We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Boston college visits.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My family and I just returned from a three-night stay at this Courtyard by Marriott. We were very satisfied and comfortable during our stay. Each and every staff member was friendly and most helpful. Our requests for extra towels and a toilet plunger were taken care of promptly.

Besides our coffee and the breakfast muffins my teenager purchased for breakfast each morning, we chose not to have our meals at the hotel. The neighborhood is chock full of diverse, reasonably priced, excellent restaurants. We highly recommend Otto for pizza and Daily Catch for seafood. We also recommend the terrific indie bookstore Brookline Booksmith.

I chose to stay in Brookline during our tour of Boston colleges for two reasons. First, the hotels are less expensive here than in Boston. Second, Brookline is a residential neighborhood, largely devoid of tourists. The streets are brimming with families and commuters. So much nicer than staying in a downtown business district, often barren at night and on weekends, or in the heart of a congested tourist spot.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FAMILYTRAVELER07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear FAMILYTRAVELER07,
Thank you for your perfect 5 review. Your description of our location is just perfect! Thank you for the reccommendation to our guests-to-be. Have a fantastic day!

Sincerly,
Mui Huang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 501 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been Marriott Rewards members for several years and have stayed at many properties. This Marriott is in a great location so we've stayed here before. We came for an overnight get away. There are wonderful shops and restaurants around the block. There is public transportation just across the street.
In general we find Marriott to be more comfortable than some of the other chains. But we do feel that the quality of the accomodations has decreased in the past year; paper cups, thin bedding, worn capeting and patched walls. The hairdryer was hidden in the tiny closet. We always have trouble getting onto the wireless. This was our first winter stay and we found some problems due to the season:

1. The air unit in our room was very noisy and loud. When we turned it off the room immediately became chilly. It was so noisy that we kept turning it on and off. If it hadn't been so late we would have asked for another room.
2. The blankets on our bed were completely inadequate for winter. There was one thin quilt under a paper thin white bedspread. We did call for more blankets and received one new one, just as thin and inadequate from housekeeping. I slept with my down vest and socks on!

Would I stay here again? Yes, this is a great location. The staff is friendly and try to be helpful. I do wish that things could be upgraded in the rooms for the future. As members and seniors we receive a reasonable rate for the city. Any higher and I would look for another hotel.

Room Tip: Our king bed room was located at the end of the hall. It was especially small and cramped. Maybe ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scenicseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear scenicseeker,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the hvac unit in your room was making loud noises. I will have my engineer review the unit right away. Thank you for your feedback as we look into the comforter concern you had. Given the great location and friendly staff, we hope to see you soon. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Mui Huang
617.396.2005

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed here while visiting BC, BU and Northeastern. Room 232 was more than we could have hoped for (2 queens, a pullout sofa, on the quiet courtyard, L shaped room with lots of room plus a mini fridge). Friendly staff, good options for breakfast, great location for restaurants, one block from Coolidge Corner and T (Green/C line) for easy access to Boston. We opted for cabs to BC and NE but BU is only a couple stops away on the T (get a Charlie Card prior to getting on the T).

Room Tip: 232 was on the courtyard (versus the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Mike D,
Thank you for your perfect 5 review. I will celebrate our success with my team. We look forward to your return. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Mui Huang
617.396.2005

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly staff, who were helpful. Rooms were big and clean and the hotel is in a nice area, which is pretty lively, and on the train into the city (about 15 mins).

Breakfast was a bit odd - in a separate coffee shop, but the staff were very nice and helpful.

The pool was like a Texan bath.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnMailleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear AnMailleach,
Thank you for your taking the time to review our hotel. It was our pleasure serving you. We take pride in our staff to be friendly and helpful. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Mui Huang
617-396-2005

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel was very clean with very friendly staff. They let me check in a few hours early and check out a few hours late, all for no additional charge. There are some great restaurants in the area and nice shops. The cafe downstairs was ok, not amazing but great for a quick bite to eat in a hurry. My only minor issue was there is no room service and the cafe is not open all the time. Overall, I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Caroline B,
We love the perfect 5s. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip as we know you have many choices. Thank you for your word of mouth and see you soon.

Sincerly,
Mui Huang
617-396-2005

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Although my stay was only overnight, I must say the staff here is extremely friendly and willing to cater to the guests needs as much as possible. The staffs are always cheery with a smile. Location of this hotel is walkable distance to nearby banks, restaurants, T, pharmacy and Trader Joes. I will definitely return for another stay. The hotel also provides a free shuttle service to Boston Children's Hospital.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pebblezs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear pebblezs,
I am happy your stay was short and sweet. We look forward in serving you again with our cheery smiles!

Sincerly,
Mui Huang
617-396-2005

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Marriott Courtyard Brookline Mass. Was close to everything in Boston. I stayed for a College Football game Notre Dame vs Boston College. It was very close to the college and the City. Staff was very helpful with directions and food. If you do go Otto's on Harvard is must, the Pizza is great try the mashed potato pie. Can't wait to go back in the spring

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgavin1697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear pgavin1697,
Thank you for your perfect review. At Courtyard, we strive for perfection. We look forward to your return in Spring.

Sincerly,
Mui Huang
617-396-2005

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Allston / Brighton
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 85 in Boston
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline

Address: 40 Webster St, Coolidge Corner, Brookline, MA 02446-4938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Price Range: $153 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from downtown Boston, Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline is a custom-designed, eight-story Coolidge Corner hotel located in Brookline, Massachusetts. Within walking distance to the T, Coolidge Corner and many great neighborhood shops and restaurants. Guests of our hotel will enjoy our state-of-the-art lobby, newly renovated guest rooms featuring complimentary Wi-Fi, iHome clock radio, in room programmable safe and flexible space to work and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Courtyard Brookline
Brookline Marriott
Brookline Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing