We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to meet up”
Review of Matt Murphy's Pub

Matt Murphy's Pub
Ranked #17 of 203 Restaurants in Brookline
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place to meet up”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This place has several changes but the last was to rework the bar and tables such that its much more a restaurant than an pub. I knew the original chef that created this place's first menu and won the palates of many in the neighborhood. Since then there have been some menu changes and atmosphere changes that keep many of us interested. I can have a salad here and a drink with the girls and be quite happy on a weekday night. The owner is usually there and recognizes her regulars which there are many! This is probably the best restaurant in the brookline village area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mexico2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood pub and restaurant”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A casual feel but high quality pub food. Try their pear salad
and the in house gimlet. Their gigantic bread baskets with more butter than you can eat in a year (well almost)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank spicelore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great for pub food; lunch and/or date night”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Love this place. The food is great. Not much for beer on tap but I usually stick with whatever hefeweizens they have. John Daly's are a must have! The restaurant itself is small. Since the renovations, there is a bit more seating but it is still cramped, so don't plan on hanging with a large group of friends there. My favorite is sitting at the bar with a date or friend. Very cozy! As other reviewers have said, make sure you bring cash (though there is a Bank of America across the street!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love everything about this place”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I don't get to MM too often, and wish I lived closer. I love this place. It feels like I'm in a cozy pub in another country. I love the food, ambiance, and the music they choose to play. It's a real neighborhood pub feel. Intimate and friendly. I had a wonderful duck confit with savory bread pudding and pears. Yum.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“A Boston/ Brookline Favorite!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have been to Murphy's several times and have always been impressed with the quality of food and service. It is a small, family owned restaurant with some incredible selections- the lamb burger, swordfish, mussels, fries with homemade ketchup are always great choices. They offer brunch on the weekends that is to die for! Bread pudding is the best around. The staff is helpful and kind. We have never felt rushed! It is cash only and very reasonably priced. Truly a great place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt Murphy's Pub also viewed

 
Brookline, MA
 

Been to Matt Murphy's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing