We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gastropub in Brookline”
Review of Matt Murphy's Pub

Matt Murphy's Pub
Ranked #18 of 203 Restaurants in Brookline
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great gastropub in Brookline”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The food is fantastic at Matt Murphy's! Very reasonable prices, real Irish grub. Just be sure to bring cash, cause Siobhan (the owner) doesn't take credit cards.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank robert240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a terrible night out.........this is the place for you”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

What's not to like?..... Just about everything on my recent visit.

Decor: looks like a scene from a Dickensian workhouse. Everything is painted grey (there are a few photos from Ireland on the walls - is this so people will think it is an Irish bar?).

Comfort: most of the tables have benches on one side. The room is long and narrow - there was a cold draft from both the front door and the kitchen at the rear. Very uncomfortable.

Service: the very worst I have experienced in a long, long time. Gruff, rude and unhelpful best describes our experience.

Food was fine but really the experience was ruined by all of the above.

Finally, there is little if anything authentically Irish about Matt Murphy's Pub.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Horseboxhero2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Come a few times and you feel loike family”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The food is fresh, very good, and interesting. Sioban, the owner, cares about food and you can tell. I like just about everything on the menu especially the fried fish sandwich and the lamb burger. The entrees are great too. Make sure you save room for dessert, absolutely the best bread pudding and panna cotta.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Afstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flourtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food in cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Friends took us here when we were visiting from Philly. I've never eaten at an Irish pub before, and it was a revelation.

Our friends are regulars. The owner greeted them by name and served us herself.

Potato leek soup, hard cider, corned beef & cabbage (with root vegetables) were all delicious. Strawberry crisp and bread pudding were outstanding. My father loved the background music. The corned beef was still delicious 3 days later for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mdbrownmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
“Tasty Irish Pub”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I had been to this pub years ago and saw a great Irish trio and had a fantastic meal. We heard great things about Matt Murphy's from friends we were visiting in Brookline and for the most part it did not disappoint. It has changed since we were last there. It is more upscale now and somehow I liked the old bunny paintings better than the chic look of the current bar. The food remains delicious, if not a little too expensive for pub food. Where it used to be a place I would go for a beer or one of their house fruit-infused whiskeys, it is now a place I would probably only go for dinner

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank QueenieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt Murphy's Pub also viewed

 
Brookline, MA
 

Been to Matt Murphy's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing