We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and wonderful hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of On the Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookline
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
On the Park
Ranked #3 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Castine, Maine
2 reviews
“Great location and wonderful hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

"On the Park" was the perfect home base for our family during our recent visit to Boston. It was an easy walk to public transportation as well as a number of delicious, very affordable restaurants; but the quiet residential neighborhood and park across the street made it feel much for farther removed from the city. Our kids loved it, too -- whether they were running across the street to romp on the playground, or curling up in the evening in the living room with a book or the TV remote. Betsy and Marcos made us feel so welcome -- there were even fresh baked brownies waiting for us when we arrived!

When we mentioned to Betsy over breakfast that we were planning on doing the swan boats that morning, she pulled out a copy of "Make Way for Ducklings" for us to read to our 2 year-old daughter before we left. We scheduled the last night of our stay in Boston at a big chain hotel with a pool for the kids, but the whole family agreed -- from now on we'll only ever stay at "On the Park" when we're in town!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    23
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
74
36
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first time at a B&B, so we were a little apprehensive going in. Although we only stayed for a short weekend, we loved our accomodations. It was like staying with your favorite brother or sister. The bed and breakfast is charming. It is situated in a beautiful quiet residential neighborhood but within walking distance to shopping,dining, and the T. However, the best part is the engaging and gracious hosts, who made us feel comfortable and relaxed; and were willing to share the family home and stories with us. The family photos are also great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJGug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Recently we stayed at "On the Park B & B" located in a quiet, residential neighborhood of Brookline with lovely mature trees lining the streets. We had a tastefully decorated, private room with a very comfortable queen sized bed on the top floor of this beautiful, clean home belonging to Betsy and Carlos. Our bathroom was one floor down from our room but it was not a problem at all. We were provided with luxurious bathrobes which was perfect. The home had such wonderful character and a warm sense of family life evident from the momentos and photos of raising their now grown-up children and the added pleasure of meeting 2 little grand-daughters one morning. We felt so at ease and really at home away from home.

We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning of fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, cheese, scones, french bread and plenty of coffee or tea in the company of other guests which also contributed to such a pleasant weekend stay. As an added bonus, we were able to have our daughter-in-law join us for breakfast one morning. She is studying in Boston for a few months and had no room to accomodate us.Thus it was very special to be able to have her share such a pleasant breakfast with us at our B & B.

Thank you very much Betsy and Marcos for your wonderful hospitality. If and when we return to Boston, we definitely hope there will be room for us in your home.
Sincerely
Barbara & Leo

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo-Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been staying at this B and B on our monthly visits to Boston, and have enjoyed it in every respect. "Our" bedroom is very comfortable, with ample closet and dresser space, as well as night tables. The bathroom is not ensuite but directly across the hall, and reserved for the occupants of this bedroom. The breakfast is simple but ample: delicious fresh fruit salad (no sugar or anything else added, wide variety of fruit), granola and yoghurt, and sometimes also a fresh baguette. Coffee and tea are available anytime. The location is perfect -- a quiet street facing the park -- and the hosts, Betsy and Marcos, just wonderful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akloer
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at On the Park on a trip to visit friends who had just had a baby. We got the winter special, which was an incredible value. The house was large and comfortable. Our room was warm, well-lit, and had a firm but comfortable bed. The bathroom was detached, but I was notified about that ahead of time, and it wasn't a big deal.

Breakfast was fruit, yogurt, granola, and some form of bread. It was really lovely, light, and fresh. There was also tea or coffee whenever we wanted it.

Betsy and Marcos were warm and welcoming. Their helpful, welcoming attitude and the location in a residential neighborhood made us feel like we were right at home in Brookline. We'd definitely stay here again, especially at such a reasonable rate!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandaEnRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

you'd drive right buy this homey B and B and just think it's part of this Boston neighborhood. And that's it's charm. When you go inside and meet Marcos and Betsy, it just feels like coming home for a visit with the family. Maybe its because they raised their large family in what is now a spacious and warm B and B, but the fact is you really do feel like you're part of the family. They are gracious hosts and guides, the setting is quiet and relaxed, the location is convenient, and the rooms and accommodations are perfect. Oh, and the food is healthy, fresh and filling. Good to know I can come back here again and again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank dstember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I rented one room, and a daughter and her friend shared another as we visited Boston area family. The breakfast room has a charming collection of pottery, and a gas-fired fireplace. Breakfasts featured world-class granola and fresh fruit cocktail, bagels and artisan breads, cream cheese and jam. The two bedrooms we occupied were modest in size but beautifully furnished and decorated. The beds were very comfortable. The living/sitting room faces a park with playgrounds for young children, and there is a roof garden overlooking the park available for use when weather permits. Marcos and Betsy made us feel right at home, and we plan to return to On the Park the next time we visit the Boston area! Jim M

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Park

Property: On the Park
Address: 88 Columbia St, Brookline, MA 02446-2432
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hundred year old house with parking, on a park, walking distance to public transportation, Boston University and Longwood Medical area. Great restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
On The Park Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing