We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beer menu, especially with Belgian ales”
Review of The Publick House

The Publick House
Ranked #10 of 203 Restaurants in Brookline
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent beer menu, especially with Belgian ales”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The restaurant was very busy early evening on a Saturday as expected. We were told a 20 minute wait, but were seated within 15 minutes. The bartenders were quick even though it was quite busy, and the waitress who served us was attentive as well. We ordered chicken and cuban sandwiches, both were tasty, but nothing exceptional. I would definitely come back to try some different dishes and experiment with other beers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalemulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    95
    28
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
639 reviews
430 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Go on a weekday!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Or you'll never get in. It's always crowded the waits are an hour+ on the weekend. Publick House is heavy on the flavors and the food is constantly good. I love the truffle ketchup, and their selection of belgian style beers. This is one of the best Pub restaurants in the Brookline area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kipp7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Beer and pub food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have been twice recently on Friday nite... (not too late - during dinner) - they have a large assortment of beer (lot of Belgian beers) - and although I am not a huge connosuer of beer - I had a great time trying different ones! Waitress made great recommendations!
Food was wonderful - the mussels were great - plus burgers and salads! Last Friday we were with friends - everyone loved their meals!
Would definately go back again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
234 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just plain hungry”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

One of those stops where the first place you tried was packed. Went for lunch & had basic fish & chips (fair). Other had fish sandwich (great). Service was took order, poured water & gave check. Food was hit & miss, per table next to us too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jrstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
183 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Love the Publick House.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We've been coming here for years, and it's always a great time! The beer list is amazing, the staff knows their stuff, and the food keeps getting better and better. The mac & cheese is a total classic, plus they do my favorite veggie burger around. But mostly it's about the beer-- and the beer is AWESOME.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fenchurch128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Publick House also viewed

 

Been to The Publick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing