We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to see a movie!”

Coolidge Corner Theater
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Brookline
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to see a movie!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is an old, well kept theatre that reminds you of days gone by. Well situated in Brookline on Harvard St next to the T, this place places first run movies, independent movies and some old movies that make you feel like you have gone back in time.

The main theatre is gorgeous with the carvings, the heavy red curtain over the stage and the second floor balcony. They also have two smaller rooms that, while intimate, do not detract from the feeling of seeing a movie. Plus I hear you can rent the smaller rooms out which is kind of cool should you have a party need.

The prices are pretty on par with movies these days if not a little cheaper than the big guys like AMC, Lowes, Cinemark, etc. Plus you can purchase beer and wine and their popcorn is not insanely over priced. Definitely makes for a fun movie going experience. I hope movie theatres like this survive forever, because it would be so sad to be forced to see movies at the large, modern and ugly theatres with the rest of the masses.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank shigidigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    35
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our favorite Coolidge corner spot”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A great place. This is really a neighborhood gem, and this is our second year as members, if you live nearby, we highly recommend getting a membership! And the popcorn.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A True Community Movie Theatre”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Coolidge Corner Theater is more than just a neighborhood movie theater, it is a true community institution. The theater itself is run by an independent, non-profit group, and it offers memberships as a way to cover ti's day to day costs, as well as capital projects like installing a digital projection system.

Movies are featured in a beautifully restored main auditorium, and smaller screening rooms on the 2nd floor. The offerings are a mix of mainstream releases, art house, or indy features, and special screenings of vintage movies. The complex is well maintained, and the popcorn is made fresh.

I also appreciate the minimum of coming attraction teasers that they show, and for the most part I have found the audiences to be a respectful lot, without the all to often talking that has become all too frequent at many theaters.

Ken

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank krapug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Movies!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

One thing I really appreciated last night at the Coolidge was that they did NOT play any ads or previews of coming attractions. They just rolled the feature presentation (which was "The Promised Land", with Matt Damon). When I went to another theater this past Sunday, there must've been 1/2 hour of advertising, for cars and such, then several previews of movies, so that by the time the movie started ("Lincoln" with Daniel Day-Lewis) I was exhausted!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canadiancitylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“My favorite place to go for movies.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

There are a few great independent cinemas in greater Boston, but the Coolidge is my favorite. They have the perfect mixture of new releases, special programming (Science on Screen is such an awesome series), and after-midnight cult events. I've done everything here from watch the all-night horror movie marathon on Halloween, to seeing Don Hertzfeldt do a live Q&A at a screening of his new short film trilogy. Plus, they serve beer!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fenchurch128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coolidge Corner Theater also viewed

 

Been to Coolidge Corner Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing