We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Courtyard; Great Neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Boston Brookline

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtyard Boston Brookline
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
GreenLeadersGold level
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Typical Courtyard; Great Neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2007

first, a few cons:
1. geeees, those bathtubs ARE slippery! (see other reviews)
2. the water saver shower makes it hard to get wet!
3. pool is tiny.
4, needs another PC in the lobby (theres plugs for 3 but only 1)
5. $12 breakfast overpriced.

other wise, a pretty nice hotel. Newish (2005?) and in good shape; rooms average courtyard size, public areas attractive, parking easy and reasonable ($15 with in and out).

the real virtue of the place is the neighborhood -- very pedestrian friendly urban with lots of resaurants and funky shops.
also, convenient: right on the green line T (although we had a car) Boston University is about 2 miles east and Boston College is about 5 miles west. driving to the touristy places would be a bit of a chore.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    194
    65
    39
    14
See reviews for
172
78
26
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2007

I waited until the last minute to book a hotel for a one-night business trip. Some of the ones closer and cheaper to where I needed to be where booked, or had no non-smoking rooms. The Courtyard is all non-smoking.

It was an excellent hotel. My room was very nice, with a view of the capitol building. The location was so close to a T stop, it may have well been in the lobby. But, I didn't have any noise problems. They had one computer in the lobby to use, but the printer was out of ink. And the sign they had taped to the printer looked like it had been there awhile. Why can't they replace the ink cartridge?

It was expensive though, but thats what you get for being in the city. To stay at the same hotel in a smaller city, you would pay less, but the cheaper hotels in Boston didn't look very nice at all. I have no reservations about staying there again, but I could only budget for one night.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

Taking advantage of a winter discount special inclusive of parking, dinner, buffet breakfast and free on-demand film, we thought the stay in this smaller size but quiet room was worthwhile. Ordinarily, they jack the price upwards of $200 which makes it a bit hard to substantiate for a Marriott Courtyard that is not even located Downtown. There is no wireless internet in room but via LAN cable provided. One thing that they might take notice, the slippery tubs (also mentioned in another post) is a lawsuit waiting to happen. No one was terribly hurt but if this is not rectified there may be serious and unfortunate consequences.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fellow_traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

This hotel is very reasonably priced (for Boston). It's located near Fenway so it's not close to downtown but there's a "T" stop located very close so it's easy to get to downtown. It has free internet and a pretty decent gym. They have 3 treadmills so there's always one available. They offer a free shuttle to get to nearby locations, which is great because taxi fares can add up! Breakfast is just ok, but it's buffet style so I wasn't expecting much. It's great if you just want to grab a quick bite to eat. I never had dinner at the hotel because there's so many great restaurants nearby. I recommend Rani (Indian food) and Upper Crust Pizza. There's a Korean/Sushi place located across the street but the better sushi place is Fugakyu which is down the street.

  • Liked — Location, lots of great restaurants nearby, free shuttle service
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheDudeAbides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2006

I had previously stayed at a couple of Marriott Courtyard hotels and this one was better than others. I stayed on probably the hottest day in Boston in many years (100+ degrees) and the air con was great and the free iced lemonade in reception was appreciated.

The room was standard business class but the Marriott beds continue to be a cut above. The location was ideal as i could catch the subway downtown from within 100 yards of the hotel in the day and i could stroll down to see the Red Sox in the evening. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Andioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2006

This hotel is fairly easy to get to, its on the outskirts of Boston, but right by the "T" which is good because I knew better than to try to drive around Boston. The hotel was nice and clean and the staff was helpful. The area around the hotel is nice, but things close earlier than in the heart of Boston so if you want to get food delivered anytime after 11 p.m. its not going to happen. Get it before you come back to the hotel. The bed was a king size pillow top with an abundance of nice comfy pillows. Nice bed linens too.

My major complaint was the slippery bathtub. I dont know if they have an anti-slip coating or something that wore off or what but my boyfriend slipped and fell out of the tub while showering. Luckily he was ok and just got a bruise on his leg. So be careful of the tubs! At least in room 401.

Helpful?
3 Thank sunshine41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2006

Normally we are not the type to go out of our way to give a negative review, but we would like to save a few people the poor and very overpriced experience of staying at Brookline Courtyard by Marriott.

We have been long-term residents of the Boston area, so the rudeness of the staff was not unexpected to us. What was unexpected was the lack of service for a hotel which attempts to place itself in the $250 to $300 range. For example, on check-in we were told that a crib would be brought to our room "immediately" so our child could nap. Approximately 3 hours later I phoned asking about the crib. I was assured the crib would be brought up immediately. Approximately 2 hours later our child was finally napping in bed with his mom (Do not disturb sign posted). The front desk then phoned and in a very rude tone told us to remove the Do not disturb sign so they could deliver the crib. This was one of several unforgivable interactions in our visit at this hotel which we shortened from 7 nights to 2 nights.

The room itself was very basic, but clean if you are willing to overlook things such as torn sheets and other details. No extra amenities at all, and slightly on the small side. This hotel is truly the worst value hotel I have experienced and overall a truly aggravating experience.

We would not return to this hotel under any circumstances and will be skeptical of Marriott's in the future. We strongly recommend that you either upgrade in price to a truly nice hotel, or downgrade in money to an equivalent hotel (e.g. Howard Johnson's or Holiday Inn).

Helpful?
8 Thank Bereasonablebehonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#14 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Brookline

Property: Courtyard Boston Brookline
Address: 40 Webster St, Coolidge Corner, Brookline, MA 02446-4938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Brookline 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from downtown Boston, the Courtyard Brookline is a custom-designed, eight-story hotel located in the Coolidge Corner area of Brookline, MA. Within walking distance to the T, Coolidge Corner and many great neighborhood shops and restaurants. Guests of our hotel will enjoy our state-of-the-art lobby, newly renovated guest rooms featuring complimentary Wi-Fi, iHome clock radio, in room programmable safe and flexible space to work and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Courtyard Brookline
Brookline Courtyard
Brookline Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing