We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, Great Tapas in Brookline”
Review of Barcelona

Barcelona
Ranked #1 of 203 Restaurants in Brookline
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Barcelona meets Brookline, and a sophisticated Boston neighborhood has a wine bar to call its own. A historic town located minutes from downtown Boston, Brookline is the perfect mixture of urban and country living. From large estates and recreational parks to boutiques and pedestrian-filled streets, Brookline offers a city atmosphere in a suburban setting. Located in Washington Square at 1700 Beacon Street, Barcelona is the newest addition to this lively neighborhood dining destination. A mix of antique wire glass, steel and reclaimed wood gives our newly built space a vintage appeal. The rustic, polished environment is the next best thing to eating tapas and drinking wine in our restaurant's namesake city. With hardwood floors, floor-to-ceiling windows, and spacious patio, the space has a European charm which fills the menu as well.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Finally, Great Tapas in Brookline”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I went to Barcelona with my family. It's been a while since we've had great tapa's in Brookline. Great tapa's in my book is a large variety of superbly prepared dishes, with each one having a unique flavor and distinction. We were not disappointed.

We arrived early and were seated immediately at a street side outdoor table. We heard that lines start at 6:00 to 6:30, so we arrived at 5:30. By 6:15, every table was filled and a line of patrons was forming on the sidewalk. Clearly we aren't the only ones who appreciate this great addition to Washington Square.

If you are stay at the Marriott Courtyard or the Holiday Inn, this restaurant is a bit of a walk, but easily accessible by the Green line C train. Just get off at Tappan Street (at the Star Market).

We started out with the trio of meats and cheeses and selected 2 varieties of Ham and 1 sausage. Usually my 6 year old is very selective about what she eats, so we wanted to get starters that we know she would enjoy. The selection of meats was very good and high quality. The ham was similar to good prosciutto and complemented the fresh warm bread.

We order chorizo with figs, gambas in garlic sauce, octopus, and vegetables. These were nicely prepared and the octopus was particularly tender. My very picky daughter latched onto the octopus and gambas and devoured them. They were both succulent and tasty while not being overly greasy or oily. The gambas were cooked with a mild hot pepper which gave it a bit of a kick.

Dessert and cafe con leche followed along with vanilla ice cream and apple rhubarb crisp.

All in all the meal was affordable and satisfying.

The owner is very attentive and came by to check on our meal and make us feel welcome. This was a nice touch.

Just a Note: Although we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, the restaurant lacked Child friendly features. They should add a children's menu and provide crayons and paper. Given the overcrowding of the schools by families, they should probably pay a bit more attention to this growing demographic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreggBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    142
    34
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
University Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best new wine and tapas bar anywhere in Boston”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This will be the easiest review I've ever written -- EVERYTHING was GREAT!

The selection of tapas was simply amazing. Like many tapas bars, dinner can become costly if you don't plan the meal well. Having lived for a year in Madrid I was excited to try the empanadas, jamon serrano and other truly "Spanish" dishes. I honestly didn't expect an authentic Spanish taste, but was pleasantly surprised. Everything was absolutely delicious - including the vegetable and meat dishes. Our server was awesome, explaining the meal process and making some great recommendations.

The ambience was awesome - very relexed and comfortable. Guests were either dressed to go out or for a very casual dinner. So while some were in dress pants and dress shirts, others were in shorts and tshirts. Everyone was treated equally well.

I will absolutely be back and will be recommending this Washington Square restaurant to others. One tip: like many places in Boston parking can be an issue. While there is plenty of on-street parking, depending upon the night parking can be difficult. However, this restaurant is worth it - so don't miss out!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The food is very good and great variety”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

There were 5 of us and we went on a Saturday night. The food selection was excellent - a lot of creativity and well presented. The mix of ingredients created some great tastes - chirozio and sweet and sour figs for example. The meats and cheeses were super! Dishes come out when ready which is good. Portion sizes are generous. The atmosphere was loud and happy. A great place to eat - the service was a weakness. Two in our party just got back and would say the service is Italian and ok. By American standards poor. We would still come back as there are many things I want to taste and we would highly recommend it to friends. It was an enjoyable dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RBoyd585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Barcelona come to Brookline!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was in the Boston area visiting relatives and my brother brought us here to celebrate my nieces's birthday. It has become one of their favorites restaurants and I can see why! I remembered this location as a teenager and the new owner has totally transformed this restaurant into a hip, warm and gorgeous space with a lot of outdoor seating. The owner clearly is hands-on and very friendly and attentive to his customers. It is a tapas menu so we ordered a variety of many dishes...one thing was better than the next. You need to order many things though because the plates are of course small but prices very fair. Our waiter was fabulous.
We had an amazing dinner and I look forward to my next visit to Boston and returning to Barcelona!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaK05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“An unusually great staff !”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

All of the other reviews do a great job of describing the beautiful setting and excellence of the variety and quality of their tapas. But the 4 of us were most struck by the care and personality of all 6 of the staff that interacted with us. Great care has been taken in hiring and training and maintaining a great culture among the staff. We received recipies, fun stories, humor and perfect service. We are happy we came early and stayed to see the midweek crowd!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona also viewed

 

Been to Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing