We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will return to the courtyard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Boston Brookline

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtyard Boston Brookline
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
GreenLeadersGold level
tucson,az
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“will return to the courtyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2007

We just returned from a successful stay at the courtyard in Brookline. The management and staff were great to deal with. Travelled with kids... originally they did not have us in adjoining rooms. Spoke with Barbara, the asst mgr, and she took care of it right away. the rooms were a nice size and clean. Overall, the hotel was very pleasant. highly recommend for business or family. location is great for touring or laying low. So much within walking distance. The T is right around the corner. the bed was nice. There were no issues about noise level-- rooms are very well insulated. Free coffee and tea in the lobby is a nice touch. There was a Jazz group two nights. A summer series. a definite plus.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tucsonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    194
    65
    39
    14
See reviews for
172
78
26
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2007

We needed a place to stay on short notice for my daughter's trip to Children's Hospital Boston. When I first made the reservation the price was extremely high ($360) for a Courtyard Marriott. However, when we got there, they immediately lowered our rate to the Hospital rate (upon proof of our hospital stay) even though they were techinically sold out of the hospital rate rooms.
The hotel staff, both day and night, was very friendly and helpful. They were terrific about getting us the free shuttle to the hospital, checking us out when we were in a rush, adding another night to our stay (and then giving us no problem when it turned out we didn't need it after all). The employees couldn't have been more pleasant. Breakfast was fine - also sold snacks/drinks in the lobby.
There was free internet access in the lobby, so I was able to check emails. Our bathtub wasn't slippery (like other reviews mentioned); maybe the problem had already been corrected.
Great location - restaurants of all types, cute stores- we felt that this hotel helped make our stay a good one!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ella21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2007

We booked our stay under the Boston University rate, so as you have guessed, we were looking at colleges in and around the Boston area.

We walked into the hotel and were told that our room would not be ready until at least 3PM which was fine for us, since we really did not need to utilize our room until nighttime. Just surveying the area was pleasant--this hotel had modern furnishings and a good view of their "courtyard" (aka a patch of grass with a walkway and bench :). Nonetheless, we did not book the hotel for the view, just for the average-rate at a good chain hotel.

The front desk asked us to check our luggage with them so we would not have to worry about taking our luggage with us all day, and increasing the load of our car.

We arrived back at the hotel later that night and the front desk clerk, Ashley, who was very helpful thoughout our stay, helped us load our luggage on to a luggage cart.

Our room was nice for the price, however it lacked such amenities such as a fridge and microwave--appliances which we had at our hotel in Rhode Island ($60 cheaper at a Comfort Suites).

The room had the most comfortable beds in the world. I had never experienced a greater night's rest than those two nights we spent at this hotel. Taking a nap in the sunlight after a long day of walking several college campuses was pure bliss.

The bathroom was a decent size, however the coffee maker and its counterparts (packages of sugar, instant coffee packets, etc.) took up too much room in the all-ready small counter space. Two things which weren't right included the VERY slippery shower which did not have a very wide "base"--it seemed as if the tub were a "v" shape. Also, there was also no exhaust fan in the bathroom, so the mirror fogged up as you were showering--it became so hot that it became hard to breathe easily. The toilet paper was in a very peculiar place...it wasn't next to the toilet in the vacant wall space...it was mounted under the vanity and catty-corner to the toilet. I almost hurt myself reaching for a sheet of TP!

It was nice to have a thermostat with real numbers in the room, instead of having to walk over to the heating/AC unit and guessing how much "blue line" or "red line" you want.

The lighting in the room was adequate, but a lamp by the easy chair was unplugged and tied up...not sure why, so I plugged it into the outlet behind the chair...hope I didn't ruin something :)

The TV only had a few channels, which was surprising since the other hotel I mentioned had around 60 available channels, instead of the 10 or 15 the Courtyard by Marriot offered.

In general the room was great, but did have its downfalls, especially the "helpful" signs placed strategically around the room which said "Pull to open door" and one which told me not to hang clothes from the room's sprinkler head. There was also a p-touch label on the courtesy phone across from the elevator which stated "lift headset."

Breakfast was above-average, but very expensive (close to $50 for three people!).

On the whole, a very good hotel, but not the best for its value.

Would I go there again? Sure, but I would maybe try to find another venue for breakfast.

(PS: It was a nice touch when the hotel put out a cheese and cracker platter one afternoon! The havarti with dill was great!)

  • Liked — the beds and pillows
  • Disliked — Expensive breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank M817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2007

Stayed here while visiting colleges, while it's not within walking distance to many of the Boston schools(for me, anyway), it worked out well for us. It is a newer building tucked into a side street, more or less typical Courtyard, but overall very nice. The jacuzzi was down for maintenance, but that seems to happen to me *all the time*, so it must be something I do wrong ;-)
Parking was $15, but I don't think that's bad for Boston, and it was indoors. The weather was terrible, and some of the guests had returned to the hotel from the airport after their flights were cancelled- the staff served cocktails on the house! Handicap access is good.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank mws215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2007

first, a few cons:
1. geeees, those bathtubs ARE slippery! (see other reviews)
2. the water saver shower makes it hard to get wet!
3. pool is tiny.
4, needs another PC in the lobby (theres plugs for 3 but only 1)
5. $12 breakfast overpriced.

other wise, a pretty nice hotel. Newish (2005?) and in good shape; rooms average courtyard size, public areas attractive, parking easy and reasonable ($15 with in and out).

the real virtue of the place is the neighborhood -- very pedestrian friendly urban with lots of resaurants and funky shops.
also, convenient: right on the green line T (although we had a car) Boston University is about 2 miles east and Boston College is about 5 miles west. driving to the touristy places would be a bit of a chore.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2007

I waited until the last minute to book a hotel for a one-night business trip. Some of the ones closer and cheaper to where I needed to be where booked, or had no non-smoking rooms. The Courtyard is all non-smoking.

It was an excellent hotel. My room was very nice, with a view of the capitol building. The location was so close to a T stop, it may have well been in the lobby. But, I didn't have any noise problems. They had one computer in the lobby to use, but the printer was out of ink. And the sign they had taped to the printer looked like it had been there awhile. Why can't they replace the ink cartridge?

It was expensive though, but thats what you get for being in the city. To stay at the same hotel in a smaller city, you would pay less, but the cheaper hotels in Boston didn't look very nice at all. I have no reservations about staying there again, but I could only budget for one night.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

Taking advantage of a winter discount special inclusive of parking, dinner, buffet breakfast and free on-demand film, we thought the stay in this smaller size but quiet room was worthwhile. Ordinarily, they jack the price upwards of $200 which makes it a bit hard to substantiate for a Marriott Courtyard that is not even located Downtown. There is no wireless internet in room but via LAN cable provided. One thing that they might take notice, the slippery tubs (also mentioned in another post) is a lawsuit waiting to happen. No one was terribly hurt but if this is not rectified there may be serious and unfortunate consequences.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fellow_traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Brookline

Property: Courtyard Boston Brookline
Address: 40 Webster St, Coolidge Corner, Brookline, MA 02446-4938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Brookline 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from downtown Boston, the Courtyard Brookline is a custom-designed, eight-story hotel located in the Coolidge Corner area of Brookline, MA. Within walking distance to the T, Coolidge Corner and many great neighborhood shops and restaurants. Guests of our hotel will enjoy our state-of-the-art lobby, newly renovated guest rooms featuring complimentary Wi-Fi, iHome clock radio, in room programmable safe and flexible space to work and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Courtyard Brookline
Brookline Courtyard
Brookline Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing