We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We chose this hotel because the Courtyard was booked. We had reservations about staying here based on the mixed reviews. We were pleasantly surprised.
The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. We were always greeted with a smile and friendly hello.
We stayed in an executive king suite. It was definitely worth the extra money. The room was clean and comfortable. The window faced the street and not the inside of the hotel.
The hotel is conveniently located to shops, restaurants, and bars. We were able to run to Trader Joe's and CVS to grab some forgotten items without any trouble.
In our opinion, the best part about the hotel is that it is located directly across the street from the T stop. Actually, it is located across the street from 2 T stops: St. Paul Street and Kent Street. The Kent Street stop is across from the parking garage. We were able to leave our car parked in the garage after we had checked out on Sunday so that we could continue to explore Boston.
The only reason that we didn't give this hotel 5 stars is because of its layout. It is huge and most of the rooms' doors and windows open to the hallway that overlooks the pool and restaurant area. It reminded us of a cruise ship. I would definitely pay the extra money to get a room with a window that opens to the outside - not the inside of the hotel.
We chose not to eat breakfast at the hotel and instead went out. I think that we made the right choice. We were not disappointed with that decision.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask whether or not your window opens to the outside or inside of the hotel. It is de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanner712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

I am glad that we had the opportunity to have you as our guest since the Courtyard was full, and that you had a great experience! The staff will be thrilled to hear your wonderful comments, as they genuinely try to make our guest feel welcomed. You couldn't ask for a better location, within walking distance of Coolidge Corner and Fenway park, and only steps away from the train to take you into the city of Boston, Cambridge and the surrounding communities. The hotel does have a unique layout, with many of our premium rooms with exterior facing windows, we also have interior ones that are priced lower for the traveler who perhaps will not be spending much time at the property, but looking for a comfortable place to sleep. We hope to see you again when you travel into the city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 694 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

First the architecture: I don't know if any rooms have outside windows. The best had a view of the outside, across an hallway, through two layers of closed glass. The worst rooms have doors and windows that open onto the pool, in a low-ceiling enclosed space. If you have sensitive lungs, the chlorine fumes are a torture.

Room are dingy and crowded, made worse by the absence of exterior light. The hotel is a VERY long, narrow building, with up to a 250-yard round-trip between front desk and your room (verified on google maps).

Our check-in required about an hour, and six of those long round trips. The staff were nice about our requesting a change of room (due to chlorine fumes) but we were assigned a room that already had guests, and were twice given keys that did not work. Then, the room had air conditioning that did not work.

TIPS:
* Avoid! If you have business here, and are tempted by the location, note that Boston's transit is very good. Given the walking and the staff-induced time-wasting, a distant suburb would have been a time-saver.
* If you must stay there, then if you're not comfortable with a 250-yard round-trip between front desk and your room, then try to reserve a room near the elevators.
* If you require oxygen, and find chlorine fumes irritating, then do not accept a room on the interior atrium. Even at the far end of the hallway, away from the pool, the fumes were horrible.

Room Tip: Not in the interior atrium, unless you can breath chlorine. Test the air conditioning before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netpog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Netpog,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is located in a great location to explore Coolidge Corner in Brookline and Boston. The T stop is just across the the street. The rooms were ample and the beds were relatively new. The amenities were just standard, nothing to brag back home. The breakfast service was a bit sloppy and the waiter was a bit overwhelm with the number of patrons during a regular weekday morning; not sure why the ratio of waiters to tables was so high. The quality of the food was just ok, the presentation of the food can be improved significantly, for example the the fresh fruit looked old and the french toasts looked like left overs from the previous day. The food and Beverage Manager may want to take a look at the quality of service and food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinae94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, indeed the hotel is in a prime location to many local venues to explore. We are disappointed that you found the breakfast experience not up to your standards, and can assure you we will take the necessary steps to improve upon this. Again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed recently and thought the hotel is fantastic. My room was large, clean and very comfortable. I found the all of the staff to be very hospitable and accommodating. The food was great also. I really enjoyed my stay and I look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiepoughkeepsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

It is always great to hear when our guests have a wonderful experience, and I will make sure that I share this with all of the staff, and we look forward to seeing you when you return to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was at this hotel overnight for a corporate event in the city and it was a great stay. The hotel has a great location very close to Fenway Park and in a nice section of town. Very quiet and walking distance to a number of restaurants and bars. The staff was friendly and very good with providing directions. They have a business center right in the lobby that guests can use 24/7. I didn't use the indoor pool but it looked like other guests were enjoying it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, and your kind words regarding your experience with the staff. The hotel is in a perfect location, the best of both worlds, situated in a quiet neighborhood, yet steps away from the public transportation to venture into the city. We hope to see you the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We needed two nights for the family in Boston and went on a site to bid on a room the night before our flight. We were assigned this hotel and did not choose it. A few of the reviews caused us some concern, but the reservation was locked it.

Well, the hotel was just fine.
The staff was kind and helpful. They helped us plan our departure to the airport and stored our luggage.
The breakfast buffet was fine and fairly priced. The wait staff was attentive and helpful.
The layout was unique, but we thought it added to the adventure. Our kids loved playing checkers on the very large chess set (20 feet x 20 feet or so)in the lobby carpet.
We read about the difference in the upper floors and asked for our first floor room to be changed to an upper floor. We were told that nothing was available, so we just went with what we had. (Maybe they put Priceline folks on the first two floors. :) )
All in all, a fine stay with a clean comfortable room with a nice staff with a convenient location right across the street from the St. Paul stop on the green line.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

I am pleased that your family enjoyed the trip to Boston, and your kids took advantage of our life size chess board, as is always being used by both adults and kids. I am glad the staff was accommodating for your needs, and will be sure to pass those comments along to them. The hotel does have a unique layout, which has several different room configurations, including different price points. We hope to see you when you return to the city, as the hotel does offer great values during various times of the year, and thanks again for writing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Not only does this Holiday Inn have a spectacular location with a T station right across the street, but the staff and service can't be beat. Stayed on the 6th floor in what seemed to be a recently renovated room. Very clean and loved that the window opened. Will be back for certain!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MosieB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

You summed up your experience perfectly, clean rooms, great staff, and spectacular location. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston Brookline

Address: 1200 Beacon St, Brookline, MA 02446-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Price Range: $114 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston Brookline 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel is located just minutes from downtown Boston amidst the charming brownstones and tree-lined streets of historic Brookline. Our hotel is near Boston University, Boston College, Hynes Convention Center, Fenway Park (home of the Boston Red Sox) and many Boston Hospitals, including Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Dana Farber Cancer Institute. The hotel offers free shuttle service to the Longwood Medical Area.The Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline has a beautiful hotel lounge and restaurant with room service located on our first floor serving you in our 6-story atrium under umbrellas and arches central to our indoor heated pool. This 225 room, pet-friendly Boston hotel also offers free Wi-Fi, fitness room, guest laundry and dry cleaning services, bell service, and an on-site parking garage. Planning a Boston wedding reception, event, or corporate meeting? Let the Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel be your event venue. Our hotel has 4 large hotel meeting rooms accommodating 4 to 400 guests. We have a dedicated and friendly staff here to assist you with all of your event planning needs. Discover all Boston has to offer at the Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Holiday Inn Brookline
Brookline Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing