We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but beware of the slippery tubs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 10, 2006

This hotel is fairly easy to get to, its on the outskirts of Boston, but right by the "T" which is good because I knew better than to try to drive around Boston. The hotel was nice and clean and the staff was helpful. The area around the hotel is nice, but things close earlier than in the heart of Boston so if you want to get food delivered anytime after 11 p.m. its not going to happen. Get it before you come back to the hotel. The bed was a king size pillow top with an abundance of nice comfy pillows. Nice bed linens too.

My major complaint was the slippery bathtub. I dont know if they have an anti-slip coating or something that wore off or what but my boyfriend slipped and fell out of the tub while showering. Luckily he was ok and just got a bruise on his leg. So be careful of the tubs! At least in room 401.

3  Thank sunshine41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 489 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2006

Normally we are not the type to go out of our way to give a negative review, but we would like to save a few people the poor and very overpriced experience of staying at Brookline Courtyard by Marriott.

We have been long-term residents of the Boston area, so the rudeness of the staff was not unexpected to us. What was unexpected was the lack of service for a hotel which attempts to place itself in the $250 to $300 range. For example, on check-in we were told that a crib would be brought to our room "immediately" so our child could nap. Approximately 3 hours later I phoned asking about the crib. I was assured the crib would be brought up immediately. Approximately 2 hours later our child was finally napping in bed with his mom (Do not disturb sign posted). The front desk then phoned and in a very rude tone told us to remove the Do not disturb sign so they could deliver the crib. This was one of several unforgivable interactions in our visit at this hotel which we shortened from 7 nights to 2 nights.

The room itself was very basic, but clean if you are willing to overlook things such as torn sheets and other details. No extra amenities at all, and slightly on the small side. This hotel is truly the worst value hotel I have experienced and overall a truly aggravating experience.

We would not return to this hotel under any circumstances and will be skeptical of Marriott's in the future. We strongly recommend that you either upgrade in price to a truly nice hotel, or downgrade in money to an equivalent hotel (e.g. Howard Johnson's or Holiday Inn).

8  Thank Bereasonablebehonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2006

This hotel was exeptional in their service. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The rates I found were quite reasonable for the area. The proximity to the T was great. The only issue is those silly smoke detectors with a blinking light. This hotel is much better than the average Courtyard or Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ath817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
411
Reviewed December 3, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2005

4  Thank Scootersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2005

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2005

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,243 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline

Address: 40 Webster Street, Coolidge Corner, Brookline, MA 02446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Price Range: $159 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from downtown Boston, Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline is a custom-designed, eight-story Coolidge Corner hotel located in Brookline, Massachusetts. Within walking distance to the T, Coolidge Corner and many great neighborhood shops and restaurants. Guests of our hotel will enjoy our state-of-the-art lobby, newly renovated guest rooms featuring complimentary Wi-Fi, iHome clock radio, in room programmable safe and flexible space to work and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Courtyard Brookline
Brookline Marriott
Brookline Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing