We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average deli food”

Zaftigs Delicatessen
Ranked #2 of 203 Restaurants in Brookline
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average deli food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

service was spotty for a late breakfast. Had to hunt down the waitress for another cup of coffee, then she left the hot pot on the knee wall next to our bench. Food was average

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    182
    65
    22
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great update on a traditional deli!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family ate here while visiting my daughter in her new apartment in Brookline. I grew up with traditional delis in New Jersey. The food here is terrific, while it's definitely an updated take on the traditional deli. So they don't keep kosher - neither do I! I had the whitefish fillet plate, which was delicious. Absolutely everything I saw go past our table on the way to someone else's table, I wanted to have. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great place to eat!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have eaten there 3 times already and have made this our go-to location. We have never been disappointed with our meal selections.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tchrmom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Went here on a date.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The food was delicious and Zaftigs offers all my favorites (from growing up in Chicago, around a lot of delis). The thing I dislike about it is that there is always a line to get in!

Helpful?
Thank Canadiancitylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
183 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A local institution for a reason.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

What can I say about Zaftigs that hasn't been said? It's almost certainly the best breakfast place around, though you'll end up waiting for it on the weekends. They do the breakfast menu all day, so I recommend waiting for dinnertime when it's much less crowded to try the AMAZING banana-stuffed French toast or the San Francisco Joe's Special. Their sandwiches are also not to be missed, though. I love to order a Jack & Marion's, which is corned beef, pastrami, and tongue on perfectly soft cissel bread. So simple, and so perfect. Their meats are truly divine. If the crowds have kept you away, don't let them for much longer-- go to Zaftigs!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fenchurch128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaftigs Delicatessen also viewed

 
Brookline, MA
 

Been to Zaftigs Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing