We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osaka Japanese Sushi & Steak House

Osaka Japanese Sushi & Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Osaka Japanese Sushi & Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 200 Restaurants in Brookline
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Harvard Street
Transit: By Train: Green Line to Coolidge Corner Station By Bus: Take Bus #66 to Coolidge Corner Stop All buses and trolleys stop at the Harvard Street/ Beacon Street intersection.
Description: Osaka specializes in both traditional and creative Japanese and Asian fusion cuisines & drinks. Besides, Osaka is the only place that offers entertaining Hibachi/Teppanyaki grill and show in Brookline/Boston. The two-level restaurant has Hibachi dining areas, common dining areas, private function rooms, and a sushi bar. There is also a new full liquor O-Lounge bar with music, and TVs downstairs. Join us for Dinner, for Lunch (lunch specials everyday), or let us help you celebrate a holiday or special occasion. Award Winner of "New Business of the Year 2012", "OpenTable Diners' Choice" and "Wicked Local Readers" Choice. "Food is the Real Star of the Show" -writes the Boston Globe.
Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My family, including our 20 month old, goes to Osaka almost every week. Food is consistently excellent and the service is fantastic. The vegetable Gyoza (lightly fried) is delicious, the sushi is fresh, the noodles are plentiful and anything from the grill is cooked perfectly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Hibachi in Coolidge Corner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

It took a very long time before the chef started cooking, but the show was worth it. I went with my one year-old daughter and the chef was nice enough to test a small flame and see her reaction so as not to scare her with the usual huge flame. He also served her a small plate of rice and vegetables separately, which was nice.

The food is good but not great, which makes me feel like it's a little overpriced. I recommend this place for group outings or special events, especially if you like to drink sake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theitrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great dinner in Brookline”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

A very nice dinner.The service was prompt and friendly and the food was delicious.The portions are large so come hungry !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travfrmNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“One mistake after another-- service was terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I really wanted to like this place, and so gave it a second try after the first horrible experience a few months ago.

This time was no different.

1. The waitress did not know the menu. I wanted the donburi that is listed on their online menu, but didn't see it on the in-restaurant menu. I asked the waitress if they have donburi- she gave me a blank stare and said she doesn't think they have it. Either you know your menu or you do not.

2. Order of edamame came to our table by mistake.

3. My friend and I split the check, but her credit card got charged twice, while mine did not get charged at all.

They have overall way too much staff milling around the front reception area. Nobody seems to know what they are doing and running into each other.

No thanks. Never again. Hope you got my message with the awful tip we left you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is great for a special occasion or a fun night. It is very entertaining and great quality food. I have been here twice and had such a great time both times.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cmarie708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Japanese Sushi & Steak House also viewed

Brookline, MA
Brookline, MA
 

Been to Osaka Japanese Sushi & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing