We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott Courtyard, Brookline, MA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Boston Brookline

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtyard Boston Brookline
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
GreenLeadersGold level
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Marriott Courtyard, Brookline, MA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location at Coolidge Corners with the very cool movie theater just a block away. Quiet but also close to good restaurants and the T,which is a convenient route to Fenway. Hotel is clean. well maintained and has a garden area that doubles as a small community park..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsweet1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear rsweet1944,
Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We hope to achieve a 5 the next time you are in town. See you soon!

Sincerely,
Mui Huang
617.396.2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    194
    65
    39
    14
See reviews for
172
78
26
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was almost afraid to do a review of this hotel as I am concerned that the next time I try to make a reservation they will be fully booked. This hotel is wonderful. The staff is wonderful. They have the new courtyard bistro. Much, much better then the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Paul N,
Thank you for your perfect 5! Our reservations are available to book 50 weeks out. When you know your dates, feel free to visit us at www.marriott.com/bosbl. We hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,
Mui Huang
617.396.2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Brookline Courtyard for 1 night. Good location for being close to where I needed to be for business. Right in the heart of Brookline, it's close to many restaurants and shops. Very nice clean and spacious rooms. Only "complaint" is $28.00 for overnight parking in the attached garage. Kinda steep, but it is Boston area, but for that price, it should be valet. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1966_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Traveler1966_MI,
Thank you for your clean and spacious review. We currently do not offer valet service but our staff would be delighted to assist you with your vehicle. We hope to see you soon again. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Mui Huang
617.396.2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My 11 year old son and I stayed here the second time in February, 2013 on his trip to Children's Hospital Boston. We had also stayed here the previous year in June for his first trip to Boston for testing at Children's. We had never been to Boston and chose the location based on the proximity of the hotel to Children's Hospital, the fact that they offered a free shuttle to the hospital, and the short walk to the T- train system for Boston sightseeing. We had no idea that it was in such a fabulous location,
It is indeed a short walk to the T-train stop, and the area is surrounded by restaurant choices. There is a handy Walgreens with a pharmacy a block away, and there's a CVS with a pharmacy about 1/2 block further. There's Trader Joe's just past a Bank of America about 1 block away as well. There's a subway , a Panera, several Indian restaurants, a Japanese restaurant, a Chinese restaurant, a deli, several pizza places, a Dunkin Donuts and more all a short walk from the hotel. If you don't feel like going out, the hotel has a cafe open for breakfast and dinner that also has a small Starbucks. A fabulous local treasure is Pizzeria Dante which is a short walk from the hotel. They have the most wonderful pizza as well as a fabulous large variety of food on their menu with reasonable prices. Like the pizza, the Tiramasu is heavenly.
The hotel itself is clean and comfortable and the front desk staff is friendly. The beds are comfortable with a soft duvet. The internet is free, but, like all free internet service, don't expect to stream videos flawlessly. They do offer an internet upgrade for a charge, I believe. There is also a business center on the first floor with 3 computers and free printing. When we were there last June, they had free coffee and tea in the lobby; however, in February, the coffee and tea was gone and replaced with free cookies and hot cider from around 2 PM well into the evening. I did miss the hot tea, and I heard several people ask about the coffee who were directed to the (not free) Starbucks in the cafe. However, my 11 year old son was thrilled with the cookie treat, and I did enjoy the apple cider which was just the right temperature for the snowy days.
The trademark courtyard in the middle of the hotel was lovely in the summer, and was so much fun for my son to build his very first snowman in the winter. They also have an indoor pool and hot tub as well as a gym. The gym was outfitted with treadmills and bikes with personal TV's as well as a big screen TV in the gym. There were other machines and small free weights as well. A true delight were the free, individually wrapped ear buds for use with the TV's and the fresh hand towels in the gym.
The convenience of the shuttle was a blessing for a hospital trip. I would call the desk about 20 minutes before leaving for the hospital, and one of the front desk staff would drive us straight there in the Courtyard van. On the trip back I would just call the front desk, and the van would be there within about 20 minutes. We shared the van trips with others going to other hospitals as well, so it's not just Childrens they drive to.
I highly recommend this hotel and this location for a wonderful stay in Boston.

Room Tip: Courtyard views are best. The top floor can be noisty due to air handlers mounted on top of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Deborah P,
Thank you for your perfect 5 review. I am happy you chose to stay at our beautiful hotel with great amenities including our shuttle service. The Courtyard Brookline is truly a hidden gem. Thanks for discovering us! We hope to see you soon. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Mui Huang
617.396.2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard Boston Brookline for business (alone) arranged through the organization I was making a presentation at, which was headquartered in Brookline, MA and thus, was close in proximity to meeting I had to attend. Since this hotel was one of two that the organization utilized (the other being the Holiday Inn), I opted to stay here.

I stayed in a typical run of the house room, on the third floor.

The room itself was spacious. It was clean, but not necessarily in the best repair. There were some stains here and there, but overall not a bad place to stay. Toiletries were Paul Mitchell for hair, their own brand for soap.

There is a small conference area on the ground level and a kind of café/restaurant as well. You can get soda/water, newspapers at the newsstand on the ground floor. The fitness area is also on the ground floor. There’s an indoor pool, but pool is a generous term for what looked to be a rectangular shaped hot tub.

Internet is free.

The hotel is located on a major street that is lined with restaurants and smaller shops. There’s a light rail (T) stop a block and a half to two blocks away from the front door of the hotel. It is about eight train stops away from central Boston. The cab from the airport (Logan) was about $35.00.

The biggest drawback was the price, which might be because the room was reserved less than a week when it was needed. Otherwise, the stay was adequate.

In summary, if you need a hotel in the Brookline area, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alden-from-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear acnova,
Thank you for your lengthy review. I appreciate your time to recommend Courtyard Brookline over other hotels in the area. We work diligently to address your concerns. We look forward to your return. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Mui Huang
617.396.2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel and it was very nice. The rooms are clean and spacious and the location was very convenient with the T right there. The little cafe they have serves Starbucks and it was nice to be able to get something to eat when I didn't want to leave the hotel. Also nice for a quick breakfast in the morning. The staff is friendly and was helpful with directions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirlhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear ShirleyK351,
Thank you for your perfect 5 review. We are ecstatic your stay was perfect and invite you to return. “Beautiful hotel, great location and wonderful staff” are music to our ears! Thank you!

Sincerely,
Mui Huang
617.396.2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel recently apart from one problem.

The staff here at the Courtyard are really helpful and friendly, check in was easy. Parking was $28 per night, which is steep considering the price you pay for the hotel. I understand from hearing from other travellers that $28 is an ok price for Boston. But if you're staying here for 2 weeks that is coming up to $400 just to park your car. Perhaps they could have some kind of room rate deal to include parking for a flat fee for your stay!

The room was nice and clean and well kept. It was also nice and spacious with a big bay window at the front. The fridge was a bit noisy, as were the guests next door shouting at 12:30 am one night! ... The other problem was the heating - if you put the thermostat to 70 it was Boiling hot in the room, at 68 it was freezing. It wasn't the best of sleeps we have had in hotels, the pillows were not that comfortable and that heat/cold issue caused some problems.

The location is great, right outside is the metro tram if you need to use it and there are always cabs driving by. The gym and pool are pretty small though. Two strokes and you're at the other end of that pool!

"The Bistro" (which is it's name but it is no way a bistro!) serves Starbucks on site and serves breakfast to order as well as other food throughout the day. But the range of what is on offer is kind of limited.

As with the headline, it was a comfortable stay. We would most likely chose somewhere else the next time we are in Boston however.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidesix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear sidesix,
Thank you for your taking the time to write about my hotel. I am happy to hear your stay was confortable. I hope you would stay with us the next time you are in town. Our hotel is conveniently located by the subway where you can take it into town. May I suggest our local car rental or zipcar for the future if you want to venture out? Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Mui Huang
617.396.2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#14 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Brookline

Property: Courtyard Boston Brookline
Address: 40 Webster St, Coolidge Corner, Brookline, MA 02446-4938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Brookline 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from downtown Boston, the Courtyard Brookline is a custom-designed, eight-story hotel located in the Coolidge Corner area of Brookline, MA. Within walking distance to the T, Coolidge Corner and many great neighborhood shops and restaurants. Guests of our hotel will enjoy our state-of-the-art lobby, newly renovated guest rooms featuring complimentary Wi-Fi, iHome clock radio, in room programmable safe and flexible space to work and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Courtyard Brookline
Brookline Courtyard
Brookline Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing