We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a five star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Samuel Sewall Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was the best place we stayed in on our trip. The location is really central. The house is really charming and full of character and the rooms are amazing. Ours was massive, like a suite with a sofa, a huge bed and great bathroom. It had all the little extras, great bathroom products, chocolates laid out on the bed and fluffy bathrooms. Those touches make the difference. Breakfast was fine though we were the last down so most of the stuff was gone. The only downside was the service, one was super helpful and the other didn't as much as say hello. B&B's need to have a bit more of a personal touch. Overall a great experience and we would return for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheno71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for The Samuel Sewall Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 139 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

They have a great breakfast every morning. The hot entree is served at 8, but there are cold items available before that. There are snacks and coffee available throughout the day.

It's just a 5 minute walk from the T and from great Brookline restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elim102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed two nights at the Inn recently and could not have been happier. The room was beautiful, quiet and very clean. The breakfast was amazing...every day a different hot entree. The staff was professional and extremely helpful. The location was so convenient to everything in Boston. The green line train was a mere block away. Thanks so much for the perfect getaway!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Cookies are always best! Great breakfast in new England style. Doorman is handsome and warmhearted. 5min walk to "T". However, in winter you need to ask for a heater. I will come back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Located in a quiet neighborhood a block from the "C" T-line (train into downtown Boston), two blocks from Trader Joe's, and a little over 3 blocks to a Peets Coffee shop, this B & B is quiet and reasonably located to Boston University and within walking distance to several restaurants / eateries / drugstores / shopping.
We stayed in room 7, which appeared to be the original Master Bedroom. It was quite large, with a comfortable king-sized bed and private bath with a shower (no tub). The windows open for fresh air in the night and there is a functioning fireplace in the room. All other rooms we viewed while there were pleasantly decorated and a nice size.
Our room didn't have its own temperature control, so we warmed the room (after a night of having the window open) by opening the door into the upstairs landing. I'm not sure what they do to control heat in the summer months; perhaps they have air-conditioning (??). If you are going to be staying during hot months, I'd ask before committing to staying there since Boston can get hot with high humidity.
Breakfasts are just "okay" and the dining area can be quite crowded by between 8 & 9 in the morning; however, we are extremely picky about food! The coffee is so-so (again, we are very picky; others seemed to think both food & coffee was great). Since we were within reasonable walking distance to Peets Coffee, we would go there for coffee and a scone each morning.
Staff was very helpful & pleasant, especially a young fellow named Ali who was working most afternoons.
We would definitely stay at the Samuel Sewall B & B in the future.

Room Tip: Room 7 was terrific! Any of the upstairs rooms seemed to be very quiet and all were nicely decorate...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaujangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SewallInn, Manager at The Samuel Sewall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! We sincerely appreciate it.

We're indeed working with the town to create an addition to the common space, but due to this being a historic home/neighborhood, the proximity of our neighbors and their concerns regarding the noise of construction it is taking longer than initially expected. Hopefully we will to be able to offer a larger common space soon. Still, if you ever feel that you are crowded or have any other inquiries or concerns, please talk to the Innkeeper or the overnight Manager. It helps very much to hear from our guests while they are in residence.

Regarding temperature, windows are a great way to cool a room a few degrees, but we have central heat and air conditioning throughout the house. Boston can get very cold and very hot too, especially during the months that bridge two seasons, but we're ready for it! Fans are also available if you care of a nice breeze or just white noise.

We look forward to making our Inn your Home away from Home.

Sincerely,

The Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Recently spent 4 days at this marvelous bed and breakfast. Everyone on the staff and the other guest were soooo friendly and helpful. This is the best home away from home you could ever want. A few of us even had breakfast in the common area still in our PJ's how great is that!!! Super clean, very quiet and so close to mass transit, just a block away hard to believe it was so quiet. Would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: The only tip I can give is to watch the weekend rate changes according to the local activities. We h...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I had the most wonderful experience at the Samuel Sewall Inn: I was in town for a job interview, so it was a bit of a stressful situation. The staff was incredibly friendly and went above and beyond to make me feel at home. It was also an added bonus that the inn was so close to public transit. The room itself was very comfortable: I LOVED the bed and the Frette robe! My room (room 3) had a fireplace that I unfortunately did not have time to use. The breakfast was also good, especially the cinnamon rolls! I would not hesitate to recommend the inn to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fancy_muskrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samuel Sewall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samuel Sewall Inn

Address: 143 Saint Paul St, Brookline, MA 02446-5247
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range: $188 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Samuel Sewall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Boston, the Samuel Sewall Inn serves as an oasis from the hustle of downtown Boston. Located two miles from the heart of the city and one block from public transportation, guests are able to remain close to the cultural and business centers of Boston yet return to the tranquility of a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Samuel Sewall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samuel Sewall Hotel Brookline
Samuel Sewall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing