We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here if you need to be in Back Bay/Longwood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Boston Brookline

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtyard Boston Brookline
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
GreenLeadersGold level
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stay here if you need to be in Back Bay/Longwood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great find. I have to travel to Boston frequently for business in the the Longwood Medical area. Far too often all the hotels in Boston are booked for one convention or another and the prices skyrocket. The Brookline Courtyard is in a nice, safe area, walk or cab ride to the Longwood area, cab or T to Copley. Restaurants out the door. Really feels like a neighborhood. Parking on-site (never cheap in Boston). When possible I take the Amtrak to Back Bay and taxi over to the hotel. Good breakfast. I love the downtown Boston area but it is too far away to stay there when working odd hours in the Longwood area. Brookline is easier. Now I wish I didn't let my secret out!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrtle615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear mlp417,
Thank you for finding the hidden gem in Coolidge corner. We would love to have you back. Be sure to sign up for Marriott Rewards if you haven't already. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerly,
Mui Huang
617-396-2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    194
    65
    39
    14
See reviews for
172
78
26
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just a few steps to Coolidge Corner , near JFKs birthplace and getting on the T into town very very easy . Get a charlie card for a few dollers lasts for 7 days . We did not eat in the bistro so cannnot comment but good places to eat round and about . Housekeeping was good , staff all nice , would like to return, 6 days was not enough .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear chr62,
Thank you for your 5 star review and comment to our staff. I am sure you can find time to stay with us longer! See you soon.

Sincerly,
Mui Huang
617-396-2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have stayed at many of the poshest Boston and Boston area hotels (the elegant Copley Plaza, the Marriott and Westin in the Prudential Mall) as well as in some of the nicer suburban hotels. But this time I stayed at the Courtyard in Brookline as it was conveniently located near Boston College where I had been invited to lecture. It was a very pleasant experience. As I expected of the Courtyard line, it is less frilly than many a full-fledged Marriott, but it was attractive, impeccably maintained, and perfect for the business traveler, especially if he or she wanted to avoid the hubbub of the lobby and restaurants in so many of the major hotels. The rooms were large and had good work space. A bank of free computer/internet terminals with printer was conveniently located right off the lobby. The Bistro, as the hotel restaurant was called, was modest, but had a respectable breakfast menu at a very inexpensive price -- between a third and half of what the very choices would have cost in a regular Marriott. I have no idea what lunch or supper was like (probably more modest than the breakfast), as I was wined and dined by my hosts, but frankly with so many good restaurants in easy walking distance, I cannot imagine why one would dine in. The hotel is located right off Beacon Street near Coolidge Corner with cafes and restaurants all around and the tram just a hundred feet outside the door. It is easy to get almost anywhere including the heart of Boston from there. All of the staff was extremely accomodating and clearly knew how to take care of a business traveler's needs and requests. The hot cider, freshly baked cookies, and doughnuts in the lobby during the day are a welcoming addition to the apples and coffee which this hotel, like most such hotels, also offered. And finally, the price was quite reasonable by Boston hotel standards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noamahser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear noamahser ,
Thank you for your almost perfect review and comparing us with the Copley hotels. I am happy our staff made you feel right at home. We look forward in seeing you again. Thank you.

Mui Huang
617-396-2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is in a great location and is clean inside. There is free coffee available but it's easy to miss since it's near the front desk and not near the bistro/cafe. Almost everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k4Ysi4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear k4Ysi4d,
Thank you for your good review. We hope to see you soon. Cheers!

Mui Huang
617-396-2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Its a pity that this hotel is let down by a poorly equipped gym and the pool is a bathtub really, so pointless. Lack of room service is acceptable but quite unexpected for a Hotel of this type in this location. The Bistro has a limited menu which is understandable given many things about this Hotel are a compromise, it does compromise very well. The front desk staff are high quality and helpful, however, top marks go to the Bistro staff who do so much with so little, they have little mishaps and forget the odd thing but they were the difference between a poor review and an average review here, and the food they prepared was on the whole surprisingly good at breakfast and very good value for money.

So my tip would be, annex the pool area and extend the gym - do one thing well, rather than 2 things badly and customers will be far happier. My opinion. Or better still extend and make a new pool in the garden area - an outside pool with canopy. May return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarthMorrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear DarthMorrissey,
Thank you for your excellent comment in regards to our Bistro staff. I am happy they are the highlight of your stay. I thank you for the feedback and we will consider your suggestions. We look forward in having youy again. Thank you for staying with us.

Mui Huang
617-396-2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is very convenient, very close to Coolidge Corner that is T station (C line) at this area. CVS, Walgreens, Trader Joe's, Dunkin Donuts, JP Licks, Upper Crust Pizza, Panera Bread just two minutes away.
Rooms and bathrooms are clean and big. Helpful staff.
LCD TV. Free wi-fi.
Expensive overnight parking rate ($25 per night) Becareful, Brookline City rules: you can not park your car on the street overnight. If you have a car, you're in trouble :-)

Room Tip: Two double beds room enough for 4 person, big rooms. Do not stay 8 floor, the building AC runs very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuzunengin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear tuzunengin,
Thank you for your 5 star review and compliment to our staff. We strive everyday to make a lasting impression to our guests! We enjoyed serving you. See you soon. Thank you.

Sincerly,
Mui Huang
617-396-2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

From this Brookline location, you can walk to restaurants, shops (including a great independent bookstore), Trader Joes, etc. Our room was large and comfortable. Note that breakfast is not included, but Brueggers Bagels is a two minute walk. Parking seems too expensive for a non-downtown location. Some of the front desk staff was disappointing -- we shouldn't have had to wait for them to finish chatting to get help; we were given some incorrect directions; they were just somewhat spacy. To be fair, some other staff were helpful and on the ball. Also, we were there over Labor Day weekend and the hotel was crowded, but sometimes the front desk wasn't adequately staffed. Our room appeared clean, but I also found slippers, half under the bed, presumably from a prior guest. With more attention to staff issues, this could be a more impressive hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank queensgrlStl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYBrookline, Manager at Courtyard Boston Brookline, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear queensgrlStl,
Thank you taking the time to provide feedback. I apologize on behalf of my team for not providing you with the correct information. I have shared your feedback with my team and this will only help us to improve. Please feel free to contact the front desk if at any time your stay is not perfect. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Mui Huang
617-396-2005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#14 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Brookline

Property: Courtyard Boston Brookline
Address: 40 Webster St, Coolidge Corner, Brookline, MA 02446-4938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Brookline 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from downtown Boston, the Courtyard Brookline is a custom-designed, eight-story hotel located in the Coolidge Corner area of Brookline, MA. Within walking distance to the T, Coolidge Corner and many great neighborhood shops and restaurants. Guests of our hotel will enjoy our state-of-the-art lobby, newly renovated guest rooms featuring complimentary Wi-Fi, iHome clock radio, in room programmable safe and flexible space to work and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Courtyard Brookline
Brookline Courtyard
Brookline Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing