We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of On the Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookline
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
On the Park
Ranked #3 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Rochester, NY
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at "On the Park." Betsy and Marcos are congenial and accommodating. Breakfasts were lovely. The room was very comfortable and the lounge provided a place to read, visit, watch TV or enjoy the charming cat and dog that live there.

The B&B is easy to reach from the turnpike. Once there you can park your car as it’s an easy walk to the “T” to head into the city. There are nice restaurants in the neighborhood along the route to the T. A comfortable place for a woman traveling alone.

The large home is welcoming and beautiful. I can imagine how lovely it would be to sit on the second floor porch in the summertime and sip some tea.

  • Liked — Betsy, Marcos and the pets.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    22
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
73
36
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

We visited Boston for 4 nights as part of our 12 day vacation to New England. It was almost impossible to find an affordable place in Boston or nearby where the "T" was going to. Finally we came across the "On the park" - Booking went easy via the phone. When we finally got there we were not disappointed: The location was excellent, only a few blocks away from the next "T" station in a very peaceful and pretty neighborhood. Our room was lovely, the (shared) bathroom was small but fine, and the house was filled with personal memories and flair (e.g. jazz music running already at breakfast). The breakfast was good, the coffee excellent.
In addition, the owners Marcos and especially Betsy really went the extra mile to make our stay a pleasant one. They provided us with a lot of useful hints and were very courteous.
All in all, I would recommend this B&B to anyone. We will definitely come back!

  • Liked — Pretty much everything
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank big_gaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at On the Park. It was comfortable walking distance from the "T stops". The neighborhood was peaceful and quiet . I loved listening to the birds singing each morning and the flowers around added to the quiet pastoral feeling of the home. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were perfect with fresh fruit, fresh bagels and yogurt.
Besty and Marcos were perfect hosts and shared my love of great Jazz.

  • Liked — the atmosphere
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ljmckamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

This wonderful B&B feels like home. After a week of travelling in many different places, we needed a nice quiet, comfy place. We enjoyed the sun and views of the park from the upstairs terrace and downstairs porch. Watching TV in the living room while waiting for our friend to finish his errands in town, just felt relaxing like at home. Our hosts had a great collection of tourist information, and more unusual books and maps for use while there. They also answered our questions thoroughly, were interesting to talk with, and provided us WiFi. The location is convenient - in a quiet neighbourhood, halfway between two different T lines (both green; a little slow, tempted to figure out the bus network next time).

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ALB_Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

I recently had the chance to return to On-The-Park for a weekend touring Boston with friends. It was just as I remembered it -- warm, cozy and welcoming. Just like home, only better! Marcos and Betsy are wonderful hosts. If you are looking for a charming B&B on a tree-lined street, in a quiet neighborhood, minutes from downtown Boston, On-The-Park is for you.
D.Sliter

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Washington_DC-Hello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

If you're heading to the Boston area and want to feel like you're at home away from home, On The Park is a fabulous option. The hosts and home are warm and friendly. The B&B is filled with books, jazz or classical music is readily available and everything is served in original ceramics. It was a relaxing place to return every evening of our stay. The location is great, especially if you like to walk. The neighborhood is quiet and classic, with beautiful houses to admire. The T is just a few blocks away. The selection among nearby restaurants is excellent and vast. We know we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MelissaMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

The house is wonderful, in a beautiful area across a park, close to public transportation as well. The hosts are very warm people, giving us great information about Boston, sightseeing and restaurants. Our stay was absolutely pleasant!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank LianaKoulouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Park

Property: On the Park
Address: 88 Columbia St, Brookline, MA 02446-2432
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hundred year old house with parking, on a park, walking distance to public transportation, Boston University and Longwood Medical area. Great restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
On The Park Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing