neighborhood's was not a problem either, we felt safe and sound in the area and inside the hotel! Will be back this winter for a bruins game and will definitely stay here again

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank VTang01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We are thrilled you returned to the hotel to see the ballgame, and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us again, I only wish the Sox were playing better, It never gets old hearing about the great staff we have here, and I will make sure that I share your comments with them. The location is tremendous, as you mentioned, leave the car and jump on the train, no need to worry about finding a parking space. The hotel is in a quaint neighborhood, great to walk around and explore. We'll see you when the hockey season starts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My boyfriend and friend and I stayed here for 2 nights. We actually booked the room through Hotwire so didn't know what we were getting before we booked. We were very pleased with the accomodations. We used the 'T' (the subway) to get to the hotel from the airport. We had to make two transfers but we had a stop right outside our hotel so it was super convienent. We arrived early (even before check out time) so they let us store our luggage while we set out to explore Boston. The neighborhood is very quiet and a few blocks in both directions are plenty of restaurants and bars. In one direction there is a CVS, Walgreens, Dunkin & Starbucks.
The staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful. When we called for extra towels they were there within minutes. Our room was clean and had a fridge, microwave, hair dryer and Bath & Body Works amenities in the bathroom. Some people complained about the rooms that opened to the atrium and I can see how it would be darker but it didn't seem too horrible. Our room did not - it had a window with a view of the Boston skyline which was great (room 614). We didn't use the pool but as stated in some other reviews, the hotel did not smell like chlorine. We also did not utlize the bar or restaurant. The food looked decent as did the bar. However, it only seemed to be open for dinner time. I would suggest not eating or drinking there though and going somewhere else just because they are so many options not just in Boston but in the immediate few blocks. My boyfriend and his friend had a burger at Hops & Scotch and loved it.
We had some a/c issues one of the days but turned it off while we were out and everything was fine when we came back and turned it on again. Other than that, everything was in perfect working order. If I ever return to Boston I would stay here again as it was never a really long T ride to anything in the city and they constantly have cabs along Beacon Street. Word of advice if driving and not utilizing the hotel's parking - you can't park at the meters overnight even if it's the weekend and they aren't charging to park. My BF's friend learned this the hard way. $30 ticket when parking at the hotel's lot would have been $29.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window to the outside, not the atrium. If that sort of thing matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Wow, you did an exceptional job in providing so many great details about the hotel. I appreciate the time that you have taken to share them with us, and you will be pleased to hear, next year the hotel is looking at a major renovation, so it will only be better! Hope to see you the next time your travel plans bring you to the Brookline-Boston area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on a recent trip to Boston with the family. Super close to Fenway (about a mile and walkable) and quick train ride into downtown sites. Train stops right across from hotel and 2 blocks away is a nice area with restaurants, stores, bars.... Nothing fancy inside but Boston hotels are crazy expensive and as long as it's not a game night at Fenway this is the way to go. Nice buffet Bfast.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and indeed the hotel can be a good alternative to the more expensive downtown properties, especially with the ease of getting in and out of the city by train. Currently we are in the midst of planning a major renovation that will take place either at the end of 2014 or beginning of 2015, and will be a welcome improvement. Thank you again for taking the time to write us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed two nights. 5 min walk to shops in Brookline and a short streetcar ride to Boston CBD.
Brookline is a very nice area with a variety of restaurants, cafes, and a grocery store.
We visited July 10th & 11th 2014, outside the University student population semesters.
We walked around in the late evening and found it to be a safe area.

The Room was clean and well serviced. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
The room was quiet and had a good nights sleep.

The Air conditioner works but needs to be updated.
Free Wifi in room.
Overall I liked the place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your great comments, especially about the room cleanliness and the staff friendliness. The area is ideal for walking with many shops, restaurants and venues to explore, again thanks for taking the time to write us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 86 in Boston
2,559 reviews
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 19 in Cambridge
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston Brookline

Address: 1200 Beacon St, Brookline, MA 02446-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Price Range: $101 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston Brookline 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel is located just minutes from downtown Boston amidst the charming brownstones and tree-lined streets of historic Brookline. Our hotel is near Boston University, Boston College, Hynes Convention Center, Fenway Park (home of the Boston Red Sox) and many Boston Hospitals, including Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Dana Farber Cancer Institute. The hotel offers free shuttle service to the Longwood Medical Area.The Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline has a beautiful hotel lounge and restaurant with room service located on our first floor serving you in our 6-story atrium under umbrellas and arches central to our indoor heated pool. This 225 room, pet-friendly Boston hotel also offers free Wi-Fi, fitness room, guest laundry and dry cleaning services, bell service, and an on-site parking garage. Planning a Boston wedding reception, event, or corporate meeting? Let the Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel be your event venue. Our hotel has 4 large hotel meeting rooms accommodating 4 to 400 guests. We have a dedicated and friendly staff here to assist you with all of your event planning needs. Discover all Boston has to offer at the Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Holiday Inn Brookline
Brookline Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing