We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Air Pizza at 15 Locations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Upper Crust

The Upper Crust
Ranked #34 of 200 Restaurants in Brookline
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Air Pizza at 15 Locations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I used to go to Il Panino in Cambridge, MA because it was described to me as New York pizza from someone who should know and it was greasy, cheesy, drippy. It was a huge schlep over and trying to park was so evil often I went home empty handed. They closed. Now what?

Upper Crust is within walking distance in Brookline. You watch the guys flipping and flouring right from the street. The toppings divide into meat, seafood, vegetables and cheeses. The crust is so very thin there's no grease and I call it air pizza.. I'm sure you can't get fat eating it.

The staff is accommodating while they pour beer, wine and juggle the phones. They have salads Greek and Roman, calzone, whole wheat crust on request, and free delivery if you're lucky enough to be in greater Boston or Key West but not at the same time.

The corporate office actively supports community organizations.

In this the second week of the first month of the new year, watch out for buffalo and barbeque chicken, Hawaiian with bacon, steak and Gorgonzola pies if you're bound to stick to the diet. If you're looking for a dark corner, er, nope. It's busy all the time and the TVs run nonstop. Otherwise, order up. It's always 20 minutes except when it's 30 minutes. Still.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitty228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    46
    24
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can only speak for takeout...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We did not eat at the restaurant, so I can't speak for the restaurant itself. The crust isn't merely thin, it was cracker thin. If you like super thin crusts, this is the place for you. The toppings and sauce, ok, but not memorable. I know this is a popular restaurant, so perhaps were are in the minority in our opinion. Or, our pizza was made on an off night.
Still, we were a bit disappointed, expecting something more flavorful.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank SCsees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gourmet pizza at little cost to you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Upper Crust is a wonderful place to grab a slice of pizza or share a whole pizza with your friends or go the greedy route and eat it all yourself. Either way you will not be sorry because the pizza is baked to perfection. The crust is thin and just wonderful and the options are tantalizing.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank blue3baby99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Completely Overrated, Poor Quality, & Stomach Pain”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

My husband and I ordered a White Spinach Pizza on whole wheat crust this past Friday night for delivery. Because of food allergies I ordered my half without mozzarella. When we sat down and opened the box the pizza was very thin, dry and looked like an after thought. My half had shriveled pieces of spinach & literally 2-3 tiny pieces of feta cheese on each piece. There was no fresh garlic to be seen on either half. My husbands side had a thin rubbery layer of mozzarella cheese along with the 2-3 small pieces of feta and the shriveled pieces of scattered spinach. Because we had already waited so long we reluctantly ate it since it was already so late. BIG MISTAKE! Both of us had stomach pains within an hour of eating it and had upset for a couple days following. We will NEVER eat there or order for delivery. What a joke that people spend money at this place or that they are called upper crust! Horrible experience!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedKat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

We were in the area visiting. There are many national chain restaurants on the street but tried Upper Crust since they are not. The pizza is thin crust (regular or wheat), and they offer about 30 toppings. Our pizza arrived very hot and was excellent. Highly recommended, especially if you're in the mood for pizza. They have other Italian food and salads as well.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Upper Crust also viewed

 

Been to The Upper Crust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing