We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is the main come on; the rest need work” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Boston Brookline

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location is the main come on; the rest need work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

If not for its close proximity to Boston University where my son is studying, I may think twice before staying here again. The cleaning is below standard, and this is even after mentioning this to the General Manager. The rooms are roomy enough, but needs some refurbishing because they are old and worn out. The beds are not firm and the pillows are lumpy and not comfortable.

My main complaint really is some staff are rude or not courteous. Courtesy is par for the course in any service industry (even for the lowest budget level). Rudeness is unacceptable.

(NOT GOOD AT ALL) We had a drink in the lobby with some friends (also guests at the hotel) one night, and at around 12:30am, the attendant on duty approached us and rudely told us we have to leave as the area was closed, (even shooed us away with hand gestures!) And perhaps that wasn't enough for him, because as he turned his back to us and walked back to the counter, he even mumbled that he could hardly hear anything with our noise. I must say there is a better way to tell us to tone down, especially since I know we were not exceptionally noisy.

Complimentary afternoon cookies and juice - One afternoon, they ran out of juice. I went to the counter not knowing. I was in full sight of the front desk personnel. He did not utter a word that juice had ran out (the container was stainless steel, ie, not see through). I tilted the container to discover myself. I then looked his way which is the only time he said "we ran out" and that's all she wrote. No "sorry, we ran out"; or "we will replenish..." etc.

Another night, there was a 1-hour power outage - the hotel's generator is not powerful enough to give the rooms power, so we were in total blackout in the rooms - not one emergency lamp in the room and one emergency power outlet in the room. The common areas were lit and the elevator was operational. When we called the front desk to ask what the blackout was all about, the person at the desk couldn't give an answer and was not very friendly. The sense was one of disinterest - the power interruption is not my doing so let's just wait. I got the same reaction from friends staying here - they found the guy very rude and not helpful at all.

The morning shift front desk staff are attentive and nice but the pm shift people need more training. it might be good to evaluate if they are cut out for a job in this industry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triccie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments, we do appreciate them as it will only allow us to improve our level of service for our future guests. I have spoken to the housekeeping department in regards to your cleanliness concerns, and can assure you that we take these matters very seriously. What concerns me the most is the way in which the staff interacted with you during your stay, as that is not acceptable, and those individuals will be spoken to, and for that please accept our apologies. I have already sent you an e-mail in private, again thank you for taking the time to share this with me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    200
    181
    80
    56
See reviews for
214
134
45
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This Holiday Inn is super-convenient almost no matter where you want to go unless you are dead set on staying downtown. Relatively easy walk to Boston University. Directly on the Green Line which will take you out of town towards Boston College or into town quickly. It was so easy that my kids and I took the "T" to the airport (another very convenient experience). The neighborhoods and parks on either side of Beacon Street are worth a long stroll. Plenty of restaurants--mostly low- and mid-priced--within a short walk as well as friendly Coolidge Corner.

The hotel itself is an interesting layout, stretching lengthwise along Beacon Street. There is a dining area near the lobby (west side) with a small pool and jacuzzi towards the back. Our rooms were in the far eastern end of the first floor past a modestly equipped fitness room. Very quiet. It seems well managed and is very clean. The rooms are ample, and the air-conditioning works well. Wireless is free and pretty fast but seems much slower at times, probably when a lot of users are on. A word of warning: parking is easy but seems to be about $29 a day!

Room Tip: Very quiet on the east end (farthest from the lobby). Easy access to the street from side doors, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timinorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments; we are pleased you had a great stay. The hotel is in a wonderfullt location, with easy access by the train to anywhere in the city. The parking fee is $29.00 per day, which is far less than some of the hotels nearby charge. I am glad that you found the hotel clean as the staff does work hard at this. We hope to see you the next time your travel plans bring you into the area, and thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great time here. We asked for some specials...to be moved away from dining area for less noise, a rollaway bed, more towels, and handicapped travel/bus line info. Staff could answer all my questions! The room was quiet. Four blocks from Whole Foods...

Room Tip: Perfect for the price! Nicely located, complimentary coffee in the am, restaurant onsite. parking is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notwhineytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am thrilled that staff could assit you with all of your needs and that you had a great experince, as that is what we strive for with every guest. We hope to see you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was a terrific hotel to stay in, in order to have better rates versus downtown boston. Right across from T station, easy commute to all attractions. Quiet nice neighbourhood. Room was terrific, large enough for family of 4. Rate was pretty good, with AAA discount. Cheaper rooms available on first and second floor with atrium view, but previous reviews made me request a third floor room and pay more. However, I though the first and second floors looked pretty nice, esp the exterior facing ones. Clean rooms, very friendly staff. We 'won' free breakfast upon check in, nice perk. NEGATIVE: the shower was broken, it dribbled water out the side, we used it anyway and didn't want to be moved or disturbed so reported this on check out. I was a little surprised that I was offered a discount on future stay, or something to accommodate for the fact that we didn't have a working shower. POSITIVE: yes, parking was extra 29$, however that covered from check in to midnight the next day, so although we only spent one night at hotel, we were able to spend 2 days seeing boston, and only spent 29 on parking which is a deal in my mind.

Room Tip: If having a view is important, request a third floor or higher and pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PEIfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and it is refreshing to hear the way the staff addressed your concerns, to ensure that you indeed had a great stay. I will send you an e-mail in private to get more details on your room, so that I can have our engineering staff make sure that the shower was corrected for our future guests. The housekeeping staff will be pleased to hear your comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms, and it will be my pleasure to share with all the staff your comment about how friendly they were. We hope to see you the next time you are in the Boston-Brookline area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

A 'T' (St Paul's street) stop right across the road on the Green Line.

Rooms clean.

5 minute walk to local shops and restaurants at Coolidge Corner.

15 minute walk to Fenway Park, main reason for the stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLAJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, indeed we are within walking distance of Fenway Park, home of the Red Sox, and many other venues besides baseball that take place there each season. I will be sure to mention the cleanliness of the room to our staff, they will be thrilled. We hope to see you the next time you attend a ballgame and thank you for taking the time to write us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This location is excellent. It is an easy commute to downtown and all the attractions. This hotel is a very nice Holiday Inn. This was probably one of the nicest Holiday Inns that I had the pleasure of visiting. The room was large and comfortable. The staff was super friendly. The rate was reasonable. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
These are the responses we love to hear from our guests, as the staff works tirelessly to make each guest experience memorable. Thank you very much for your kind words, as it will be my pleasure to share them with the entire staff! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of San Francisco
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Even though we had called after booking to request a room with a window (yes, there are many rooms without) they tried to put us in a room without windows and next to the pool. The second I walked into the hotel, I could smell the chlorine from the pool which might have been pretty cool in the 60's or 70's but really feels dated now. They eventually relocated us into another room, a suite, which was nice, but the front desk clerk told us that "it is above the kitchen and the fans make a bit of noise" this is room 210 btw. Well she did not lie but did not tell the whole truth as the fan makes the entire suite vibrate and it is really bad in the bathroom where I could feel it in the floor. We declined to try to change rooms and decided to stick it out as we were staying only two nights but the pillows were horrible (way lumpy), the room was difficult to keep one temperature and the room had an overall dated feel about it. I can't comment about the food but with so many great restaurants nearby, why would you want to eat there? the location is fantastic, but if this hotel wants to attract future guests, a major remodel should be planned.

Room Tip: Not 210 and not near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efejle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, as it is important to us to hear how your experience was. The hotel is in the preliminary process of exploring modifications to the hotel. I am surprised by the smell of chlorine as the hotels pool has a saline filtration system, I will certainly look into this with our engineering staff. We will also look into your comments about the vibration in your room; it is possible that there could be an issue with a roof top unit that may have caused this. Thank you again for taking the time to write us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
The Verb Hotel
#13 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston Brookline

Property: Holiday Inn Boston Brookline
Address: 1200 Beacon St, Brookline, MA 02446-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston Brookline 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel is located just minutes from downtown Boston amidst the charming brownstones and tree-lined streets of historic Brookline. Our hotel is near Boston University, Boston College, Hynes Convention Center, Fenway Park (home of the Boston Red Sox) and many Boston Hospitals, including Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Dana Farber Cancer Institute. The hotel offers free shuttle service to the Longwood Medical Area.The Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline has a beautiful hotel lounge and restaurant with room service located on our first floor serving you in our 6-story atrium under umbrellas and arches central to our indoor heated pool. This 225 room, pet-friendly Boston hotel also offers free Wi-Fi, fitness room, guest laundry and dry cleaning services, bell service, and an on-site parking garage. Planning a Boston wedding reception, event, or corporate meeting? Let the Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel be your event venue. Our hotel has 4 large hotel meeting rooms accommodating 4 to 400 guests. We have a dedicated and friendly staff here to assist you with all of your event planning needs. Discover all Boston has to offer at the Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Holiday Inn Brookline
Brookline Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing